Textiles Industry profile

Definition

The textile manufacturing industry comprises of establishments primarily engaged in manufacturing goods and products for traditional and non-traditional textile markets. Traditional textile markets are destined to apparel and accessories; households; furnishings; and floor coverings. Non-traditional markets are defined as technical textiles and “other valued-added textiles”. Examples of markets for technical textiles are: filtration; transportation; medical; packaging; protection; reinforcement; sporting goods; agriculture; construction; civil engineering; and environmental industries. The “other value-added textiles” concept refers to traditional textile products to which advanced technological characteristics have been added. Examples are: advanced sports and leisure apparel; antimicrobial textiles; special protective textiles; easy-care textiles; intelligent textiles; and ultra-comfortable textiles.

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes for this industry are:

  • 313 Textile Mills (covers the manufacture, dyeing and finishing of yarns, fabrics and some textile products)
  • 314 Textile Product Mills (covers the manufacture of final products such as carpets, rugs, window coverings, etc.)
  • 325220 Artificial and Synthetic Fibres and Filaments Manufacturing (covers monofilament, filament yarn, staple or tow production)

Statistical Summary

Textiles Manufacturing—NAICS 313, 314 and 325220—Major Economic Indicators
(millions of CDN $, employment in thousands)
Economic Indicators 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 % change
2014-15
CAGR
20011-15

Definitions:

  • Apparent Domestic Market (ADM) = Shipments + Imports – Exports
  • Manufacturing Intensity Ratio = Gross Domestic Product (GDP) / Shipments
  • Import Penetration = Imports / ADM
  • Export Orientation = Exports / Shipments
  • Domestic Market Share = (Shipments – Exports) / ADM
  • Labour Productivity = GDP / Employment (thousands of CDN $)

Notes:

Footnote 1

GDP data for 32522 are estimates based on internal calculations

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Shipment data for 32522 are estimates based on internal calculations

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Data uses shipment estimates

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Data uses GDP and shipment estimates

Return to first footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Excludes 32522

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

Employment data for 32522 are estimates based on internal calculations

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

Data uses GDP and employment estimates

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Footnote 8

Establishment data does not include "indeterminate" establishments

Return to first footnote 8 referrer

Sources: Statistics Canada, Trade Data Online

Gross Domestic ProductFootnote 1 1,435.8 1,458.6 1,327.8 1,432.9 1,468.9 2.5% 0.6%
ShipmentsFootnote 2 3,768.7 3,682.3 3,499.2 3,820.7 3,852.7 0.8% 0.6%
Total Imports 4,912.7 5,212.7 5,369.6 5,805.2 6,437.1 10.9% 7.0%
Total Exports 1,953.1 1,902.3 1,842.7 1,886.2 2,148.9 13.9% 2.4%
Re-Exports 292.4 270.2 257.0 267.1 326.9 22.4% 2.8%
Apparent Domestic MarketFootnote 3 6,728 6,993 7,026 7,740 8,141 5.2% 4.9%
Domestic Market ShareFootnote 3 27.0% 25.5% 23.6% 25.0% 20.9% -4.1% -1.5%
Trade Balance -2,959.7 -3,310.4 -3,527.0 -3,919.0 -4,288.1 -9.4% -9.7%
Import Penetration 73.0% 74.5% 76.4% 75.0% 79.1% 4.1% 1.5%
Export OrientationFootnote 3 51.8% 51.7% 52.7% 49.4% 55.8% 6.4% 1.0%
Manufacturing Intensity RatioFootnote 4 38.1% 39.6% 37.9% 37.5% 38.1% 0.6% 0.0%
Capital ExpendituresFootnote 5 55.6 61.9 47.5 49.5 49.4 -0.2% -2.9%
R&DFootnote 5 42.0 31.0 26.0 29.0 29.0 0.0% -8.8%
EmploymentFootnote 6 19.0 18.5 19.2 18.3 17.6 -3.8% -1.9%
Labour ProductivityFootnote 7 75.4 78.7 69.0 78.1 83.3 6.6% 2.5%
EstablishmentsFootnote 8 1,226 1,106 1,118 1,035 984 N/A N/A

Economic overview

The textile manufacturing industry exhibited limited growth in output between 2011 and 2015. GDP expanded at an average annual rate of 0.6% between 2011 and 2015, increasing by approximately $30 million over the entire five-year period. Shipments grew at a similar rate, increasing by an average annual rate of 0.6%. In 2015, total shipments amounted to approximately $3.9 billion. The apparent domestic market for textile goods and products increased by $1.4 billion between 2011 and 2015; however, the domestic market share for Canadian manufacturers contracted by approximately 6% periods during the time period. Total imports and exports both expanded at a steady pace increasing by 7.0 and 2.4% respectively. High growth of imports has resulted in a growing trade deficit, which stood at $4.3 billion in 2015. Moderate growth in the industry has been accompanied by a contraction in both employment and establishments. Between 2011 and 2014, the total number of establishments contracted by approximately 16% or 191 establishments, and total employment for the industry declined by an average annual rate of 1.9%. In 2015, approximately 17,600 individuals were employed in the textile manufacturing sector and the industry consisted of approximately 1,035 establishments in 2014.

