Decision on Proposed Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations

Posted on April 13, 2018

SMSE-007-18
April 2018

1. Intent

Through the release of this document, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (the Department) announces changes to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (Canadian Table), resulting from the consultation process SMSE-005-17, Proposed Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (2017 edition). The Canadian Table will be modified accordingly.

2. Background

The Department revises the Canadian Table on a periodic basis, normally following an International Telecommunication Union (ITU) World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC). The most recent WRC, held in November 2015 (WRC-15), resulted in a number of updates to the International Table of Frequency Allocations (International Table). As the Canadian Table is derived from the International Table, corresponding updates were required.

On August 17, 2017, the Department released a public consultation on these required corresponding updates, as well as on proposed updates related to domestic policy changes and editorial feedback received from stakeholders. During the consultation comment period, which ended on October 25, 2017, comments were received from nine parties, who mainly indicated their general agreement with the proposed revisions.

3. Summary of comments received

Nine comments were received, of which four were from radio amateur associations/individuals, including the Radio Amateurs of Canada (RAC). The other comments received were from the Radio Advisory Board of Canada (RABC), SaskTel, Canadian Satellite and Space Industry Forum (CSSIF), Bell Mobility and TerreStar Solutions.

There was general support for almost all the proposed changes to the Canadian Table. For a few proposals, stakeholders requested some additional revisions, while SaskTel simply noted an editorial correction to a specific frequency band. A summary of the specific comments received are provided in table 1.

Table 1: Summary of specific comments received
Stakeholders Comments
Radio amateur community and RABC Requested to modify the power limit in the newly allocated band 5 351.5–5 366.5 kHz for the amateur service, which would align with the power limit for frequencies in this range and in adjacent bands, as per the existing Canadian footnote C21.
RABC Requested a change in wording of the new footnote CXYZ (C24A) to clarify that, even though the frequency range 470–698 MHz is identified internationally for International Mobile Telecommunications (IMT), only the band 614–698 MHz is identified as such in Canada.
CSSIF (satellite industry) Expressed concerns about modifying the existing footnote C49 to limit the entire 39.5–40.5 GHz band to government-exclusive use. The original text of the footnote limited "all or a portion of" the bands to government-exclusive use.
TerreStar Solutions Requested a new mobile allocation in the 1695–1710 MHz band.

4. Decisions

4.1 Proposals for which no issues were raised

Support was expressed, or no comments were received, on the majority of the proposed changes to the Canadian Table. The Department will adopt those proposed changes.

D1: The Department will adopt all the changes proposed in the consultation for which no issues were raised.

4.2 Proposals for which comments were received

With respect to the sections of the Canadian Table for which comments were received, the Department has assessed the comments and will adopt specific decisions for each, as outlined below.

4.2.1 Power limit in the 5 351.5–5 366.5 kHz band

The radio amateur community and the RABC requested that the Department adopt the same power limit as is currently allowed in Canadian footnote C21 for the newly allocated secondary allocation, instead of the one proposed in international footnote 5.133B. The Department agrees with the feedback and will therefore not adopt international footnote 5.133B. Instead, changes to Canadian footnote C21 will be made to reflect the adoption of the higher power limit.

D2: The Department will adopt the following modifications to footnote C21.

MOD

C21 (CAN-14begin insert8end insert) Amateur service operators may transmit begin insertin the frequency band 5 351.5–5 366.5 kHz and end insert on the following begin deletionfive end deletion begin insertfourend insert centre frequencies: 5 332 kHz, 5 348 kHz, begin deletion5 358.5 kHz, end deletion5 373 kHz, and 5 405 kHz. Amateur stations are allowed to operate with a maximum effective radiated power of 100 W PEP begin insertin each channelend insert and are restricted to the following emission modes and designators: telephony (2K80J3E), data (2K80J2D), RTTY (60H0J2B) and CW (150HA1A). Transmissions begin insertin any channelend insert may not occupy begin inserta bandwidth ofend insert more than 2.8 kHzbegin insert. end insert begin deletioncentered on these five frequencies. end deletionSuch use is not in accordance with international frequency allocations. Canadian amateur operations shall not cause interference to fixed and mobile operations in Canada or in other countries and, if such interference occurs, the amateur service may be required to cease operations. The amateur service in Canada may not claim protection from interference by the fixed and mobile operations of other countries.

4.2.2 Clarification of footnote CXYZ (C24A)

At WRC-15, the frequency bands 470–608 MHz and 614–698 MHz were identified for IMT in Canada through international footnotes 5.295 and 5.308A. However, after WRC-15, it was decided that only the frequency band 614–698 MHz would be identified for IMT in Canada. In its comments submitted to the Department, the RABC proposed to reword Canadian footnote CXYZ (C24A) to reflect this decision. The Department agrees with the feedback and will adopt a new Canadian footnote C24A, as shown below.

