Decision on Periodic Adjustments for Radio and Spectrum Licence Fees and Fees Related to Equipment Certification Services

DGSO-005-19
August 2019

1. Intent

1. Through the release of this document, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED), on behalf of the Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development (the Minister), hereby announces the decisions resulting from DGSO-001-19, Consultation on Periodic Adjustments for Radio and Spectrum Licence Fees and Fees Related to Equipment Certification Services (the Consultation on Periodic Adjustments for Fees).

2. In DGSO-001-18, Consultation on Licence Fees for Fixed Point-to-Point Radio Systems (the Consultation on Fixed Point-to-Point Fees), ISED consulted on the periodic fee adjustment that should apply to point-to-point radio licence fees (specifically Q2). Comments submitted in response to Q2 were considered in the Consultation on Periodic Adjustments to Fees, and the determinations in this Decision will apply to licence fees for fixed point-to-point systems.

3. Comments and/or reply comments to the Consultation on Periodic Adjustments for Fees were received from:

  • Bell Mobility Inc. (Bell)
  • British Columbia Broadband Association (BCBA)
  • Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC)
  • Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers)
  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)
  • Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel)
  • Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw)
  • Telesat Canada (Telesat)
  • TELUS Communications Inc. (TELUS)
  • Xplornet Communications Inc. (Xplornet)

4. Comments and/or reply comments for Q2 of the Consultation on Fixed Point-to-Point Fees were received from:

  • Bell
  • Canadian Electricity Association (CEA)
  • Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association (CWTA)
  • Canwisp
  • Cogeco Communications Inc. (Cogeco)
  • Corridor Communications Inc. (CCI)
  • Ecotel Inc. (Ecotel)
  • E-Comm 911 (E-Comm)
  • Kativik Regional Government
  • Québecor Média (Québecor)
  • Rogers
  • SaskTel
  • Seaside Wireless Communications (Seaside)
  • Shaw
  • TELUS
  • TeraGo Networks (TeraGo)
  • Xplornet

2. Scope

5. This Decision applies to all radio and spectrum licence fees, as well as all fees related to certification and registration in respect of radio and telecommunications apparatus.

6. Examination fees for radio operator and amateur radio operator certificates as well as fees for the assignment of a call sign or prefix in the amateur radio service are outside the scope of this Decision.

3. Mandate

7. Under the Department of Industry Act, the Minister may fix fees in respect of the privileges provided by radio and spectrum licences. Under that same authority, the Minister may also fix fees in respect of services offered by ISED relating to the certification and registration of radio and telecommunications apparatus. Under the Radiocommunication Act, the Governor-in-Council may make regulations prescribing fees for radio authorizations.

8. The Minister is responsible for developing national policies and goals for spectrum resource use and for ensuring effective management of the radio frequency spectrum.

4. Policy objectives

9. Spectrum is a scarce and valuable public resource. ISED encourages its efficient and optimal use through policies and standards. Radio and spectrum licence fees are one mechanism designed to both promote the effective use of spectrum and earn a fair return for the Canadian public for the privilege of access to this public resource.

10. In developing policies and licensing frameworks, ISED is guided by the policy objectives of the Telecommunications Act, and the Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada (SPFC), which seeks to maximize the economic and social benefits that Canadians derive from the use of the radio frequency spectrum resource.

5. Background

11. The Service Fees Act (SFA) is federal legislation that was enacted in June 2017 and replaced the User Fees Act. The SFA requires that federal departments adjust their fees every year by the percentage change over 12 months in Statistics Canada’s April All-Items Consumer Price Index (April to April CPI) for the previous fiscal year. These annual adjustments must begin in the 2019-2020 fiscal year.

12. The annual CPI adjustment required by the SFA would not apply to fees that are adjusted periodically through the operation of other legislation or regulatory instruments. For example, ISED fees for radio licences, spectrum licences and services related to the certification and registration of radio and telecommunications apparatus are currently not so adjusted and are therefore subject to the SFA’s default annual adjustment by the change in the CPI.

