Canada Corporations Act part II – Federally incorporated professional associations

There are generally three types of applications for incorporation of professional associations:

  1. those that make no claim to regulate a group of persons in any way;
  2. those that purport to regulate in a field that is already regulated provincially (for example, doctors, lawyers, accountants); and
  3. those that purport to regulate in a field that is as yet unregulated provincially.

It is the policy of Corporations Canada to accept, without qualification, applications for the incorporation of professional associations of all such types under Part II of the Canada Corporations Act. There will be no automatic requirement for an applicant of type 2 to file the consent of the existing provincial regulating body. This policy is based on the view that by incorporation, Corporations Canada merely creates a corporate shell that is subject to any and all provincial laws respecting professions. In this way, provincial jurisdiction is not infringed.

Please note, however, that no association of type 2 or 3 above should purport to give to itself the exclusive right to regulate a certain field of endeavour. Words to this effect should be deleted from the application.

Please note:

When incorporating a not-for-profit association whose proposed name or purposes suggest that it considers itself to be an association of professionals, examiners will incorporate the following clause into the Letters Patent cover page:

Note

The issuance of these Letters Patent does not constitute authority to practise or to regulate the practice of the profession referred to herein.

Date modified:

Partie II de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes – Association professionnelle constituée en corporations de régime fédéral

Les demandes de lettres patentes soumises par des associations professionnelles nationales sont de trois types :

  1. les associations qui ne prétendent d'aucune façon réglementer un groupe de personnes;
  2. les associations qui prétendent réglementer un champ d'activité déjà réglementé par une province (par exemple, des médecins, des avocats ou des comptables);
  3. les associations qui prétendent réglementer un champ d'activité qui n'est pas actuellement réglementé par une province.

Il est de la politique de Corporations Canada d'accepter les demandes de lettres patentes présentées par des associations professionnelles de ces trois catégories en vertu de la Partie II de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes. Les requérants de la catégorie 2 n'ont pas à joindre à leur demande la déclaration de consentement de l'organisme provincial qui le régit. Cette politique est fondée sur l'opinion selon laquelle, par la constitution en corporation, Corporations Canada ne fait que créer une « coquille » qui est assujettie à toutes les lois provinciales appropriées concernant les professions. Ainsi, il n'y a pas empiètement sur la compétence provinciale.

Il faut toutefois noter qu'aucune association des catégories 2 ou 3 ne peut s'arroger le droit exclusif de réglementer un champ d'activité. Les dispositions rédigées en ce sens doivent être supprimées de la demande.

Veuillez noter :

Lorsqu'est constituée en corporation une association à but non lucratif dont la dénomination ou les objets laissent supposer qu'elle se considère comme une association de professionnels, Corporations Canada ajoutera la disposition suivante à la page de présentation des lettres patentes :

Note

La délivrance des présentes lettres patentes ne confère le pouvoir ni d'exercer la pratique de la profession mentionnée dans les dites lettres, ni d'en réglementer la pratique.

Date de modification :