D3: The Department will adopt the following new Canadian footnote C24A.

ADD

C24A (CAN-18) In Canada, within the frequency range 470–698 MHz, the frequency band 614–698 MHz is identified for International Mobile Telecommunications (IMT).

4.2.3 Changes originally proposed to Canadian footnotes C49 and C50

In the consultation, the Department proposed modifying Canadian footnotes C49 and C50 to remove the wording "that in all or a portion of, the bands", given the ambiguity that could be created with respect to its interpretation in the use of the fixed-satellite service (FSS) (C49) and mobile-satellite service (MSS) (C50) by the Government of Canada. The CSSIF expressed concerns that the proposed modifications to footnote C49 would limit the flexibility in use of the spectrum in the event that it is not being fully utilized by the Government of Canada. The Department confirms that the frequency bands 7 250–7 750 MHz, 7 900–8 400 MHz, 20.2–21.2 GHz and 30–31 GHz are currently being used. In light of this, the Department will make changes to footnotes C49 and C50, as shown below.

D4: The Department will make the following changes to footnotes C49 and C50.

MOD

C49 begin insert(CAN-18)end insert In the begin insertfrequency end insert bands 7 250–7 750 MHz begin insert,end insert begin deletionandend deletion 7 900–8 400 MHz begin insert,end insert begin deletionand, in all or a portion of, the bands end deletion20.2–21.2 GHzbegin insert,end insert begin insertandend insert 30–31 GHzbegin deletion and 39.5-40.5 GHz as requiredend deletion, the use of the fixed-satellite service is limited to the Government of Canada.

MOD

C50 begin insert (CAN-18)end insert In the begin insertfrequencyend insert bands 7 250–7 375 MHz, 7 975–8 025 MHz, begin insert 20.2-21.2 GHz, 30–31 GHz, 39.5–40.5 GHzend insert and 43.5–45.5 GHzbegin deletion and, in all or a portion of, the bands 20.2 ‑21.2 GHz, 30-31 GHz and 39.5-40.5 GHz as requiredend deletion, the use of the mobile-satellite service is limited to the Government of Canada.

4.2.4 Request for changes in the 1695–1710 MHz band

TerreStar Solutions requested the addition of a new mobile service allocation in the 1695–1710 MHz band in the Canadian Table. Adopting such a proposal would constitute a major change in policy outside the scope of this consultation, and would therefore need to be addressed through a separate consultation. As such, a new allocation to the mobile service in the frequency band 1 695–1 710 MHz will not be adopted at this time. The Department notes that comments were sought on the 1695–1710 MHz band through consultation process SLPB-006-17, Consultation on the Spectrum Outlook 2018 to 2022.

D5: The Department will not make any changes to the Canadian Table in the frequency band 1695–1710 MHz at this time.

NOC

1 675 ‑ 1 700 METEOROLOGICAL AIDS
METEOROLOGICAL‑SATELLITE (space‑to‑Earth)

5.289 5.341
1 700 ‑ 1 710 FIXED
METEOROLOGICAL‑SATELLITE (space‑to‑Earth)

5.289 5.341
Date modified:

Décision concernant les modifications proposées au Tableau canadien d’attribution des bandes de fréquences

Affiché le 13 avril 2018

SMSE-007-18
Avril 2018

Table des matières

1. Objet

Par la publication du présent document, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (le Ministère) annonce des modifications au Tableau canadien d’attribution des bandes de fréquences (le Tableau canadien), qui découlent du processus de consultation SMSE‑005‑17, Révisions proposées au Tableau canadien d’attribution des bandes de fréquences (édition 2017). Le Tableau canadien sera modifié en conséquence.

2. Contexte

Le Ministère révise périodiquement le Tableau canadien, habituellement dans la foulée d’une Conférence mondiale des radiocommunications (CMR) de l’UIT. La CMR la plus récente date de novembre 2015 (CMR‑15) et a donné lieu à un certain nombre de mises à jour du Tableau international d’attribution des bandes de fréquences (le Tableau international). Le Tableau canadien découlant du Tableau international; il faut donc y apporter les mises à jour correspondantes.

Le 17 août 2017, le Ministère a diffusé un document de consultation publique au sujet des mises à jour susmentionnées, de même que sur les mises à jour proposées concernant des modifications à la politique nationale et, finalement, sur les commentaires propres à la rédaction qui ont été reçues des intervenants. La période de commentaires, dans le cadre de la consultation, a pris fin le 25 octobre 2017; neuf parties ont soumis leurs commentaires, indiquant principalement que les intéressés étaient généralement favorables aux modifications proposées.