13. Recognizing that the implementation of an alternative periodic fee adjustment model is possible, ISED sought proposals for alternative fee adjustments/escalators through Q2 of the Consultation on Fixed Point-to-Point Fees and the Consultation on Periodic Adjustments for Fees.

6. Comments received for Q2 of the Consultation on Fixed Point-to-Point Fees

14. In November 2018, ISED published the Consultation on Fixed Point-to-Point Fees. Q2 of this Consultation invited proposals for a fee escalator that takes into account fee predictability for the radio licence fees under consideration.

15. CEA, CCI, SaskTel, Shaw and E-Comm supported a fee adjustment tied to inflation, as measured by the CPI or a similar index, such as that required by the SFA.

16. Proposals for alternative fee adjustments were mixed. Canwisp and Seaside proposed a fee adjustment of 7% every 5 years. EcoTel proposed an annual fee adjustment be a fraction of a base point, for example, in the vicinity of a tenth of a percent. TeraGo proposed applying a fee adjustment every 5 years at the CPI rate determined for the fifth year. Xplornet proposed that licences be granted for a 10-year period with a one-time payment, further suggesting that, under this fee model, considerations relative to the SFA would not be required. 

17. Bell, CWTA, Cogeco, Québecor and TELUS reserved their comments for the Consultation on Periodic Adjustments for Fees. TELUS noted that if fees are not based solely on administrative cost recovery, the application of an inflation factor is an arbitrary increase that is not connected to increases in administrative costs for ISED. Rogers commented that any periodic adjustments, which must be made to comply with legislation, should have a minimal impact on facilities-based operators and Canadian consumers and businesses that rely on them. Kativik Regional Government raised concerns that fee escalations may contribute to remote regions being priced out of spectrum licences.

7. Comments received for the Consultation on Periodic Adjustments for Fees

18. In March 2019, ISED published the Consultation on Periodic Adjustments for Fees. In this Consultation, ISED invited comments on the application of the CPI-based fee adjustment as per the SFA, and on proposals, with supporting rationale, for an alternative fee adjustment model for all fees within the scope of the consultation.

19. SaskTel supported the SFA’s CPI adjustment. Bell, Rogers, Shaw, TELUS, and Telesat opposed it. CNOC opposed any form of adjustment that would increase licence fees. Bell, Rogers, Shaw, Telesat, TELUS, Xplornet, and CNOC expressed concerns regarding the high radio and spectrum licence fees in Canada in comparison to other jurisdictions. The RCMP did not object to fee adjustments, but noted its concern that fee increases may have a greater negative impact to rural regions.

20. Proposals for an alternative fee adjustment were mixed, as outlined in paragraphs 21 to 26 below.

21. Bell proposed an alternative adjustment model wherein ISED would annually forecast the expected costs of managing spectrum resources in two years’ time. Should the expected amount of radio and spectrum licence fees be greater than the forecasted costs, then no change to radio and spectrum licence fees would be applied. Should the expected amount of licence fees be less than the forecasted costs, ISED would increase fees by the CPI.

22. Rogers proposed that ISED adopt an administrative cost-recovery spectrum fee regime similar to that of the United States. Should a periodic adjustment to spectrum fees be required to comply with the SFA, Rogers proposed that it be based on the average annual population growth as determined by the official census conducted by Statistics Canada, which would equal approximately 5% every 5 years.

23. Xplornet also proposed that ISED adopt a fee model similar to that of the United States. Under this model, licences would be granted for 10 years based on a single payment set to recover ISED’s costs of issuing spectrum licences. Should a periodic fee adjustment be necessary, Xplornet proposed an adjustment not exceeding 5% applied every five years.

24. Shaw proposed a fee adjustment based on the change in the average unit price to consumers of wireless service (i.e. price per GB of data or price per voice call minute or a combination of the two) over a 12-month period. Should a CPI adjustment be implemented, Shaw proposed that it be the average of the annual change in the CPI over the past 3-10 years applied at a fixed rate.

