Industry Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Technology Roadmaps

Archived - Canadian Digital Media Content Creation TRM (Phase 1) — Executive Summary

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Prepared by the Centre for Public Management Inc. For the Cultural Human Resources Council

January 2009

The opinions and interpretations in this publication are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of the Government of Canada.

This project is funded by the Government of Canada's Sector Council Program and Industry Canada.


In a dynamic environment of global competition, demographic change, and migration, Canada's culture sector plays a critical role in attracting people, businesses, and investment; stimulating creativity and innovation; and distinguishing Canada as an exciting place where people can celebrate their heritage and achieve personal and professional fulfillment. Use of the Internet, digital technologies, and mobile devices has grown exponentially over the past decade, serving as a major driver for growth within the sector, and also influencing consumer dynamics and business models.

Valuing Arts and Culture as Cornerstones of the Creative Economy 
Conference Board of Canada, August 2008 

In this period of economic sea change, it makes sense to invest in future infrastructure (e.g., symmetrical broadband) and the new skills needed to compete in an increasingly digital economy. This document provides a roadmap for industry and public commitments by governments at all levels to spending on infrastructure and training to help stimulate the economy through investment in the promise and potential of Canada's digital media industry.

Executive Summary

This document presents the results from Phase 1 of a Technology Roadmap (TRM) process for Digital Media Content Creation (DMCC) in Canada. The objectives of Phase 1 of the DMCC TRM were to identify a set of high priority technology projects that would assist Canadian Digital Media content creators in meeting future market demands; and to identify related skills development issues and how they could be addressed.

The following summarizes the technology projects and skills development projects identified in Phase 1 of the TRM.

top of page

Technology Projects

Infrastructure

  1. Open, fast, and affordable networks/access with Quality of Service

    The industry requires a faster network in order to effectively collaborate among content creators and deliver content to users as it is intended to be presented. Ideally the network will operate at 100 GB. This will require a change in policy among the telecommunications networks that currently run the networks and a major investment in the networks' infrastructure (i.e. upgraded switches). Furthermore, the new networks need to have reliable Quality of Service algorithms to ensure that users are experiencing the content as the content creator intended it to be experienced. The policies that would oversee this new network could be modeled after other International Standards.
  2. Tools for compression to optimize bandwidth use

    New tools are required to compress large amounts of content, particularly for video, in order to deliver this content to users in an efficient manner. The lack of fiber optic infrastructure necessitates enhanced compression tools. These tools will help optimize the bandwidth available in non-fiber optic networks to deliver content to end-users. These new tools must be reliable and fast in order to ensure high Quality of Service at the user's end. More specifically, the tools would have to consist of compression software and decompression software. The compression software is used at the upload side and the decompression software would have to be delivered and pre-installed on the end-user's devices. Another alternative would be to develop an open source initiative, instead of a proprietary software, that would define new video codec and software. The advantage of this latter approach would be a higher and faster rate of adoption and it would position Canadians as lead players and partners in this field. The business model would then be to sell services and expertise for implementation, adapted hardware or business and research partnerships.

Collaborative Environment Technologies

  1. Collaborative creation network environments and tools

    Based on concepts modeled by Montreal's Society for Arts and Technology and the Interactive Canada proposal, create a pan-Canadian network of "digital urban hubs" that will become a supportive mesh for pioneering efforts in creative, investigative and instructive collaboration.

    These interconnected urban hubs will be open and evolving platforms, consisting of leading-edge software (mostly open source), digital technology and resources for the creation, diffusion and distribution of interactive digital cultural content in a "fast-forward microcosm" of the rapidly evolving global digital environment. They will be a springboard for Canadian entrepreneurs, artists, producers and researchers to develop new content and methods to compete in the world of the future.

    The urban hubs will function as "interfaces" between physical geographical space and networked virtual space. This interface will offer access to talent, knowledge, and the capability to create and distribute digital cultural content, through:

    • Large, multi-purpose performance spaces ("eSpaces"),
    • High quality, high speed IP connectivity,
    • Technological and logistic support for explorations, experiments and cultural events,
    • Access to a network of partnerships and collaborations with universities, colleges and research centres in Canada and the world.