3. Résumé des commentaires reçus

Neuf commentaires ont été reçus, dont quatre provenant des radioamateurs et d’associations de radioamateurs, notamment la Radio Amateurs du Canada (RAC). Les autres commentaires reçus ont été formulés par le Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio (CCCR), SaskTel, le Forum de l’industrie spatiale et satellitaire canadienne (FISSC), Bell Mobilité et par TerreStar Solutions.

Presque toutes les modifications proposées au Tableau canadien ont, en général, été bien accueillies. Cependant, dans le cas de quelques propositions en particulier, certains intervenants ont demandé des modifications supplémentaires. De son côté, SaskTel a simplement fait remarquer qu’une correction propre à la rédaction devait être apportée relativement à une bande de fréquences précise. Un résumé des commentaires formulés est présenté ci‑dessous, au tableau 1.

Tableau 1 : Sommaire des commentaires reçus

Intervenants

Commentaires

La collectivité des radioamateurs et le CCCR

Ont demandé de modifier la limite de puissance dans la nouvelle bande de 5 351,5 à 5 366,5 kHz attribuée au service d’amateur, ce qui permettrait l’harmonisation avec la limite de puissance accordée aux fréquences dans cette gamme et dans les bandes adjacentes, conformément au renvoi canadien C21 actuel.

Le CCCR

A demandé de modifier la formulation du nouveau renvoi CXYZ (C24A) afin de clarifier que, même si la gamme de fréquences de 470 à 698 MHz est identifiée internationalement aux Télécommunications mobiles internationales (IMT), seule la bande de 614 à 698 MHz est identifiée comme telle au Canada.

Le FISSC (industrie satellitaire)

A exprimé des préoccupations au sujet de la modification du renvoi C49 actuel qui limiterait l’exploitation de la bande de 39,5 à 40,5 GHz à l’usage exclusif du gouvernement. Dans le texte original du renvoi, l’utilisation des mots « l’ensemble des bandes […] ou une partie de celles-ci » limitait l’usage des bandes uniquement au gouvernement.

TerreStar Solutions

A demandé une nouvelle attribution au service mobile dans la bande de 1 695 à 1 710 MHz.

4. Décisions

4.1 Propositions qui n’ont rencontré aucune opposition

La majorité des modifications proposées ont été bien accueillies ou n’ont fait l’objet d’aucun commentaire. Le Ministère adoptera ces modifications proposées.

D1 : Le Ministère adoptera toutes les modifications proposées dans le cadre de la consultation qui n’ont rencontré aucune opposition.

4.2 Propositions sur lesquelles on a fait des commentaires

Le Ministère a évalué les commentaires reçus en ce qui a trait à certaines sections du Tableau canadien; il rendra les décisions présentées ci‑dessous pour chacun d’entre eux.

4.2.1 Limite de puissance dans la bande de 5 351,5 à 5 366,5 kHz

La collectivité des radioamateurs et le CCCR ont demandé au Ministère d’adopter la même limite de puissance que celle qui est permise actuellement selon le renvoi canadien C21 pour la nouvelle attribution secondaire plutôt que celle qui est proposée dans le renvoi international 5.133B. Le Ministère est d’accord avec la proposition et n’adoptera donc pas le renvoi international 5.133B. Au lieu de cela, des modifications seront apportées au renvoi canadien C21 afin de tenir compte de l’adoption de la limite de puissance supérieure.

D2 : Le Ministère apportera les modifications suivantes au renvoi C21 :

MODIFICATION

C21 (CAN-14début du texte surlignés8 fin du texte surlignés) Les radioamateurs sont autorisés à émettre début du texte surlignésdans la bande de fréquences fin du texte surlignés de 5 351,5 à 5 366,5 kHz et sur les début du texte barrécinqfin du texte barré début du texte surlignésquatre fin du texte surlignés fréquences centrales suivantes : 5 332 kHz, 5 348 kHz, 5 358,5 kHz, 5 373 kHz et 5 405 kHz. Les stations de radioamateur sont autorisées à émettre à une puissance apparente rayonnée maximale de 100 W (puissance en crête de modulation) début du texte surlignésdans chaque canal fin du texte surlignés et sont limitées aux modes et aux désignatifs suivants : téléphonie (2K80J3E), données (2K80J2D), radio téléimprimeur (60H0J2B) et ondes entretenues (OE) (150HA1A). Les émissions début du texte surlignésdans tout canal fin du texte surlignés ne peuvent occuper une largeur de bande de plus de 2,8 kHzdébut du texte surlignés. fin du texte surlignés début du texte barrécentrée sur chacune de ces cinq fréquences. fin du texte barréCette utilisation n’est pas conforme aux attributions de fréquences internationales. L’exploitation des stations canadiennes de radioamateur ne doit pas causer de brouillage aux stations du service fixe ou du service mobile du Canada ou d’autres pays. En cas de tel brouillage, le service d’amateur en cause peut être tenu de cesser ses activités. Le service d’amateur du Canada ne peut exiger la protection contre le brouillage provenant de stations du service fixe ou mobile d’autres pays.