25. Telesat proposed that ISED conduct a review of its satellite and earth stations licence fees to determine an appropriate periodic fee adjustment.

26. TELUS submitted that spectrum licence fees, pursuant to paragraph 16(a) of the SFA, are exempted from the periodic fee adjustment required by the SFA on the basis that they are fixed by contract. Should ISED apply an adjustment for spectrum licence fees, TELUS proposed that an annual CPI adjustment only apply to the portion of fees that recover costs incurred by ISED for spectrum administration.

8. Discussion

27. Radio and spectrum licence fees are charged for the privilege of using the radio spectrum resource. These licence fees are charged in connection with a licensing regime that grants access to a public resource pursuant to a statutory scheme, and are therefore subject to SFA’s requirements in respect to periodic adjustments.

28. In the Consultation on Periodic Adjustments for Fees, ISED invited proposals for an alternative fee adjustment model that, if adopted, would apply to all fees within the scope of the Consultation. Many of the proposals received only addressed spectrum licence fees, such that the adjustment mechanisms put forward in those proposals may be arbitrary if applied to fees for radio licences as well as fees for certification and registration.

29. Several respondents proposed forms of periodic adjustment models under which some in-scope fees would be adjusted by a fixed percentage. Most parties did not provide sufficient rationale to justify their suggested percentages. In the absence of such rationale, this form of adjustment would be arbitrary with respect to in-scope fees. In periods of slow economic growth, fixed increases could well exceed the increases that would otherwise apply if using the CPI.

30. The CPI for Canada is a widely used economic indicator that represents the weighted average of prices of a basket of consumer goods and services, including services related to communications (such as telephone and Internet access services). The SFA provides a clear methodology for applying an annual CPI-based adjustment, meaning that CPI adjustments will be applied in a predictable manner from year-to-year.

31. Several respondents to both the Consultation on Periodic Adjustments for Fees and the Consultation on Fixed Point-to-Point Fees supported a fee adjustment tied to inflation, as measured by the CPI or a similar index, such as that required by the SFA (CEA, CCI, SaskTel, E-Comm). There was no clear consensus among respondents for a preferred alternative fee adjustment model.

 32. Following careful consideration of all comments, it does not appear that there is any one alternative fee adjustment model to the SFA’s CPI model that would effectively contribute to the actualization of the objectives outlined in Section 4 of this Decision, meet the requirements of the SFA, and that could uniformly be applied across all in-scope fees. The SFA’s CPI model will allow for a consistent adjustment of all fees by means of a widely used and predictable economic indicator.

33. For the reasons set out above, fee adjustments following March 15, 2020, will continue to be based on the April to April CPI, pursuant to section 17 of the SFA.

Decision: Periodic fee adjustments following March 15, 2020, will continue to be based on the April to April CPI, as set out in the SFA.

9. Implementation

34. Since no alternative form of fee adjustment model has been chosen by ISED, subsequent adjustments will continue to be based on the April to April CPI as published by Statistics Canada, typically in May, in the previous fiscal year. As proposed in the Consultation on Periodic Adjustments for Fees, ISED intends to change the anniversary date for subsequent adjustments to April 1 to better align with the licence billing cycle and federal fiscal year. As a result, the next CPI adjustment following the March 15, 2020 adjustment is expected to take place on April 1, 2021, subject to any amendments that may be required to the Radiocommunication Regulations or amendments to existing, or the creation of new, ministerial fee orders.

35. Note that, in accordance with the SFA, a CPI adjustment will not be applied to a new fee during the first fiscal year that the fee is fixed or prescribed.

10. Obtaining copies

36. All spectrum-related documents referred to in this paper are available on ISED's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website.

37. For further information concerning this Decision or related matters, contact:

Director, Broadcast, Coordination and Planning
Spectrum Management Operations Branch
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
235 Queen Street, 6th floor
Ottawa ON K1A 0H5
Email: ic.spectrumregulatory-reglementationduspectre.ic@canada.ca.

