Notice No. SMSE-008-16 — Fee Order for Fixed-Satellite Service (FSS) and Broadcasting-Satellite Service (BSS) Spectrum in Canada

Introduction

The Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada is establishing a fee for spectrum licences issued under the Radiocommunication Act for spectrum allocated to the fixed-satellite service (FSS) and broadcasting-satellite service (BSS). The fee is established pursuant to section 19 of the Department of Industry Act.

Over the last two decades, technological change has had a significant impact on the satellite industry, enabling the introduction of new products and services into the marketplace. This has fuelled an increase in demand for the commercial provisioning of satellite capacity and satellite-based services. In response, the department has been moving away from apparatus-based licensing (radio licences) for satellite services and, as a first step, implemented spectrum-based licensing (spectrum licences) for the use of spectrum to provide mobile satellite service (MSS).

Spectrum licences have a number of advantages over radio licences as a means of authorizing the use of spectrum. Spectrum licence fees are based on the amount of spectrum authorized, independent of usage. Because the fee is therefore a fixed cost, it is in the operators’ best commercial interests to maximize the use of that spectrum, contributing to good stewardship of spectrum, which is a public resource. Furthermore, a spectrum licence regime is less cumbersome for both operators and the department to administer.

The department therefore plans to issue spectrum licences for the authorization of FSS and BSS spectrum to replace existing radio licences that authorize the use of FSS and BSS spectrum as of April 1, 2016.

Frequency bands allocated to FSS and BSS are identified in the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (CTFA), as amended from time to time.

There is currently no fee in place for FSS and BSS satellite spectrum licences.

The fee outlined in the Fee Schedule below was developed after extensive consultation and was presented for comment as per the requirements of the User Fees Act through Canada Gazette notice SMSE-021-14 on December 4, 2014. No complaints were received under section 4.1 of the User Fees Act on the final fee proposal. In accordance with the User Fees Act, the fee proposal was presented to both houses of Parliament and approved earlier this year.

Fee Schedule

The Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, pursuant to section 19 of the Department of Industry Act, hereby fixes the following spectrum licence fee, effective as of April 1, 2016. The fee is applicable to spectrum licences issued by the Minister pursuant to subparagraph 5(1)(a)(i.1) of the Radiocommunication Act to authorize the use of FSS and BSS spectrum.

Interpretation

For the purpose of this fee schedule,

"spectrum licence" means licence permitting the use of radio frequencies (spectrum) in an area (or orbital position). The licence is associated with the frequencies.

"fixed-satellite service (FSS)" means the use of specific radio frequencies by satellites to deliver communications between fixed points on the earth. Typical services include telephony, Internet connectivity and private data networks.

"broadcasting-satellite service (BSS)" means the use of specific radio frequencies by satellites to deliver broadcasting services directly to the public (e.g. direct-to-home satellite television).

"satellite" means the spacecraft, or portion of the spacecraft, associated with a particular licence.

"annual fee" means the fee payable for the continuance in force of the spectrum licence until the spectrum licence expires.

"megahertz (MHz)" means 1 million hertz. A hertz is a unit for measuring radio frequencies.

Annual Spectrum Licence Fee

Satellite spectrum licences are typically issued for a term of 20 years from the date the licence is issued. The fee is payable on an annual basis.

The annual fee for a spectrum licence assigned to authorize the use of FSS and BSS spectrum is $120 per megahertz (MHz).

The fee will be applicable once the licensee has launched a satellite. Where a spectrum licence is issued to a licensee who has already launched a satellite, the fee will be applicable immediately. Where a licensee has not yet launched a satellite using the licensed spectrum, the licence is issued immediately, but the fee will only be charged once the satellite is launched.

Once charged, the fee will remain applicable until the end of the spectrum licence term.

Prorated Spectrum Licence Fees

For the portion of the first year during which the fee is applicable, the fee will be payable immediately and on a pro-rated basis, at a monthly rate of $10/MHz, until the next March 31.

For licences with terms of less than one year, or terms that expire before March 31, the annual fee will be payable immediately and on a pro-rated basis, at a monthly rate of $10/MHz.

General Notes

Licence fees are payable on an annual basis, in advance, and are due by March 31 of each year.

A satellite will be considered launched when it has been placed in its assigned orbital location or orbit.

The Minister may allocate new frequency bands for FSS and BSS, which will be reflected in future versions of the CTFA. This fee order will apply to spectrum licences for those bands.

space to insert signature

Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

space to insert signature

February 4, 2016

Date modified:

Avis no SMSE-008-16 — Ordonnance concernant les droits d’utilisation du spectre servant aux services fixes par satellite (SFS) et aux services de radiodiffusion par satellite (SRS) au Canada

Introduction

Le ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique établit des droits d’utilisation du spectre qui s’appliqueront aux licences de spectre délivrées en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication visant le spectre attribué aux services fixes par satellite (SFS) et aux services de radiodiffusion par satellite (SRS). Les droits sont établis en vertu de l’article 19 de la Loi sur le ministère de l’Industrie.

Au cours des deux dernières décennies, les changements technologiques ont eu une incidence considérable sur l'industrie du satellite, ce qui a permis l'introduction de nouveaux produits et services sur le marché. Cette situation a entraîné une augmentation de la demande pour l’approvisionnement commercial de capacité de transmission et de services par satellite. Dans un tel contexte, le Ministère délaisse progressivement le processus de délivrance des licences fondé sur les appareils (licences radio) pour les services par satellite et a mis en œuvre, dans un premier temps, un processus de délivrance des licences fondé sur le spectre (licences de spectre) pour l'utilisation du spectre en vue de fournir des services mobiles par satellite.

