SAB-001-17 — Displacement of Existing Fixed Service Assignments in the Frequency Band 5850–5925 MHz

February 2017

The purpose of this notice is to advise that Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) will allow the introduction of vehicle-mounted Dedicated Short-range Communications (DSRC) devices in the Band 5850–5925 MHz and will therefore be displacing fixed service assignments in that frequency range.

DSRC operations

In 2004, ISED (then Industry Canada) designated the band 5850–5925 MHz for DSRC.Footnote 1 In 2006, this was followed by a moratorium on the licensing of new non-DSRC systems in this band.Footnote 2 In 2007, a public consultation was held to invite comments regarding Proposed Spectrum Utilization Policy, Technical and Licensing Requirements to Introduce Dedicated Short-range Communications-based Intelligent Transportation Systems Applications in the Band 5850–5925 MHz (2007 DSRC Consultation). The Department deferred issuing a decision on the policy, technical and licensing requirements for DSRC as responses to the 2007 DSRC Consultation indicated that DSRC technology was not yet sufficiently mature.

Renewed interest in DSRC has prompted the Department to finalize a transition policy for existing fixed service assignments in order to enable DSRC on-board vehicle units in this band in a timely manner. These DSRC on-board vehicle units will operate on a licence-exempt basis and will be certified under the applicable Radio Standards Specification (RSS). 

Transition

The Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada (2007) outlines, among other things, the policy guidelines dealing with the allocation of spectrum resources and the displacement of radio systems. The policy, formulated under the Radiocommunication Act and Radiocommunication Regulations, states that:

The Department will reallocate spectrum, as necessary, such as to support the implementation of new services or to comply with changes to international frequency allocations. The impact of these reallocations on existing services, including the potential displacement of existing services, will be taken into account. However, any displaced spectrum users will be responsible for all costs incurred as a result of any reallocation of spectrum by the Department.

The 2007 DSRC Consultation proposed that displacement of existing fixed stations would be done only as needed, i.e., when roadside DSRC infrastructure equipment was licensed in a particular area. Furthermore, longer displacement time was proposed for stations in rural areas as DSRC infrastructure was expected to be deployed in urban areas first.

The development of vehicle-to-vehicle DSRC technology has taken place at a faster pace than roadside infrastructure technology. Since automobiles with vehicle-to-vehicle DRSC systems (which do not depend on roadside infrastructure) can operate anywhere that roadways exist, the notification will apply to fixed stations in both rural and urban areas. Consequently, the transition policy for the existing fixed service assignments as specified below is in effect as of the date of publication of this bulletin.

Transition Policy Provisions

The following provisions for displacement apply to incumbent fixed service stations in the band 5850–5925 MHz:

  1. Pursuant to this Spectrum Advisory Bulletin, the Department will issue formal notifications to incumbent licensees for the displacement of affected fixed service frequency assignments.
  2. These notices will afford a minimum notification period of 18 months from receipt of notification. Licensees operating in rural areas may request for an extended notification period of more than 18 months but not exceeding 2 years.  Approval of such requests will be on a case-by-case basis. Application for extension must be accompanied with justification and be submitted within 90 days of receipt of notification.
  3. Fixed station licensees will cease operation of the identified frequency assignments on or before the date indicated in the served notification.
  4. Notwithstanding provision 3, licensees of fixed stations may submit an application to the Department requesting continuation of the operation of particular stations on a no-protection, no-interference basis with respect to future DSRC systems and any other existing or future services or operations in the band. Each application must be submitted to the appropriate ISED regional officeFootnote 3 and will be assessed on a case-by-case basis. The application must indicate how the continued operation of these stations would not create harmful interference to future DSRC systems (e.g. fixed station located in a remote area such as a mountain top). Application must be submitted within 90 days of receipt of notification.
  5. ISED will monitor and may make changes to the transition policy as required.
Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

BCS-001-17 — Déplacement d'assignations de services fixes existantes dans la bande de fréquences de 5 850 à 5 925 MHz

Février 2017

Le présent avis vise à informer qu’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) permettra l’utilisation d’appareils de communication dédiée à courte distance (CDCD) montés sur véhicule dans la bande de 5 850 à 5 925 MHz, ce qui causera le déplacement d’assignations de services fixes dans cette gamme de fréquences.