Date modified:

Décision sur les rajustements périodiques pour les droits de licence radio et de licence de spectre et les droits liés aux services de certification de l’équipement

DGSO-005-19
Août 2019

1. Objet

1. Par la publication du présent document, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE), au nom du ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique (le ministre), annonce les décisions découlant du document DGSO-001-19, Consultation sur les rajustements périodiques pour les droits de licence radio et de licence de spectre et les droits liés aux services de certification de l’équipement (la Consultation sur les rajustements périodiques des droits).

2. Dans le document DGSO-001-18, Consultation sur les droits de licence applicables aux systèmes radio point à point fixes (la Consultation sur les droits des systèmes point à point fixes), ISDE a sollicité de commentaires sur le rajustement périodique des droits qui devrait s’appliquer aux droits de licence radio applicables aux systèmes point à point (plus précisément des commentaires en réponse au 2e point). Les commentaires en réponse au 2e point ont été pris en compte dans la Consultation sur les rajustements périodiques des droits, et les conclusions de la présente décision s’appliqueront aux droits des systèmes point à point fixes.

3. Des commentaires et/ou des réponses aux commentaires sur la Consultation sur les rajustements périodiques des droits ont été reçus de la part de :

  • Bell Mobilité Inc. (Bell)
  • British Columbia Broadband Association (BCBA)
  • Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc. (CORC)
  • Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers)
  • Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC)
  • Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel)
  • Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw)
  • Télésat Canada (Télésat)
  • TELUS Communications Inc. (TELUS)
  • Xplornet Communications Inc. (Xplornet)

4. Des commentaires et/ou des réponses aux commentaires portant sur le 2e point de la Consultation sur les droits des systèmes point à point fixes ont été reçus de la part de :

  • Bell
  • Association canadienne de l’électricité (ACÉ)
  • Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil (ACTSF)
  • Canwisp
  • Cogeco Communications Inc. (Cogeco)
  • Corridor Communications Inc. (CCI)
  • Ecotel Inc (Ecotel)
  • E-Comm 911 (E-Comm)
  • Administration régionale de Kativik
  • Québecor Média (Quebecor)
  • Rogers
  • SaskTel
  • Seaside Wireless Communications (Seaside)
  • Shaw
  • TELUS
  • TeraGo Networks (TeraGo)
  • Xplornet

2. Portée

5. La présente décision s’applique à tous les droits de licence radio et de licence de spectre, ainsi qu’à tous les droits liés à la certification et à l’enregistrement d’appareils radio et de télécommunications.

6. Les droits liés aux examens pour les certificats d’opérateur radio et d’opérateur radioamateur, et les droits liés à l’attribution d’un indicatif d’appel ou d’un préfixe dans le service de radioamateur outrepassent la portée de la présente décision.

3. Mandat

7. En vertu de la Loi sur le ministère de l’Industrie, le ministre peut fixer les droits à l’égard des privilèges conférés par les licences radio et de spectre. En vertu de cette même autorité, le ministre peut également fixer les droits à l’égard des services offerts par ISDE en matière de certification et d’enregistrement des appareils radio et de télécommunications. En vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, le gouverneur en conseil peut, par règlement, imposer les droits applicables aux autorisations de radiocommunication.

8. Le ministre est chargé d’élaborer les politiques et les objectifs nationaux visant l’utilisation de la ressource du spectre, ainsi que d’assurer la gestion efficace du spectre des radiofréquences.

4. Objectifs de la politique

9. Le spectre constitue une ressource publique rare et limitée. ISDE souhaite intervenir de manière efficiente et optimale par le moyen de politiques et de normes. Les droits de licence radio et de spectre sont un mécanisme conçu pour promouvoir l’utilisation efficace du spectre et obtenir un rendement équitable pour le public canadien en ce qui a trait au privilège d’avoir accès à cette ressource publique.

10. ISDE est guidé par les objectifs stratégiques de la Loi sur les télécommunications et le Cadre de la politique canadienne du spectre (CPCS), qui vise à maximiser les avantages économiques et sociaux que tirent les Canadiens de l’utilisation du spectre des radiofréquences, dans l’élaboration de politiques et de cadres en matière de licences.