    A secondary and closely related component of this project would involve developing a virtual learning environment for content creators to learn commercialization experientially and be mentored by successful practitioners. This can leverage technologies such as broadband telepresence, artificial intelligence, and serious games.

    Manifestations of this environment could be:

    • An immersive virtual trade show with simulations of sales and development negotiations,
    • Virtual commercialization "institutes" and conferences to bring creators together without travel,
    • Live multipoint broadcasts to celebrate achievements on National Digital Media Day.
    • This environment can be built incrementally.
  2. Mobile network and device technologies to distribute, create, and present content/services (Open Network)

    Uniform standards and a supporting engine are required so that content can be utilized across all platforms. This will help content creators reach a larger audience. Development of the standards will have to involve a collaborative process that includes major Digital Media industry members, platform developers, and others.

    A supporting engine is required that will be used to decipher and convert the standardized data for each platform configuration. The engine would likely have to reside on every platform to ensure the standards are fully supported. This will require support and buy-in from platform developers. This project expands on some of the successful work conducted by Mobile MUSE. Just as Mobile MUSE has created an open mobile platform for developers to use as a test bed for emerging mobile applications, this project will expand that work to multiple media.

  3. Digital Media Usability Research Network

    Access to state of the art usability testing facilities and research results in the Digital Media industry is currently limited to major multinational industrial players whose work is commercially driven. This project opens up access to both usability facilities and research results to the full range of potential Canadian stakeholders in Digital Media content creation. The project creates a pan-Canadian network to conduct research into Digital Media usability testing that is cross-disciplinary, cross-institutional and collaborative between academia and industry.

    The makeup of the network is designed to optimize available resources and expertise. The Digital Media Usability Research Network will involve four or five academic institutions across the country with research interests in such areas as video game design, computer science, neuroimaging, psychology, marketing, education and the like. Researchers will undertake major collaborative research efforts to tackle such questions as: How do various types of video games affect cognitive development? What is the most effective way to embed marketing messages in a digital media experience? How can interactive media products be optimized to maximize user engagement? Such a network will also be able to provide services to individual companies seeking assistance to design, test, refine and validate individual products.

Commercialization Technologies

  1. Centralized interoperable mechanism for micro-transactions

    Micro-transactions on multiple platforms, be it online games, mobile applications or just-in-time training products, are a massively growing revenue stream for interactive media products and services. Micro-transactions are digital products, services and assets that can be purchased by the user for a very minimal cost, usually under a dollar. This type of sale through digital media products, applications and services is often amounting to millions of dollars a month of potential revenue. Facilitating these micro-transactions is cumbersome and costly. While the consumer demand for micro-transaction based purchases grows at a significant rate, companies, especially young and emerging applications, struggle to capture the associated revenue. A uniform, open system that enables micro-transaction capturing across multiple platforms will not only address this significant challenge, but position Canada as a true leader in solving a universal payment processing problem.

    This project proposes the development of an open, multi-platform payment processing system that will enable content creators to sell creations, add-ons, and upgrades directly to users.

    Secure server technology and standards related to currency and data transmission and handling will have to be developed. This will require a collaborative standards development process that should include major Digital Media industry members and financial services companies.

Skills Development Projects

Table 1: Skills Development Projects
Technology Projects Skills Development Projects
Open, fast, and affordable physical and mobile networks/access with Quality of Service CHRC will need to track employers' labour needs and content creators' training needs in relation to the introduction of the new networks. CHRC will work with employers to address labour shortages through, for example, recruitment initiatives; and with workers to address skills shortages through, for example, development of training material.
Tools for compression to optimize bandwidth use Once the project is in beta testing, the CHRC will work closely with the development team to help develop training materials on the new tools; and support training to content creators on the new tool.
Collaborative creation network environments and tools

CHRC should develop training materials related to commercialization. This could include material on developing a business plan, go-to-market strategies, and business "pitch" strategies. CHRC will also work with the development team to determine the most effective delivery mechanisms to deliver the commercialization training materials. The delivery mechanism could impact how the material should be constructed and presented.