Trends in the industry

Canadian manufacturing of commodity textiles, such as for household items like bed linens, towels, and curtain, and textiles used in the manufacture of apparel, has largely moved to lower labour cost countries, however the business case to manufacture these items still exists in cases of niche demand (e.g., high quality, a particular performance characteristic, quick response to customer aesthetic preferences, rapid inventory replenishment, and if they are heavy or inefficient to transport as is the case in carpets and pillows). Textiles have many uses though in addition to those commonly thought of, such as woven carbon fibre used in composite structures, non-porous coated geosynthetic fabrics used to line tailing ponds, para-aramid fabrics (e.g. Kevlar) in bullet-proof vests, washable and antibacterial mattress and pillow covers in health care facilities, webbings for seatbelts or slings, and fibreglass used to make a range of moulded products including boat hulls, bathroom tubs, spas, and automobile parts. Canada`s textile companies manufacture for a wide variety of technical and niche applications and are integral to the supply chains of the many major industries in Canada.

In Canada, technical textile is evolving in a business environment supported by academic research and strong industrial knowledge which is conducive to even further growth of this sector. Advances in the global textile industry have resulted in textiles increasingly competing with other materials such as metals, wood, and plastics for applications that have traditionally been held by these other materials. Composites are a prime example of such substitution. Further, novel textiles, such as ‘intelligent’ textiles or those that conduct electricity, are increasingly seen in applications making it to market.

Associations

Date modified:

Profil de l’industrie de la fabrication des textiles

Définition

Les clients de produits textiles appartiennent aux marchés des textiles traditionnels ou aux marchés des textiles non traditionnels. Les textiles traditionnels sont destinés à l’habillement et aux accessoires, au linge de maison, à l’ameublement et aux revêtements de sol. Les textiles non traditionnels sont les textiles techniques et « autres textiles à valeur ajoutée ». Les marchés des textiles techniques comprennent la filtration, les transports, la médecine, l’emballage, la protection, le renforcement, les articles de sport, l’agriculture, la construction, le génie civil et les industries environnementales. Le concept des « autres textiles à valeur ajoutée » fait référence aux produits textiles traditionnels auxquels des caractéristiques technologiques de pointe ont été ajoutées, par exemple les tenues de détente et de sport, les textiles antimicrobiens, les textiles protecteurs spéciaux, les textiles faciles d’entretien, les textiles intelligents et les textiles ultraconfortables.

Les codes du Système de classification des industries de l’Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) sont :

  • 313 Usines de textiles : ce sous-secteur comprend la fabrication, la teinture et le finissage des filés, des tissus et de certains produits textiles
  • 314 Usines de produits textiles : ce sous-secteur comprend la fabrication de produits finis comme des carpettes, des tapis, des couvre-fenêtre, etc.
  • 325220 Fabrication de fibres et de filaments artificiels et synthétiques : ce sous-secteur comprend la production de monofilament, de fil continu, de brin ou d'étoupe

Sommaire statistique

Fabrication de textiles — SCIAN 313, 314, 32522 — Principaux indicateurs économiques
(en millions de $ CAN, en milliers d'emplois)
Indicateurs économiques 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 Variation en %
2014-15
TCAC
2011-15

Formules :

  • Marché intérieur apparent (MIA) = Livraisons + Importations – Exportations
  • Ratio de l’intensité manufacturière = Produit intérieur brut (PIB) / Livraisons
  • Pénétration des importations = Importations / MIA
  • Vocation exportatrice = Exportations / Livraisons
  • Part du marché intérieur = (Livraisons – Exportations) / MIA
  • Productivité du travail = PIB / Nombre d'emplois (milliers de $ canadien)

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Estimations des données du produit intérieure brut pour 32522

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Les données sur les expéditions de 32533 sont des estimations fondées sur des calculs internes

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Utilise les données de l’expédition des estimations

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Utilise les données du PIB et de l’expédition des estimations

Retour à la première référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Exclut les 32522

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Les données sur l'emploi pour 32522 sont des estimations fondées sur des calculs internes

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Utilise les données du PIB et de l’emploi de dépenses

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7

Note de bas de page 8

Les données sur les établissements ne comprennent pas les établissements «indéterminés»