5. Contexte

11. La Loi sur les frais de service (LFS) est une loi fédérale qui a été promulguée en juin 2017 et qui a remplacé la Loi sur les frais d’utilisation. La LFS exige que les ministères fédéraux rajustent leurs droits chaque année en fonction de la variation en pourcentage sur douze mois de l’Indice d'ensemble des prix à la consommation (IPC) d’avril à avril de Statistique Canada pour l’exercice précédent. Ces rajustements annuels doivent commencer au cours de l’exercice 2019-2020.

12. Le rajustement annuel de l’IPC exigé par la LFS ne s’appliquera pas aux droits qui sont rajustés périodiquement en vertu d’autres lois ou instruments réglementaires. Par exemple, les droits d’ISDE pour les licences radio, les licences de spectre et les services de certification et d’enregistrement des appareils radio et de télécommunication ne sont pour le moment pas rajustés et sont donc soumis au rajustement annuel par défaut de la LFS établi en vertu de l’IPC.

13. Étant donné la possibilité de la mise en œuvre d’un autre modèle de rajustement des droits périodique, ISDE a sollicité des propositions pour d’autres rajustements ou augmentations des droits dans le cadre de la Consultation sur les droits des systèmes point à point fixes (2e point) et de la Consultation sur les rajustements périodiques des droits.

6. Commentaires reçus pour le 2e point de la Consultation sur les droits des systèmes point à point fixes

14. En novembre 2018, lSDE a publié la Consultation sur les droits des systèmes point à point fixes. Au 2e point de cette consultation, on a sollicité des propositions pour une augmentation des droits qui tient compte de la prévisibilité pour les droits de licence radio à l’étude.

15. L’ACÉ, CCI, SaskTel, Shaw et E-Comm ont appuyé un rajustement des droits lié à l’inflation, mesurée par l’IPC ou un indice semblable, tel que l’exige la LFS.

16. Les propositions d’autres rajustements des droits étaient variées. Canwisp et Seaside ont proposé un rajustement des droits de 7 % tous les cinq ans. Ecotel a proposé un rajustement des droits annuels correspondant à une fraction d'un point de base, d’environ un dixième de pourcentage. TeraGo a proposé d’appliquer un rajustement des droits tous les cinq ans au taux de l’IPC déterminé pour la cinquième année. Xplornet a proposé que les licences soient accordées pour une période de 10 ans en versant un paiement unique, suggérant que, selon ce modèle de droits, les considérations relatives à la LFS ne seraient pas exigées.

17. Bell, l’ACTSF, Cogeco, Québecor et TELUS ont réservé leurs commentaires pour la Consultation sur les rajustements périodiques des droits. TELUS a fait remarquer que si les droits ne sont pas déterminés uniquement en fonction du recouvrement des frais administratifs, l’application d’un facteur d’inflation représente une augmentation arbitraire qui n’est pas liée aux augmentations des coûts administratifs pour ISDE. Rogers a indiqué que tout rajustement périodique nécessaire pour se conformer à la législation devrait avoir un impact minimal sur les exploitants dotés d'installations ainsi que les consommateurs canadiens et les entreprises qui en dépendent. L’Administration régionale Kativik s’est dite préoccupée par le fait que l’augmentation des droits peut empêcher les régions éloignées d'obtenir des licences de spectre.

7. Commentaires reçus dans le cadre de la Consultation sur les rajustements périodiques des droits

18. En mars 2019, ISDE a publié la Consultation sur les rajustements périodiques des droits. Dans le cadre de cette consultation, ISDE a sollicité des commentaires sur le rajustement des droits selon l’IPC en vertu de la LFS et différentes propositions, accompagnées des justifications nécessaires, concernant un autre modèle de rajustement des droits pour l’ensemble des droits visés par la Consultation.