Once the project is in beta testing, the CHRC will work more closely with the development team to help develop training materials on the new tools.

The training materials should be reviewed and tested by content creators to gain feedback on their usefulness. Changes should be made as needed.

CHRC should enable the provision of training to content creators on the new tools and continuously research and update the training materials related to commercialization.

Mobile network and device technologies to distribute, create, and present content/services (open network) The development of new standards will be required for this project. This could also lead to the development of new applications to create and present content on mobile devices. The CHRC will have to stay up to date on the progress of these standards (and any new applications) and it will actively communicate this progress to content creators. More specifically, the CHRC could communicate to content creators how these standards impact them and what opportunities they may present.
Centralized interoperable mechanisms for microtransactions CHRC will also develop training tools in commercialization for Digital Media content creators and producers to learn how to commercialize their goods and services; and on how to utilize the micro-transaction mechanism.
top of page

Other HR initiatives

  • Incentives for hiring newly graduated post-secondary students from Digital Media related courses of study, to offset some of the costs involved in training and mentoring new graduates who lack job-experience.
  • Support for internships to provide on-the-job training for emerging Digital Media content creators from education to the workplace.
  • Funding to encourage enrollment in retraining programs to help transition individuals from previous work to a career in Digital Media content creation.
  • Programming to attract internationally renowned researchers and academics in Digital Media to conduct their research in Canada.
  • Strategies for retaining Canadian-trained Digital Media workers, that are not now included under the NAFTA Professionals Category system of labour mobility. This category grants qualified applicants a one-year work term in NAFTA nations.
  • Facilitating access to foreign workers in Digital Media content creation, and easing the mechanisms for hiring them.
  • Matchmaking-mentoring programs to support collaboration between companies of different scales with varied capacities to enable intensified collaboration as well as mentoring.
top of page

A National Digital Media Strategy

Parallel to the technology projects identified above, an overarching strategic framework needs to be developed to guide the policies, program development and regulations that affect Digital Media to ensure that they are coordinated and complementary to enable maximum growth of the industry. A National Digital Media Strategy should be adopted to this end.

top of page

Next Steps

The steps to launch Phase 2 of the TRM are to:

  • Establish an Implementation Committee with a clear communications strategy to approach and enlist collaborators. This should be led jointly by CHRC and CIAIC; operating funding for the Implementation Committee should come from HRSDC and Industry Canada.
  • Prioritize the projects identified in the DMCC TRM as short term, medium term and long term.
  • Define the objectives, expectations, funding, workplan, and milestones for the short term projects. Each project will have its own "project management" node that will encourage momentum, collaboration, information sharing and accountability.

Industrie Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Cartes technologiques

Archivée - Création canadienne de contenu pour médias numériques CRT (phase 1) — Sommaire

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

Préparé par le Centre de gestion publique inc. Pour le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel

janvier 2009

Les opinions et les interprétations figurant dans la présente publication sont celles de l'auteur et ne représentent pas nécessairement celles du gouvernement du Canada.

Ce projet est finance par le gouvernement du Canada par l'entremise du Programme des conseils sectoriels et par Industrie Canada.


À même le climat socio-économique mondial actuel, où règne un contexte dynamique de concurrence, de changements démographiques et de migrations, le Canada joue un rôle essentiel en attirant les membres de la population, les entreprises et les investissements et en stimulant la créativité et l'innovation. Il doit aussi faire en sorte que le Canada se démarque sur la scène internationale comme un endroit où chacun peut célébrer son héritage et s'épanouir personnellement et professionnellement. Au cours de la dernière décennie, le recours à l'Internet, aux technologies numériques et aux appareils mobiles a connu une croissance exponentielle. Ainsi, ces technologies ont servi de véritables moteurs de croissance au sein du secteur influençant aussi la dynamique des consommateurs et les modèles d'entreprise. [traduction]

