Archived — Consultation on a New Fee and Licensing Regime for Cellular and Incumbent Personal Communications Services (PCS) Licensees

Appendix D

Sample PCS Auction Spectrum Licence (existing)

Account No. 07 - 0XXX000

Spectrum Licence
Issued under the authority of the Minister of Industry in accordance with the Radiocommunication Act and Regulations made thereunder

Appendix

The following conditions of licence apply to licensees for radio frequency spectrum licensed through the auction of additional PCS spectrum in the 2 GHz frequency range. Please note that under paragraph 5(1)(b) of the Radiocommunication Act the Minister of Industry may amend the terms and conditions of a spectrum licence. Any proposed amendment would be on an exceptional basis, and only following a full consultation.

  1. Licence Term

    The term of this licence will be ten years from the date of licence issuance. At the end of this term and any subsequent terms, the licensee will have a high expectation of renewal for a further ten-year term unless a breach of licence condition has occurred, a fundamental reallocation of spectrum to a new service is required, or an overriding policy need arises.

    A public consultation regarding the renewal of the licence will commence no later than two years prior to the end of the licence term if the Department foresees the possibility that it will not renew this licence or if renewal fees are contemplated.

    It should be noted that the licence is subject to relevant provisions in the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations. For example, the Minister continues to have the power to amend the terms and conditions of the spectrum licence (paragraph 5(1)(b) of the Radiocommunication Act). Such powers would be exercised on an exceptional basis, and only after full consultation.

  2. Licence Transferability and Divisibility

    The licensee may transfer its licence(s) in whole or in part (divisibility), in both the bandwidth and geographic dimensions. The area transferred in the geographic dimension may be no smaller than a single spectrum grid cell. A spectrum grid cell is a six-sided figure with an area of 25 square kilometres. The grid cells fit together in an interlocking pattern over the geography of Canada. No minimum limit will be imposed on the amount of spectrum transferred in the bandwidth dimension.

    For each proposed transfer of this licence, the licensee must provide a written notification to the Department. The transferee(s) must also provide an attestation (or other appropriate documentation) that it meets the eligibility criteria and all other conditions of this licence. The Minister of Industry reserves the right, prior to transferring the licences, to request additional documentation to determine if the transferee(s) complies with the appropriate eligibility requirements. The transferee(s) must also provide an attestation (or other appropriate documentation) that it will meet the appropriate conditions of licence.

    For the purposes of this condition, the "transfer" of a licence includes any leasing, subleasing or other disposition of the rights and obligations of the licence.

  3. Spectrum Aggregation Limit

    The licensee must comply with the spectrum aggregation limits outlined in Radio Systems Policy 021 (RP-021), Revision to the PCS Spectrum Cap and Timing for Licensing Additional PCS Spectrum, published November 5, 1999. The spectrum aggregation limit within a service area consists of spectrum licensed to the licensee and to its affiliates. The licensee must notify the Minister of any change that would have a material effect on its compliance with these spectrum aggregation limits. Such notification must be made in advance for any proposed transactions within its knowledge.

  4. Eligibility Criteria

    The licensee will employ the radio frequencies that are the subject of this licence as a radiocommunication carrier in order to operate one or more interconnected radio-based transmission facilities (any radio apparatus that is used for the transmission or reception of intelligence to or from anywhere on a public-switched network) that may be used by the licensee or another person to provide radiocommunication services for compensation.

    The licensee acting as a radiocommunication carrier must comply on an ongoing basis with the eligibility criteria in subsection 10(2) of the Radiocommunication Regulations. The licensee must notify the Minister of Industry of any change that would have a material effect on its eligibility. Such notification must be made in advance for any proposed transactions within its knowledge. For more information, refer to Client Procedures Circular 2-0-15 CPC-2-0-15), Canadian Ownership and Control, as amended from time to time.

  5. Displacement of Incumbent Microwave Licensee

    The licensee must comply with the revised transition policy outlined in Appendix 2 of the Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of Additional PCS Spectrum in the 2 GHz Frequency Range

    issued June 28, 2000, and relocation procedure for the relocation of incumbent microwave stations outlined in Client Procedures Circular 2-1-09 (CPC-2-1-09), Displacement of Fixed Service Stations Operating in the 2 GHz Frequency Range to Accommodate Licensed Personal Communications Services (PCS).

  6. Radio Station Installations

    For each radio station, the licensee must ensure that:

    • radio stations are installed and operated in a manner that complies with Health Canada's limits of human exposure to radiofrequency electromagnetic fields;
    • where applicable, antenna structures are marked in accordance with the recommendations of Transport Canada;
    • prior to installation of significant antenna structures, consultation with the appropriate land use authorities has taken place;
    • installation of any significant antenna structure must be delayed for a period of time sufficient for departmental review where, after considering reasonable alternatives and consultation options, land-use consultation negotiations remain at an impasse; and
    • radio installations are installed and operate in a manner that complies with technical boundary and out-of-band emission conditions as specified by the Department.