Les licences de spectre présentent plus d'avantages que les licences radio en ce qui concerne l’autorisation de l'utilisation du spectre. Les droits de licence d'utilisation du spectre sont fondés sur la quantité de spectre attribuée, indépendamment de l'utilisation. Comme ces droits représentent un coût fixe, il est dans le meilleur intérêt commercial des exploitants de maximiser l'utilisation du spectre, ce qui contribue à la bonne gérance du spectre, qui est une ressource publique. De plus, la gestion d'un régime reposant sur les licences d'utilisation du spectre est moins lourde tant pour les exploitants que pour le Ministère.

Le Ministère prévoit donc délivrer des licences de spectre pour autoriser l’utilisation du spectre servant aux SFS et aux SRS afin de remplacer les licences radio existantes qui autorisent l’utilisation du spectre servant aux SFS et aux SRS, et ce, à compter du 1er avril 2016.

Les bandes de fréquences attribuées aux SFS et aux SRS sont indiquées dans le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences (TCABF), selon les modifications apportées au fil du temps.

À l’heure actuelle, aucun droit ne s’applique aux licences de spectre servant aux SFS et aux SRS.

Les droits précisés dans le barème de droits ci-dessous ont été élaborés à la suite de consultations exhaustives et ont été présentés à des fins de commentaires, conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur les frais d’utilisation, dans l’avis de la Gazette du Canada SMSE-021-14 le 4 décembre 2014. Aucune plainte relative à la proposition définitive de droits n’a été déposée selon l’article 4.1 de la Loi sur les frais d’utilisation. Conformément à la Loi sur les frais d’utilisation, la proposition portant sur la perception des droits a été présentée aux deux chambres du Parlement et approuvée plus tôt cette année.

Barème de droits

Conformément à l’article 19 de la Loi sur le ministère de l’Industrie, le ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique fixe les droits de licences de spectre ci-dessous, qui entreront en vigueur à compter du 1er avril 2016. Les droits s’appliquent aux licences de spectre délivrées par le ministre en vertu du sous-alinéa 5(1)a)(i.1) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication afin d’autoriser l’utilisation du spectre servant aux SFS et aux SRS.

Interprétation

Aux fins du présent barème de droits,

« licence de spectre » désigne une licence permettant d’utiliser des fréquences radio (bande de spectre) dans une zone (ou position orbitale). La licence est associée aux fréquences.

« services fixes par satellite (SFS) » désigne l’utilisation de radiofréquences particulières pour offrir des services de communication entre des points fixes terrestres. Ce type de services comprend généralement la téléphonie, la connectivité à Internet et les réseaux de données privés.

« services de radiodiffusion par satellite (SRS) » désigne l’utilisation de radiofréquences particulières sur des satellites pour offrir des services de radiodiffusion directement au public (p. ex. télévision directe à domicile par satellite).

« satellite » désigne l’engin spatial, ou une partie de l’engin spatial, associé à une licence particulière.

« droits annuels » désigne les frais à payer pour le maintien de la licence de spectre jusqu’à son expiration.

« mégahertz (MHz) » désigne 1 million de hertz. Le hertz est l’unité de mesure des radiofréquences.

Droits annuels de licence de spectre

Les licences de spectre par satellite sont normalement délivrées pour une période de 20 ans à compter de la date de délivrance de la licence. Les frais doivent être payés annuellement.

Les droits annuels d’une licence de spectre délivrée pour autoriser l’utilisation du spectre servant aux SFS et aux SRS sont de 120 $ par mégahertz (MHz).

Les droits s’appliqueront une fois que le titulaire de licence aura lancé le satellite. Dans le cas où une licence de spectre serait délivrée à un titulaire qui a déjà lancé un satellite, les droits s’appliqueraient immédiatement. Si le titulaire n’a pas encore lancé le satellite qui utilisera le spectre visé par la licence, la licence sera délivrée immédiatement, mais les droits ne seront imposés qu’une fois le satellite lancé.

Une fois les frais imposés, ils s’appliqueront jusqu’à ce que la période de la licence de spectre prenne fin.

Droits de licence de spectre au prorata

Pour la partie du premier exercice au cours duquel les droits s’appliqueront, les droits devront être payés immédiatement au prorata, à un tarif mensuel de 10 $/MHz, et ce, jusqu’au 31 mars prochain.

Pour les licences dont la période est de moins d'un an, ou dont la période prend fin avant le 31 mars, les droits annuels s'appliqueront immédiatement, et ce, au prorata, à un tarif mensuel de 10 $/MHz.

Notes générales

Les droits de licence doivent être payés annuellement et à l’avance; ils sont exigibles avant le 31 mars de chaque année.

Un satellite est considéré comme lancé lorsqu’il a atteint sa position orbitale ou son orbite assignée.

Le ministre peut attribuer de nouvelles bandes de fréquence aux SFS et aux SRS, qui figureront dans les versions futures du TCABF. La présente ordonnance concernant les droits d’utilisation du spectre s’appliquera aux licences de spectre pour ces bandes.

space to insert signature

Le ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique

space to insert signature

Le 4 février 2016

Date de modification :