« Valuing Arts and Culture as Cornerstones of the Creative Economy » Conference Board du Canada, août 2008

Au rythme des changements économiques actuels, il est judicieux d'investir dans les infrastructures futures (par exemple : les lignes numériques à débit symétrique) et dans les nouvelles compétences nécessaires pour les maintenir afin de pouvoir compétitionner dans un monde où l'économie numérique croît constamment. Ce document présente une carte routière pour les engagements pris par l'industrie et tous les niveaux de gouvernement, à l'égard des dépenses d'infrastructure et de formation, en vue de stimuler l'économie par des investissements dans les ressources de l'industrie des médias numériques.

Sommaire

Ce document présente les résultats de la phase 1 de la Carte routière technologique (CRT) de création de contenu pour médias numériques au Canada (CCMN). La phase 1 de la CRT de la CCMN avait pour objectif de déterminer l'ensemble des projets technologiques hautement prioritaires permettant aux créateurs canadiens de contenu pour médias numériques de répondre aux attentes futures du marché ainsi que d'identifier les enjeux en terme de développement des compétences et les moyens d'y faire face.

Le suivant expose les projets technologiques et les projets de développement des compétences identifiés à la phase 1 de la CRT.

haut de la page

Les projets technologiques

Développement technologique au niveau de la plateforme

  1. Réseaux/accès ouverts, rapides et abordables avec service de qualité

    L'industrie a besoin de se doter d'un réseau plus rapide pour une collaboration efficace entre créateurs de contenu afin de pouvoir livrer ce contenu aux utilisateurs présenté tel que prévu. Idéalement le réseau devrait être de 100 GB. Ceci exigerait un changement de politique entre les réseaux de télécommunication qui règnent actuellement sur l'ensemble des réseaux et un investissement majeur dans l'infrastructure de ces réseaux (par exemple, mise à niveau des commutateurs de réseaux). Par ailleurs, les nouveaux réseaux nécessitent des algorithmes de qualité de service fiables afin de s'assurer que les utilisateurs font l'expérience du contenu tel que le créateur l'avait envisagé. Les politiques qui régiraient ce nouveau réseau pourraient s'inspirer des autres normes internationales existantes.

  2. Des outils de compression pour optimiser l'utilisation de la bande passante

    De nouveaux outils sont requis pour assurer la compression de grandes quantités de contenu, et particulièrement pour la vidéo, afin de fournir ce contenu aux utilisateurs de manière efficace. Le manque d'infrastructures en fibres optiques doit être compensé par un renforcement des outils de compression. Ces outils serviront à optimiser la bande passante disponible dans les réseaux qui ne sont pas à fibres optiques afin de pouvoir livrer du contenu aux utilisateurs finaux. Ces nouveaux outils doivent être fiables et rapides dans le but d'assurer un service de qualité à l'utilisateur en bout de chaîne. Plus précisément, les outils consisteraient en logiciels de compression et de décompression. Le logiciel de compression pour télécharger et celui de décompression qui devra être fourni et pré-installé sur le dispositif de l'utilisateur final. Une autre alternative serait d'instaurer une initiative « ouverte » (à code ouvert) à la place d'un logiciel propriétaire, qui définirait ainsi les nouveaux codecs vidéos et logiciels. L'avantage de cette dernière approche serait un taux d'adoption élevé et rapide et cela positionnerait les canadiens comme acteurs et partenaires de poids dans le domaine. Le modèle d'affaires serait alors de vendre les services et l'expertise d'implémentation, du matériel adapté et des partenariats d'affaires ou de recherche.

Technologies d'environnements collaboratifs

  1. Outils et environnements du réseau de création participative

    Basés sur les concepts inspirés par la Société des arts technologiques de Montréal, il s'agirait de créer un réseau pancanadien de « plaques tournantes numériques urbaines » qui deviendront les fils conducteur « support » à une collaboration en recherche, créative et instructive.

