Subordinate Spectrum Licences Held by Rogers Communications Canada Inc. to Ice Wireless Inc.

February 2018

Decision regarding the subordinate licences


1. On October 24, 2017, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) received a joint application from Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers) and Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless) for the issuance of subordinate licences in a portion of the cellular band for various communities in Northern Quebec as well as Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. 

2. The request to issue subordinate licences from Rogers to Ice Wireless is further to their current Agreement. The subordinate licences are for an additional 10 MHz (5 + 5 MHz) that was not part of the original Agreement. The primary licences are described in annex A. The application was reviewed under the relevant provisions of Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-1-23, Licensing Procedure for Spectrum Licences for Terrestrial Services.

3. Terms not defined in this decision have the meaning set out in CPC-2-1-23.


4. The subordinate licence application from Rogers to Ice Wireless described above is approved.


5. The application was assessed against the policy objectives and criteria set out in section 5.6 of CPC-2-1-23.

6. ISED has reviewed the Agreement between Rogers and Ice Wireless and notes that for the subordinate licences requested, the primary licensee retains control of its spectrum licences.

7. Approval of the subordinate licences does not change the overall distribution of spectrum holdings in the relevant licence areas, and allows Ice Wireless, a wireless service provider in remote areas of Northern Canada, access to additional commercial mobile spectrum. The Department has determined that the subordinate licences would not impact the ability of existing or future competitors to provide services in the relevant areas.

Annex A

Subordinate Licences from Rogers Communications Canada Inc. to Ice Wireless Inc.
Licence Number Expiry Date Frequency Range (MHz) Geographic Area
010285143-001 March 31, 2031 829 - 834
874 - 879
Northern Quebec
010286711-001 March 31, 2031 829 - 834
874 - 879
Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut
Date modified:

Licences de spectre subordonnées détenues par Rogers Communications Canada Inc. et accordées à Ice Wireless Inc.

Février 2018

Décision concernant les licences subordonnées

Demande

1. Le 24 octobre 2017, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) a reçu une demande de Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers) et d'Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless) concernant la délivrance de licences subordonnées pour une portion de la bande du service cellulaire dans plusieurs communautés du nord du Québec, du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut.

2. La demande de délivrance des licences subordonnées de Rogers à Ice Wireless est un ajout à l'entente actuelle. Les licences subordonnées sont demandées pour ajouter 10 MHz (5 + 5 MHz), quantité qui ne faisait pas partie de l'entente initiale. Les licences primaires sont décrites à l'annexe A. La demande a été examinée selon les dispositions pertinentes de la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients, CPC-2-1-23, Procédure de délivrance de licences de spectre pour les services terrestres.

3. La signification des termes qui ne sont pas définis dans la présente décision se trouve dans la CPC-2-1-23.

Décision

4. La demande de licences subordonnées détenues par Rogers et accordées à Ice Wireless, telle que décrite ci-dessus, est approuvée.

Rationale

5. La demande a été évaluée par rapport aux objectifs stratégiques et aux critères énoncés à la section 5.6 de la CPC-2-1-23.

6. ISDE a examiné l'entente entre Rogers et Ice Wireless et fait remarquer que pour chacune des licences subordonnées demandées, le titulaire de licence primaire continue d'exercer le contrôle sur ses licences de spectre.

7. L'approbation de ces licences subordonnées ne change pas l'ensemble de la distribution des avoirs en fréquences dans les zones concernées, et permet à Ice Wireless, un fournisseur de services mobiles dans les régions éloignées du Nord du Canada, d'accéder à une quantité de spectre mobile commercial supplémentaire. ISDE a déterminé que les licences subordonnées n'auront pas d'incidence sur la capacité des concurrents actuels ou futurs d'offrir des services dans les zones concernées.

Annexe A

Licences de spectre subordonnées détenues par Rogers Communications Canada Inc. et accordées à Ice Wireless Inc.
Numéro de licence Date d'expiration Gamme de fréquences (MHz) Zone géographique
010285143-001 31 mars 2031 829 – 834 MHz
874 – 879 MHz

2-007
Nord du Québec

010286711-001 31 mars 2031 829 – 834 MHz
874 – 879 MHz
2-014
Yukon, Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Nunavut

 

Date de modification :