Computers for Schools (CFS) public statement

The Computers for Schools (CFS) Program maximizes the useful life of federal computer equipment, facilitating its refurbishment and donation to Canadian schools, libraries, Aboriginal communities and not‐for‐profit learning organizations. A strategic environmental assessment of the program proposal determined that the CFS Program is likely to have important positive environmental effects.

The CFS Program supports the following Federal Sustainable Development Strategy goal and target:

Goal 8: Greening Government Operations

8.6 Target: By March 31, 2014, each department will reuse or recycle all surplus electronic and electrical equipment (EEE) in an environmentally sound and secure manner.

As the first reuse option for government departments and agencies disposing of surplus electronic equipment, the CFS Program helps manage federal computer equipment in an environmentally sound and secure manner. The reuse of equipment positively affects the future generation of workers and students, giving certain groups access to computer technologies that they may not otherwise be exposed to. It also helps to minimize the environmental footprint of government operations.

In addition, the CFS Program has contributed significantly to the development of provincial recycling programs for electronic waste. Any computer equipment not used by the CFS Program is recycled through the appropriate recycling program.

By diverting electronic waste from landfills across Canada, the CFS Program helps advance the following Federal Sustainable Development Strategy goals:

  • reducing toxic dispersion, affecting air, water and nature;
  • enhancing material recyclability (reduced waste), affecting nature;
  • enhancing sustainable use of renewable resources, affecting nature; and
  • extending product durability, affecting nature.

Environmental sustainability remains an important part of the CFS Program. In refurbishing and extending the useful life of computers, this program is helping advance the goals of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy.

Date modified:

Programme des ordinateurs pour les écoles (OPE) — Déclaration publique

Le Programme des ordinateurs pour les écoles prolonge la vie utile du matériel informatique de l’administration fédérale. Le matériel est remis à neuf et donné à des écoles, des bibliothèques, des collectivités autochtones et des organismes d’apprentissage sans but lucratif. Une évaluation environnementale stratégique menée au titre du projet indique que ce programme aura sans doute d’importantes retombées environnementales positives.

Le Programme appuie l’objectif et la cible suivants de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable :

Objectif 8 : Écologisation des opérations gouvernementales

8.6 Cible : D’ici le 31 mars 2014, chaque ministère réutilisera ou recyclera tous les équipements électroniques et électriques excédentaires de façon écologique et sécuritaire.

Le Programme constitue l’option de premier recours pour la réutilisation du matériel électronique excédentaire dont se départissent les ministères et organismes. Il contribue donc à gérer le matériel informatique de l’administration fédérale de façon écologique et sécuritaire. La réutilisation du matériel est avantageuse pour les étudiants et les travailleurs de demain, puisqu’elle permet aux membres de certains groupes d’obtenir un accès à des technologies dont ils auraient été autrement privés. De plus, le Programme réduit l’empreinte écologique des activités gouvernementales.

Le Programme a aussi incité plusieurs provinces à se doter d’initiatives de recyclage de déchets électroniques. Tout matériel informatique qui n’est pas utilisé par le Programme est recyclé de manière appropriée.

Grâce au Programme, des déchets électroniques sont recyclés au lieu d’aboutir dans les décharges canadiennes, ce qui correspond aux objectifs suivants de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable :

  • Réduction de la dispersion de substances toxiques; incidences sur l’air, l’eau et la nature;
  • Amélioration du caractère recyclable (réduction des déchets); incidence sur la nature;
  • Hausse de l’utilisation durable des ressources renouvelables; incidence sur la nature;
  • Prolongation de la durabilité des produits; incidence sur la nature.

La pérennité de l’environnement est un objectif clé du Programme des ordinateurs pour les écoles. En remettant à neuf les ordinateurs pour en prolonger la vie utile, le Programme contribue à l’atteinte des objectifs de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable.

Date de modification :