    Ces stations urbaines « pivot » interconnectées seront des plateformes ouvertes et évolutives, composées des derniers logiciels de pointe (majoritairement au code source ouvert), de technologies numériques et de ressources pour la création, diffusion et distribution de contenu culturel numérique et interactif dans le « microcosme à avance rapide » de l'environnement numérique mondial à évolution rapide. Ces plateformes seront un tremplin pour les entrepreneurs canadiens, les artistes, les producteurs et chercheurs dans le développement de nouveau contenu et de nouvelles méthodes compétitives, dans le monde de demain.

    Ces plaques tournantes urbaines fonctionneront comme des « interfaces » entre un monde géographiquement concret et un espace en réseau virtuel. Cette interface offrira l'accès au talent, à la connaissance et à la capacité de créer et de distribuer un contenu culturel numérique, à travers :

    • De larges espaces, multi-performances (les « eSpaces »),
    • Une connectivité IP haute vitesse et de haute qualité,
    • Un soutien logistique et technologique pour la prospection, l'expérimentation et les évènements à caractère culturel,
    • L'accès à un réseau de partenariats et de collaboration avec les universités, collèges et centres de recherche au Canada et dans le monde.

    Une composante secondaire et concernant de près ce projet impliquerait le développement d'un environnement d'apprentissage virtuel pour les créateurs de contenu leur enseignant l'expérience de la commercialisation, encadrés par des experts émérites. Ceci peut faire effet de levier sur des technologies comme la téléprésence à large bande, l'intelligence artificielle, et les jeux dits « sérieux ».

    Cet environnement pourrait comporter :

    • Un salon virtuel immersif avec simulations de ventes et négociations de développement,
    • La commercialisation virtuelle de conférences et « d'instituts », réunissant les créateurs sans pour autant avoir à se déplacer, voyager,
    • Systèmes de diffusion multipoints radiotélévisés, célébrant l'ensemble des réalisations lors de la Journée nationale des médias numériques.
    • Cet environnement prendra forme progressivement et non d'un seul coup.
  2. Technologies de dispositifs et réseaux mobiles pour distribuer, créer et présenter du contenu, des services (Réseaux ouverts)

    Des standards uniformes et un module en support seront nécessaires pour permettre l'utilisation du contenu sur toutes les plateformes. Cela aidera considérablement les créateurs à atteindre une plus large audience. Le développement des standards devra impliquer une démarche participative de la part des principaux membres de l'industrie des médias numériques, des développeurs de plateformes et les autres.

    Le module requis servira à déchiffrer et convertir les données standardisées pour chaque configuration de plateforme. Ce module devra probablement se retrouver sur toutes les plateformes afin de s'assurer que les standards soient entièrement supportés. Cela demandera à ce que les développeurs de plateformes y adhèrent et le soutiennent. Ce projet amplifiera certaines réalisations réussies par Mobile MUSE. Et tout comme Mobile MUSE a créé pour les développeurs, une plateforme mobile « ouverte » comme banc d'essai pour les applications mobiles émergentes, ce projet étendra ce principe à de multiples plateformes.

  3. Réseau de recherche sur les fonctionnalités des médias numériques

    L'accès, aux installations d'essais de fonctionnalités les plus avancées et aux résultats de recherche de l'industrie des médias numériques, est actuellement réservé aux principaux acteurs de certaines multinationales dont l'objectif est avant tout la commercialisation de leur travail. Ce projet permettra l'accès, à la fois aux bancs d'essais de fonctionnalités et également aux résultats de recherche, à toutes les parties prenantes canadiennes potentielles oeuvrant sur la création de contenu pour médias numériques. Ce projet instaure un réseau pancanadien pour mener des recherches sur les fonctionnalités pour médias numériques, et sera un réseau pluridisciplinaire, interinstitutionnel et collaboratif entre le milieu universitaire et industriel.