Utilisation de la CDCD

En 2004, ISDE (alors appelé Industrie Canada) a désigné la bande de 5 850 à 5 925 MHz pour la CDCDNote de bas de page 1. En 2006, cette décision a été suivie par un moratoire sur la délivrance de licences pour de nouveaux systèmes ne touchant pas la CDCD dans cette bandeNote de bas de page 2. En 2007, une consultation publique a été tenue pour solliciter des commentaires au sujet des Exigences techniques et de délivrance de licence d'une politique proposée d'utilisation du spectre pour l'établissement d'applications de systèmes de transport intelligents à communication dédiée à courte distance dans la bande 5 850–5 925 MHz (consultation de 2007 sur la CDCD). Le Ministère a reporté la prise d’une décision sur les exigences techniques et de délivrance de licence d'une politique pour la CDCD, car les réponses à la consultation de 2007 indiquaient que la technologie de la CDCD n’était pas encore suffisamment développée.

L’intérêt renouvelé pour la CDCD a incité le Ministère à mettre au point une politique de transition pour les assignations de services fixes existantes afin d’autoriser les systèmes de bord à CDCD dans cette bande en temps opportun. Ces systèmes de bord à CDCD fonctionneront sans licence et seront certifiés selon le cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR) pertinent. 

Transition

Le Cadre de la politique canadienne du spectre (2007) expose notamment les lignes directrices de la politique portant sur l'attribution des ressources du spectre et le déplacement des systèmes radio. Cette politique, formulée en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, stipule que :

Le Ministère réattribuera le spectre, au besoin, par exemple pour appuyer la mise en œuvre de nouveaux services ou pour respecter les changements apportés aux attributions de fréquences internationales. L'incidence de ces réattributions sur les services existants, y compris leur déplacement possible, sera prise en compte. Cependant, les utilisateurs dont les fréquences seront déplacées devront assumer tous les coûts résultant des réattributions de spectre par le Ministère.

Il a été proposé dans la consultation de 2007 sur la CDCD que le déplacement de stations fixes existantes serait fait seulement au besoin, c.-à-d. lors de la délivrance de licences pour de l’équipement de CDCD pour l’infrastructure routière dans une zone précise. En outre, une plus longue période de déplacement a été proposée pour les stations en régions rurales, puisque l’infrastructure de CDCD devait d’abord être déployée dans les zones urbaines.

La technologie entre véhicules fondée sur la CDCD a été développée plus rapidement que le la technologie fondée sur l’infrastructure routière. Puisque les automobiles dotées de systèmes de CDCD entre véhicules (qui ne dépendent pas de l’infrastructure routière) peuvent être utilisées partout où il y a des routes, l’avis s’appliquera aux stations fixes dans les zones rurales et urbaines. Par conséquent, la politique de transition pour les assignations de services fixes existantes, comme il est précisé ci-dessous, entrera en vigueur à la date de publication du présent bulletin.

Dispositions de la politique de transition

Les dispositions de déplacement suivantes s’appliquent aux titulaires de stations de services fixes dans la bande de 5 850 à 5 925 MHz :

  1. Conformément au présent Bulletin consultatif sur le spectre, le Ministère enverra des préavis officiels aux titulaires de licence en ce qui a trait au déplacement des assignations de fréquences fixes touchées.
  2. Ces avis prévoiront une période de préavis d'au moins 18 mois suivant la réception du préavis. Les titulaires de licence qui exploitent des systèmes dans les régions rurales peuvent demander une période de préavis de plus de 18 mois, mais ne dépassant pas deux ans. L’approbation de telles demandes sera accordée en fonction de chaque cas. La demande de prolongation doit être accompagnée d’une justification et doit être soumise dans les 90 jours suivant la réception du préavis.
  3. Les titulaires de licence de stations fixes devront cesser d'utiliser les assignations de fréquences indiquées au plus tard à la date précisée dans le préavis.
  4. Nonobstant la disposition 3, les titulaires de licence de stations fixes peuvent soumettre une demande au Ministère afin de pouvoir continuer d’exploiter des stations particulières en fonction d’un régime de non-brouillage et de non-protection par rapport aux systèmes de CDCD futurs et à tout autre service actuel ou futur ou toute utilisation de la CDCD dans la bande. Chaque demande doit être soumise au bureau régional d’ISDE appropriéNote de bas de page 3 et sera évaluée au cas par cas. Il faut prouver dans la demande que l’exploitation continue de ces stations ne causera pas de brouillage préjudiciable aux systèmes de CDCD futurs (p. ex. en indiquant que la station fixe est située dans une zone éloignée, comme au sommet d’une montagne). La demande doit être soumise dans les 90 jours suivant la réception du préavis.
  5. ISDE assurera une surveillance et pourrait apporter des modifications à la politique de transition, au besoin.
Date de modification :