Retour à la première référence de la note de bas de page 8

Sources : Données sur le commerce en direct, Statistique Canada

Produit intérieur brut Note de bas de page 1 1 435,8 1 458,6 1 327,8 1 432,9 1 468,9 2,5 % 0,6 %
LivraisonsNote de bas de page 2 3 768,7 3 682,3 3 499,2 3 820,7 3 852,7 0,8 % 0,6 %
Total des importations 4 912,7 5 212,7 5 369,6 5 805,2 6 437,1 10,9 % 7,0 %
Total des exportations 1 953,1 1 902,3 1 842,7 1 886,2 2 148,9 13,9 % 2,4 %
Réexportations 292,4 270,2 257,0 267,1 326,9 22,4 % 2,8 %
Marché intérieur apparentNote de bas de page 3 6 728 6 993 7 026 7 740 8 141 5,2 % 4,9 %
Part du marché intérieurNote de bas de page 3 27,0 % 25,5 % 23,6 % 25,0 % 20,9 % -4,1 % -1,5 %
Balance commerciale -2 959,7 -3 310,4 -3 527,0 -3 919,0 -4 288,1 -9,4 % -9,7 %
Pénétration des importations 73,0 % 74,5 % 76,4 % 75,0 % 79,1 % 4,1 % 1,5 %
Vocation exportatriceNote de bas de page 3 51,8 % 51,7 % 52,7 % 49,4 % 55,8 % 6,4 % 1,0 %
Ratio de l’intensité manufacturièreNote de bas de page 4 38,1 % 39,6 % 37,9 % 37,5 % 38,1 % 0,6 % 0,0 %
Dépenses d’investissement Note de bas de page 5 55,6 61,9 47,5 49,5 49,4 -0,2 % -2,9 %
R-DNote de bas de page 5 42,0 31,0 26,0 29,0 29,0 0,0 % -8,8 %
EmploisNote de bas de page 6 19,0 18,5 19,2 18,3 17,6 -3,8 % -1,9 %
Productivité de la main d'œuvreNote de bas de page 7 75,4 78,7 69,0 78,1 83,3 6,6 % 2,5 %
ÉtablissementsNote de bas de page 8 1 226 1 106 1 118 1 035 984 N/A N/A

Aperçu économique

L'industrie manufacturière du textile a affiché une croissance limitée de la production entre 2011 et 2015. Le PIB a augmenté à un taux annuel moyen de 0,6 % entre 2011 et 2015, augmentant d'environ 30 millions de dollars sur l'ensemble de la période quinquennale. Les livraisons ont progressé à un rythme semblable, augmentant d'un taux annuel moyen de 0,6 %. En 2015, les livraisons totales se sont élevées à environ 3,9 milliards de dollars. Le marché intérieur apparent des produits et produits textiles a augmenté de 1,4 milliard de dollars entre 2011 et 2015. Toutefois, la part du marché intérieur des fabricants canadiens a diminué d'environ 6 % au cours de la période visée. Les importations et les exportations totales ont tous deux augmenté à un rythme soutenu, augmentant respectivement de 7,0 % et 2,4 %. La forte croissance des importations a entraîné un déficit commercial croissant, qui s'établissait à 4,3 milliards de dollars en 2015. La croissance modérée de l'industrie s'est accompagnée d'une contraction de l'emploi et des établissements. Entre 2011 et 2014, le nombre total d'établissements contractés par environ 16 %, soit 191 établissements, et l'emploi total pour l'industrie ont diminué d'un taux annuel moyen de 1,9 %. En 2015, environ 17 600 personnes travaillaient dans le secteur de la fabrication du textile et l'industrie comptait environ 1 035 établissements en 2014.

Principaux enjeux et tendances

La fabrication canadienne de textiles de base, comme les articles ménagers tels que le linge de lit, les serviettes et le rideau, et les textiles utilisés dans la fabrication des vêtements, a largement évolué vers des pays à faible coût de la main-d'œuvre. Les produits de niche comme, par exemple, les produits de qualité élevée, de caractéristique de performance particulière, réponse rapide aux préférences esthétiques du client, reconstitution rapide des stocks, et si elles sont lourdes ou inefficaces pour le transport, comme c'est le cas pour les tapis et les oreillers sont encore fabriqué au Canada. Les tissus ont de nombreuses utilisations, mais en plus de ceux que l'on pense habituellement, tels que les fibres de carbone tissées utilisées dans les structures composites, les tissus géosynthétiques enrobés non poreux utilisés pour la mise en ligne des étangs à résidus, les tissus para-aramides (par exemple Kevlar) et matelas antibactériens et couvre-oreillers dans les établissements de soins de santé, sangles pour ceintures de sécurité ou élingues et fibre de verre utilisés pour fabriquer une gamme de produits moulés, y compris les coques de bateaux, baignoires, spas et pièces automobiles. Les entreprises textiles du Canada fabriquent pour une grande variété d'applications techniques et de niche et font partie intégrante des chaînes d'approvisionnement des nombreuses industries importantes au Canada.

Au Canada, le textile technique évolue dans un environnement commercial soutenu par la recherche universitaire et de solides connaissances industrielles, ce qui est propice à une plus grande croissance de ce secteur. Les progrès de l'industrie textile mondiale ont conduit les textiles à concurrencer de plus en plus d'autres matériaux comme les métaux, le bois et les plastiques pour des applications traditionnellement détenues par ces autres matériaux. Les composites en sont un excellent exemple. En outre, les nouveaux textiles, tels que les textiles «indéterminés» ou ceux qui conduisent l'électricité, sont de plus en plus considérés dans les applications qui les rendent commercialisables.

Associations

Date de modification :