    Le profil de ce réseau de travail est conçu pour optimiser les ressources disponibles et l'expertise présente. Le réseau de recherche sur les fonctionnalités pour médias numériques impliquera la participation de quatre ou cinq institutions universitaires du pays dont les centres d'intérêts concerneront des matières telles que le design des jeux vidéo, l'informatique, la neuro-imagerie, la psychologie, le marketing, l'éducation, etc. Les chercheurs s'efforceront en commune collaboration de s'attaquer à des questions du genre : De quelle façon les différents types de jeux vidéo affectent le développement cognitif? Quelle est la manière la plus efficace d'intégrer des messages marketing à une expérience de médias numériques? Comment pourrait-on optimiser les produits interactifs pour maximiser la participation des utilisateurs? Un tel réseau pourra également servir aux sociétés individuelles, les aidant à concevoir, tester, améliorer et enfin valider leurs produits.

Technologies de commercialisation

  1. Un mécanisme centralisé d'interopérabilité pour micro-transactions

    Les micro-transactions sur différentes plateformes, que ce soit les jeux en ligne, les applications mobiles ou des produits de formation « just in time » (juste ce qu'il faut au bon moment), sont une source de revenus importante à forte croissance pour les produits et services en médias interactifs. Les micro-transactions sont des produits numériques, services et actifs, pouvant être achetés par le consommateur à un coût minime, bien souvent à moins d'un dollar. Ce type de vente à travers des produits numériques, applications ou services, affiche souvent des millions de dollars par mois comme revenu potentiel. Mais faciliter ces micro-transactions reste lourd et coûteux. Pendant que la demande du consommateur pour des achats basés sur ces micro-transactions augmente de manière significative, les entreprises elles, particulièrement les jeunes et celles axées sur les applications émergentes, luttent pour bénéficier du revenu normalement associé. Un système uniforme et « ouvert » permettant la reconnaissance des micro-transactions à travers de multiples plateformes ne se contentera pas seulement de répondre à cet important défi, mais placera le Canada en tête de la résolution du traitement de paiement, problème universel.

    Ce projet propose le développement d'un système de traitement des paiements, « ouvert » et multi-plateformes, qui permettra aux créateurs de contenu de vendre directement aux utilisateurs leurs réalisations, leurs addiciels et mises à jour.

    La technologie de cryptage des données et des standards concernant les devises, la transmission des données et l'acheminement de celles-ci, devra être développée. Ceci nécessitera un processus collaboratif en terme de développement des standards qui devrait inclure les membres principaux de l'industrie des médias numériques et les sociétés de services financiers.

Projets de développement des compétences

Tableau 1 : Projets de développement des compétences
Projets technologiques Projets en développement de compétences
Accès ouvert, rapide, réseaux mobiles et physiques, avec une haute qualité de service Le CRHSC devra déceler les besoins en mains d'oeuvre des recruteurs et les besoins en formation pour les créateurs de contenu pour l'implémentation des nouveaux réseaux. Le CRHSC travaillera de près avec les employeurs afin de combler la pénurie de main d'oeuvre en procédant, par exemple, à des initiatives de recrutement; et avec les professionnels afin de faire face au manque de compétences, en développant par exemple, le matériel de formation.
Outils de compression pour optimiser l'utilisation de la bande passante Une fois le projet en mode test bêta, le CRHSC collaborera de près avec l'équipe chargée du développement du matériel de formation sur les nouveaux outils; et soutiendra la formation pour les créateurs de contenu sur ces nouveaux outils.
Outils et environnements du réseau de création participative

Le CRHSC devra développer les documents de formation nécessaires à la commercialisation. Ceci pouvant inclure du matériel sur la façon de faire un plan d'affaires, les stratégies de mises en marché, et les stratégies gagnantes d'entreprises. Le CRHSC travaillera également avec l'équipe de développement afin de déterminer quels seraient les mécanismes les plus efficaces quant à la distribution du matériel de formation en commercialisation. Ces mécanismes peuvent avoir une incidence directe sur la façon dont le matériel devrait être élaboré et présenté.

Une fois le projet en mode test bêta, le CRHSC travaillera encore de plus près avec l'équipe chargée du développement du matériel de formation sur les nouveaux outils.