4.2.2 Éclaircissement concernant le renvoi CXYZ (C24A)

Lors de la CMR‑15, les bandes de fréquences de 470 à 608 MHz et de 614 à 698 MHz ont été identifiées pour les IMT au Canada au moyen des renvois internationaux 5.295 et 5.308A. Toutefois, après la CMR‑15, il a été décidé que seule la bande de fréquences de 614 à 698 MHz serait identifiée pour les IMT au Canada. Dans ses commentaires présentés auprès du Ministère, le CCCR a proposé de reformuler le renvoi canadien CXYZ (C24A) afin de tenir compte de cette décision. Le Ministère est d’accord avec la proposition et adoptera le renvoi C24A présenté ci‑après.

D3 : Le Ministère adoptera le nouveau renvoi canadien C24A suivant :

AJOUT

C24A (CAN-18) Au Canada, dans les gammes de fréquences de 470 à - 698 MHz, la bande de fréquences de 614 à 698 MHz est identifiée pour les Télécommunications mobiles internationales (IMT).

4.2.3 Modifications proposées à l’origine aux renvois canadiens C49 et C50

D4 : Le Ministère apportera les modifications suivantes aux renvois C49 et C50.

MODIFICATION

C49 début du texte surlignés(CAN-18) fin du texte surlignés Dans les bandes début du texte surlignés de fréquences fin du texte surlignés 7 250-7 750 MHz, début du texte barréetfin du texte barré 7 900-8 400 MHzdébut du texte surlignés, fin du texte surlignés début du texte barréet l’ensemble des bandesfin du texte barré 20,2 21,2 GHz, début du texte surlignéset fin du texte surlignés 30-31 GHzdébut du texte surlignés, fin du texte surlignés début du texte barréet 39,5 40,5 GHz, ou une partie de celles ci, le cas échéantfin du texte barré, l’utilisation du service fixe par satellite est limitée au gouvernement du Canada.

MODIFICATION

C50 début du texte surlignés(CAN-18) fin du texte surlignés Dans les bandes début du texte surlignés de fréquences fin du texte surlignés 7 250-7 375 MHz, 7 975-8 025 MHz, 20,2-21,2 GHz, 30-31 GHz, 39,5-40,5 GHz et 43,5-45,5 GHz début du texte barréet l’ensemble des bandes 20,2-21,2 GHz, 30-31 GHz et 39,5-40,5 GHzfin du texte barré, début du texte barréou une partie de celles ci, le cas échéant,fin du texte barré l’utilisation du service mobile par satellite est limitée au gouvernement du Canada.

4.2.4 Demande de modification dans la bande de  1 695 à 1 710 MHz

TerreStar Solutions a demandé l’ajout d’une nouvelle attribution pour le service mobile dans la bande de 1 695 à 1 710 MHz au Tableau canadien. L’adoption d’une telle proposition constituerait une modification importante à la politique et est au‑delà de la portée de cette consultation; par conséquent, elle devrait être examinée dans le cadre d’une autre consultation. C’est pourquoi une nouvelle attribution au service mobile dans la bande de fréquences de 1 695 à 1 710 MHz ne sera pas adoptée pour le moment. Le Ministère note que des commentaires ont été sollicités relativement à la bande de 1 695 à 1 710 MHz dans le cadre de la Consultation sur les perspectives du spectre de 2018 à  2022.

D5 : Le Ministère ne modifiera pas, pour l’instant, le Tableau canadien visant la bande de fréquences de 1 695 à 1 710 MHz.

NOC

1 675 ‑ 1 700 AUXILIAIRES DE LA MÉTÉOROLOGIE
MÉTÉOROLOGIE PAR SATELLITE (espace vers Terre)

5.289 5.341
1 700 ‑ 1 710 FIXE
MÉTÉOROLOGIE PAR SATELLITE (espace vers Terre)

5.289 5.341
Date de modification :