Language selection

Search

Patent and trademark agent annual maintenance deadline:

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Patent and trademark agents have until , to maintain their name on the register of patent agents and the list of trademark agents. These lists are maintained on an annual basis, as set out in subsection 23(1) of the Patent Rules and section 20 of the Trademarks Regulations respectively.

If you fail to meet the maintenance requirements by March 31, your name will be removed from the register of patent agents or from the list of trademark agents and you will need to pay the reinstatement and maintenance fees. If you are a trademark agent, you will also need to demonstrate that you have passed the qualifying examination.

Maintenance and the College of Patent Agents and Trademark Agents

On the coming-into-force date, the College of Patent Agents and Trademark Agents will assume responsibilities for agent maintenance. The list of individuals who are patent and trademark agents will be provided to the College, and the College will be responsible for maintaining the official registers of patent and trademark agents.

After the coming-into-force date, agents will need to submit fees to the College to remain on its register. The target coming-into-force date is in the spring of 2021.

Maintenance process for firms

Firms maintaining their registrations on the register of patent agents or list of trademark agents will need to fulfill the regulatory requirements of paragraph 23(1)(c) of the Patent Rules and paragraph 20(1)(c) of the Trademarks Regulations by March 31. The statement required by paragraph 23(1)(c) of the Patent Rules indicating each member of the firm entered on the register must be signed by a member of the firm whose own name is entered on the register. Generic signatures will not be accepted.

Maintenance process for patent agents

Patent agents are encouraged to maintain their registration on the register online using the general correspondence form.

For help in maintaining your name on the register, please review our instructions or contact the Client Service Centre.

Maintenance process for trademark agents

Trademark agents are encouraged to maintain their name on the list online using the trademark agent renewal application.

For help in maintaining your name on the list, please contact the Client Service Centre.

Media Relations
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
343-291-1777
ic.mediarelations-mediasrelations.ic@canada.ca

Follow:

Related links

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Date limite annuelle pour le maintien de l'inscription des agents de brevets et agents de marques de commerce :

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Les agents de brevets et agents de marques de commerce ont jusqu'au pour maintenir leur inscription dans le registre des agents de brevets et sur la liste des agents de marques de commerce. Ces listes sont tenues à jour annuellement, conformément au paragraphe 23(1) des Règles sur les brevets et à l'article 20 du Règlement sur les marques de commerce respectivement.

Si vous ne répondez pas aux exigences de maintien de l'inscription d'ici le 31 mars, votre nom sera supprimé du registre des agents de brevets ou de la liste des agents de marques de commerce. Dans ce cas, vous devrez payer les frais de réinscription et de maintien. Si vous êtes agent de marques de commerce, vous devrez également démontrer que vous avez réussi l'examen de compétence.

Maintien d'inscription et Collège des agents de brevets et des agents de marques de commerce

À la date prévue, le Collège des agents de brevets et des agents de marques de commerce commencera à assumer la responsabilité du maintien de l'inscription des agents. La liste des personnes qui sont des agents de brevets et des agents de marques de commerce sera fournie au Collège, et celui‑ci sera responsable de la tenue des registres officiels des agents de brevets et des agents de marques de commerce.

Après la date d'entrée en vigueur, les agents devront payer les frais requis au Collège pour maintenir leur inscription dans son registre. L'entrée en vigueur est prévue pour le printemps 2021.

Processus de maintien d'inscription pour les entreprises

Les entreprises qui maintiennent leur inscription dans le registre des agents de brevets ou sur la liste des agents de marques de commerce devront respecter toutes les exigences réglementaires énoncées à l'alinéa 23(1)c) des Règles sur les brevets et à l'alinéa 20(1)c) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce d'ici le 31 mars. La déclaration indiquant le nom de tous les membres de l'entreprise inscrits dans le registre, laquelle est exigée par l'alinéa 23(1)c) des Règles sur les brevets, doit être signée par un membre de l'entreprise dont le nom est inscrit dans le registre. Les signatures génériques ne seront pas acceptées.

Processus de maintien d'inscription pour les agents de brevets

On encourage les agents de brevets à demander leur maintien d'inscription en ligne au moyen du formulaire de correspondance générale.

Pour vous aider à demander le maintien de votre inscription, veuillez consulter nos instructions ou communiquer avec le Centre de services à la clientèle.

Processus de maintien d'inscription pour les agents de marques de commerce

On encourage les agents de marques de commerce à demander leur maintien d'inscription en ligne au moyen du formulaire de demande de renouvellement de l'adhésion pour les agents de marques de commerce.

Pour vous aider à demander le maintien de votre inscription, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre de services à la clientèle.

Relations avec les médias
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
343-291-1777
ic.mediarelations-mediasrelations.ic@canada.ca

Suivez :

Liens connexes

Date de modification :