19. SaskTel a appuyé le rajustement de l’IPC en vertu de la LFS. Bell, Rogers, Shaw, TELUS et Télésat s’y sont opposées. Le CORC s’est opposé à toute forme de rajustement qui augmenterait les droits de licence. Bell, Rogers, Shaw, Télésat, TELUS, Xplornet et le CORC ont exprimé des préoccupations au sujet des droits élevés de licence radio et de licence de spectre au Canada par rapport à d’autres administrations. La GRC ne s’est pas opposée aux rajustements des droits, mais elle s’est dite préoccupée par le fait que ces hausses pourraient avoir un effet négatif plus marqué dans les régions rurales.

20. Les propositions relatives à un autre rajustement des droits ont été diverses, comme il est indiqué aux paragraphes 21 à 26 ci-dessous.

21. Bell a proposé un autre modèle de rajustement dans le cadre duquel ISDE pourrait prévoir chaque année les coûts pour la gestion des ressources du spectre au cours des deux prochaines années. Si le montant prévu des droits de licence de radiocommunication et de spectre était supérieur aux coûts prévus, aucun changement ne serait alors apporté aux droits de licence de radiocommunication et de spectre. Si le montant prévu des droits de licence était inférieur aux coûts prévus, ISDE augmenterait les droits en fonction de l’IPC.

22. Rogers a proposé qu’ISDE adopte un régime de recouvrement des droits de spectre semblable à celui des États-Unis. Dans le cas où un rajustement périodique des droits d’utilisation du spectre s’avérerait nécessaire pour se conformer à la LFS, Rogers a proposé que ce rajustement soit fondé sur la croissance démographique annuelle moyenne déterminée par le recensement officiel effectué par Statistique Canada, qui s’élève à environ 5 % tous les cinq ans.

23. Xplornet a également proposé qu’ISDE adopte un modèle de tarification semblable à celui des États-Unis. Selon ce modèle, les licences seraient accordées pour dix ans en fonction d’un paiement unique pour recouvrer les coûts d’ISDE liés à l’émission des licences de spectre. Dans le cas où un rajustement périodique des droits s’avérerait nécessaire, Xplornet a proposé un rajustement ne dépassant pas 5 % tous les cinq ans.

24. Shaw a proposé un rajustement des droits en fonction du changement du prix unitaire moyen pour les consommateurs de services sans fil (c.-à-d. le prix par Go de données ou le prix par minute d’appel vocal ou une combinaison des deux) sur une période de 12 mois. Dans le cas de la mise en place d’un rajustement en fonction de l’IPC, Shaw a proposé qu’il représente la moyenne de la variation annuelle de l’IPC au cours des trois à dix dernières années, appliquée à un taux fixe.

25. Télésat a proposé qu’ISDE procède à un examen de ses droits de licence de satellite et de station terrienne afin de déterminer un rajustement périodique approprié des droits.

26. TELUS a affirmé que les droits de licence d’utilisation de spectre, conformément à l’alinéa 16(a) de la LFS, sont exemptés du rajustement périodique des droits exigé par la Loi étant donné qu’ils sont fixés par contrat. Si ISDE devait appliquer un rajustement pour les droits de licence d’utilisation de spectre, TELUS a proposé qu’un rajustement annuel de l’IPC ne s’applique qu’à la partie des droits qui couvre les coûts engagés par ISDE pour l’administration du spectre.

8. Discussion

27. Des droits de licence de radio et de spectre sont perçus pour le privilège d’utiliser le spectre des radiofréquences. Ces droits de licence sont facturés par rapport à un régime de licence qui accorde l’accès à une ressource publique en vertu d’un régime juridique, et sont donc soumis aux exigences de la LFS pour ce qui est des rajustements périodiques.

28. Dans la Consultation sur les rajustements périodiques des droits, ISDE a invité les participants à proposer un autre modèle de rajustement des droits qui, s’il était adopté, s’appliquerait à tous les droits visés par la consultation. Bon nombre des propositions reçues ne portaient que sur les droits de licence de spectre, de sorte que les mécanismes de rajustement formulés dans ces propositions pourraient être arbitraires dans le cas où ils s’appliqueraient aux droits pour les licences radio ainsi qu’aux droits de certification et d’enregistrement.