    Refer to the document Environmental Process, Radiofrequency Fields and Land-Use Consultation (CPC-2-0-03), as amended from time to time.

  7. Provision of Technical Information

    When the Department requests technical information on a particular station or on a network, the information must be provided by the licensee to the Department according to the definitions and criteria specified by the Department. Refer to Client Procedures Circular 2-1-10 (CPC-2-1-10), Licensing of Personal Communications Services (PCS) in the 2 GHz Band.

  8. Laws, Regulations, and Other Obligations

    The licensee is subject to, and must comply with, the Radiocommunication Act, the

    Radiocommunication Regulations and the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Radio Regulations and Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations pertaining to its licensed radio frequency bands. The licence(s) is(are) issued on condition that the certifications made in the application materials are all true and complete in every respect.

  9. Technical Considerations

    The licensee must comply with the technical requirements set forth in Standard Radio System Plan 510 (Plan SRSP-510), Technical Requirements for Personal Communications Services in the Bands 1850-1910 MHz and 1930-1990 MHz, and must deploy equipment certified under Radio Standards Specification 133 (RSS-133), GHz Personal Communications Services. SRSP-510 provides information on channelling plans, out-of-block emission limits, permissible effective isotropic radiated power (EIRPs) and antenna heights. RSS-133 sets out standards for transmitters and receivers for PCS in the 2 GHz band.

  10. International and Domestic Coordination

    The licensee must comply with the requirements of cross-border sharing and coordination arrangements established between Canada and the United States, as amended from time to time. While frequency assignments are not subject to site by site licensing, licensees may be required to furnish all necessary technical data to Industry Canada for each relevant site in order for international coordination to be effected with the United States as per the terms of any existing or future sharing arrangement. Should international coordination be required, Industry Canada will identify the appropriate data elements, format and means of submission.

    Coordination between licensees within Canada will follow similar procedures as those for international coordination.

  11. Lawful Interception

    Licensees using the spectrum for circuit-switched voice telephony systems must, from the inception of service, provide for and maintain lawful interception capabilities as authorized by law:

    • The requirements for lawful interception capabilities are provided in the Solicitor General's Enforcement Standards for Lawful Interception of Telecommunications (Rev. Nov. 95). These standards may be amended from time to time, following consultation with the Solicitor General of Canada and the licensees.
    • Licensees may request the Minister to forbear from enforcing certain assistance capability requirements for a limited period. The Minister, following consultation with the Solicitor General of Canada, may exercise his power to forbear from enforcing a requirement or requirements where, in the opinion of the Minister, the requirement(s) is (are) not reasonably achievable. Request for forbearance must include specific details and dates when compliance to requirement(s) can be expected.
  12. Research and Development

    The licensee must invest, as a minimum, 2 percent of its adjusted gross revenues resulting from its operations in this spectrum, over the term of the licence, in eligible research and development activities related to telecommunications. Eligible research and development activities are those that meet the definition of scientific research and experimental development adopted in the Income Tax Act. Adjusted gross revenues are defined as total service revenues, less inter-carrier payments, bad debts, third-party commissions, and provincial and goods and services taxes collected.

    If the licence is transferred to any eligible entity prior to the expiration of its term, the condition of licence relating to investment in research and development will continue to apply on the initial transfer of the licence and on any subsequent transfer until the term of this licence expires. Prior to a transfer, in whole or in part, of this licence, the proposed transferee must undertake to ensure that the sum of the investment it will make in eligible research and development activities and all investments made by prior licensees in eligible research and development activities equal, as a minimum, 2 percent of the aggregated adjusted gross revenues resulting from all operations in this spectrum, over the term of the licence. An attestation signed by the proposed transferee setting out the undertaking must accompany the licence transfer notification to be submitted to the Department by the licensee prior to the transfer being effected.

    To facilitate compliance with this condition of licence, the licensee should consult the Department's Guidelines for Compliance with the Radio Authorization Condition of Licence Relating to Research and Development. Further details on the exact administrative procedures for transferring a spectrum licence will be provided in a forthcoming Client Procedures Circular.

  13. PCS Resale

    Licensees must offer PCS resale throughout their service area to other PCS licensees on a non-discriminatory basis.

  14. Implementation of Spectrum Usage

    Within five years of the auction's close, the licensee must demonstrate to the Department that the spectrum has been put into use. The establishment of coverage to 50% of the population within the licensed service area, or some other indicator of usage that is acceptable to the Department, will be required. Supporting documentation should be submitted to the Manager, Wireless Networks Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch at the address provided below.