Ce matériel devra être revu et testé par les créateurs de contenu eux-mêmes afin de recevoir leurs avis sur sa pertinence. Les changements devront être apportés au besoin.

Le CRHSC devra pouvoir proposer la formation nécessaire, concernant les nouveaux outils, aux créateurs de contenu et continuer la recherche et les mises à jour régulières du matériel de formation concernant la commercialisation.

Réseau mobile et technologies de dispositifs pour distribuer, créer et présenter des contenus/services (réseau ouvert) Le développement de nouveaux standards sera requis pour ce projet. Ce qui pourra aussi mener au développement de nouvelles applications pour créer et présenter du contenu sur des dispositifs mobiles. Le CRHSC devra s'assurer de rester à jour sur l'évolution de ces standards (et sur n'importe quelle nouvelle application) et communiquera activement ces avancées aux créateurs de contenu. Plus particulièrement, le CRHSC pourra informer les créateurs de contenu sur la façon dont ces standards les impactent et quelles opportunités cela peut représenter pour eux.
Mécanismes centralisés d'interopérabilité pour micro-transactions Le CRHSC développera aussi des outils de formation en commercialisation à destination des producteurs et créateurs de contenu pour medias numériques dans le but d'apprendre à commercialiser leurs produits et services; et comment utiliser les mécanismes de micro-transactions.
haut de la page

Autres initiatives en ressources humaines

  • Mesures d'incitation pour recruter de récents diplômés des programmes postsecondaires en lien avec les médias numériques, compensant ainsi une partie des coûts engagés pour le recrutement de récents diplômés sans expérience en milieu de travail.
  • Appui aux stages fournissant une formation sur le terrain, des études au travail, pour les futurs créateurs de contenu pour médias numériques.
  • Financements pour encourager l'inscription à des programmes de reconversion professionnelle accompagnant les personnes concernées dans leur transition vers une carrière en création de contenu pour médias numériques.
  • Viser à inciter des chercheurs de renommée internationale et des universitaires en médias numériques pour mener leur recherche au Canada.
  • Stratégies pour conserver nos professionnels canadiens dans le domaine des médias numériques qui, malheureusement aujourd'hui, ne font pas partie du système des catégories professionnelles de mobilité de la main d'œuvre de l'ALENA, accordant la possibilité d'un permis de travail d'un an aux candidats qualifiés, dans un des pays membres.
  • Faciliter l'accès aux professionnels étrangers dans le domaine de la création de contenu pour médias numériques, et alléger les mécanismes de recrutement les concernant.
  • Programmes de jumelage/mentorat pour favoriser la collaboration entre les entreprises de différentes tailles et au potentiel divers afin de permettre l'intensification des collaborations ainsi que celle des mentorats.
haut de la page

Une stratégie nationale pour médias numériques

En parallèle des projets technologiques identifiés ci-dessus, il est nécessaire de développer un plan stratégique global pour guider et diriger les politiques et programmes de développement ainsi que les régulations qui affectent les médias numérique afin de s'assurer de leur coordination et complémentarité et permettre ainsi une croissance maximale de l'industrie. Une stratégie nationale des médias numériques devrait être adoptée à cette fin.

haut de la page

Prochaines étapes

Les étapes du lancement de la phase 2 de la Carte routière technologique sont :

  • Établir un comité de mise en application avec une stratégie de communication claire pour approcher et mobiliser les collaborateurs. Ceci devra être mené conjointement par le CRHSC et l'Alliance Interactive Canadienne (CIAIC); les fonds d'exploitation du comité de mise en oeuvre devraient provenir de la RHDSC et d'Industrie Canada.
  • Prioriser les projets identifiés par la CRT de la CCMN à court terme, moyen terme et long terme.
  • Définir les objectifs, les attentes, le financement, plan de travail, et les dates d'échéance pour les projets à court terme. Chaque projet aura sa propre cellule de « gestion de projet », ce qui encouragera la dynamique, la collaboration et le partage d'informations ainsi que la responsabilisation.