29. Plusieurs participants ont proposé des modèles de rajustements périodiques en vertu desquels certains droits visés seraient rajustés en fonction d’un pourcentage fixe. La plupart des parties n’ont pas fourni de raison suffisante pour justifier les pourcentages proposés. En l’absence d’une telle justification, cette forme de rajustement serait arbitraire par rapport aux droits visés. En période de faible croissance économique, les augmentations fixes pourraient bien dépasser les augmentations qui s’appliqueraient autrement si l’on utilisait l’IPC.

30. L’IPC du Canada est un indicateur économique largement utilisé qui représente la moyenne pondérée des prix d’un panier de biens et de services de consommation, dont les services de communication (tels que le téléphone et les services d’accès à Internet). La LFS fournit une méthodologie claire pour l’application d’un rajustement annuel fondé sur l’IPC, ce qui signifie que les rajustements de l’IPC sont appliqués d’une manière prévisible d’une année à l’autre.

31. Plusieurs participants à la Consultation sur les rajustements périodiques des droits et à la Consultation sur les droits des systèmes point à point fixes étaient en faveur d’un rajustement des droits lié à l’inflation, mesurée par l’IPC ou un indice semblable, comme celui exigé par la LFS (ACÉ, CCI, SaskTel, E-Comm). Les participants ne sont pas parvenus à un consensus clair en faveur d’un autre modèle de rajustement des droits.

32. Après examen attentif des commentaires, il ne semble pas y avoir de modèle de rajustement des droits différent du modèle de l’IPC de la LFS qui contribuerait efficacement à l’atteinte des objectifs énoncés à la section 4 de la présente décision, qui satisferait aux exigences de la LFS et qui pourrait être appliqué uniformément à tous les droits visés. Le modèle de l’IPC de la LFS permettrait un rajustement cohérent de tous les droits au moyen d’un indicateur économique prévisible et largement utilisé.

33. Pour les raisons énoncées ci-dessus, les rajustements des droits après le 15 mars 2020 continueront d’être fondés sur l’IPC d’avril à avril, conformément à l’article 17 de la LFS.

Décision : Les rajustements périodiques des droits après le 15 mars 2020 continueront d’être fondés sur l’IPC d’avril à avril, tel qu’il est établi dans la LFS.

9. Mise en œuvre

34. Étant donné qu’aucun autre modèle de rajustement des droits n’a été choisi par ISDE, les rajustements subséquents continueront d’être calculés selon l’IPC d’avril à avril de l’exercice précédent, publié par Statistique Canada habituellement au cours du mois de mai. Comme il a été proposé dans la Consultation sur les rajustements périodiques des droits, ISDE souhaite changer la date anniversaire des rajustements subséquents au 1er avril afin de mieux s’harmoniser avec le cycle de facturation des licences et l’exercice financier fédéral. Par conséquent, le prochain rajustement en fonction de l’IPC qui suivra celui du 15 mars 2020 devrait être effectué le 1er avril 2021. Ce rajustement sera assujetti à tout changement qui pourrait être requis par le Règlement sur la radiocommunication, ou à tout changement aux arrêtés ministériels existants en matière de frais, ou par la création de nouveaux arrêtés ministériels de ce type.

35. Il est à noter que, conformément à la LFS, un rajustement en fonction de l’IPC ne s’appliquera pas à un nouveau droit au cours du premier exercice où le droit est fixé ou prescrit.

10. Pour obtenir des exemplaires

36. Tous les documents relatifs au spectre cités en référence dans le présent document se trouvent sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d’ISDE.

37. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements concernant la présente décision ou si vous avez des questions connexes, veuillez communiquer avec ISDE à l’adresse suivante :

Directeur, Radiodiffusion, coordination et planification
Direction générale des opérations de la gestion du spectre
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
235, rue Queen, 6e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5
Courriel: ic.spectrumregulatory-reglementationduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Date de modification :