  15. Annual Reporting

    The licensee must submit an annual report for each year of the term of the licence indicating

    continued compliance with all licence conditions, including:

    • audited financial statements as required under the licensee's jurisdiction of incorporation, including an audited Statement of Research and Development Expenditures with an accompanying Auditor's Report, prepared in accordance with the same standards of reporting; (to facilitate compliance with this reporting requirement, the licensee should consult the Guidelines for Compliance with the Radio Authorization Condition of Licence Relating to Research and Development published by Industry Canada);
    • a copy of any existing corporate annual report for the licensee's fiscal year with respect to the authorization.
    • an update on the implementation and spectrum usage within the area covered by the licence.

    The reports are to be submitted, in writing, within 120 days of the licensee's fiscal year-end, to:

    Manager, Wireless Networks
    Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
    300 Slater Street, 15th Floor
    Ottawa, Ontario
    K1A 0C8

    Confidential information provided in the reports will be treated in accordance with subsection 20(1) of the Access to Information Act and to the Privacy Act.

Date modified:

Archivé — Consultation sur un nouveau régime de droits et de délivrance de licences applicable aux titulaires de licence de systèmes cellulaires et du service de communications personnelles (SCP) en place

Annexe D

Exemple de licence de spectre SCP délivrée suite à des enchères (actuelle)

Compte No 007 - 0XX000

Licence de spectre
Délivrée par le ministre de l'Industrie conformément à la Loi sur la radiocommunication et aux règlements pris en application de la Loi sur la radiocommunication

Annexe

Les conditions de licence applicables aux licences de spectre délivrées suite aux enchères de fréquences supplémentaires de la gamme de 2 GHz sont exposées ci-dessous. Il faut noter que, en vertu de l'alinéa 5(1)b) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, le ministre de l'Industrie peut modifier les conditions d'une licence de spectre. Toute modification projetée serait exceptionnelle, et elle ne serait mise en oeuvre qu'après une consultation complète.

  1. Période de validité des licences

    La période de validité de la présente licence sera de dix ans à compter de la date de sa délivrance. À la fin de cette période, et de toute période subséquente, le titulaire pourra compter sur des probabilités élevées de renouvellement pour une autre période de dix ans, sauf s'il y a un non respect d'une condition de licence, une modification importante de l'attribution des fréquences à un nouveau service ou un besoin politique prioritaire.

    Un processus de consultation publique débutera au plus tard deux ans avant la fin de la période de la licence si le Ministère entrevoit la possibilité du non renouvellement de la licence ou s'il envisage l'imposition de droits de renouvellement de licence.

    Il faut noter que la licence est visée par les dispositions pertinentes de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et du Règlement sur la radiocommunication. Par exemple, le Ministère détiendra toujours le pouvoir de modifier les conditions des licences de spectre (alinéa 5(1)b) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication). Il ne devra toutefois exercer ses pouvoirs qu'à titre exceptionnel, et seulement après une consultation complète.

  2. Transférabilité et divisibilité des licences

    Le titulaire peut transférer sa ou ses licences, en tout ou en partie (divisibilité), tant dans le domaine fréquentiel (largeur de bande) que dans le domaine géographique. La plus petite zone géographique transférable correspond à une cellule de la grille spectrale. Une cellule de grille spectrale est un hexagone ayant une superficie de 25 kilomètres carrés. Les cellules s'insèrent les unes aux autres de manière à couvrir toute la superficie du Canada. Aucune limite minimale ne s'appliquera aux transferts dans le domaine de la largeur de bande.

    Pour chaque transfert proposé de la licence, le titulaire doit fournir un avis écrit au Ministère. Le ou les destinataires du transfert doivent également fournir une attestation (ou d'autres documents appropriés) à l'effet qu'ils satisfont à tous les critères d'admissibilité et à toutes les autres conditions de licence. Le ministre de l'Industrie se réserve le droit, avant d'approuver le transfert de la licence, de demander des renseignements supplémentaires pour vérifier que le ou les destinataires satisfont aux exigences d'admissibilité pertinentes. Le ou les destinataires doivent également fournir une attestation (ou un autre document approprié) à l'effet qu'ils respecteront les conditions de licence pertinentes.

    Aux fins de la présente condition, le « transfert » d'une licence comprend sa location, sa sous-location ou toute autre disposition des droits et obligations associés à la licence.

  3. Limite de regroupement de fréquences

    Le titulaire de licence doit respecter les limites de regroupement de fréquences fixées dans la Politique des systèmes radio 021 (PR-021), intitulée Révision du plafond de fréquences SCP et calendrier de délivrance de licences à l'égard de fréquences SCP supplémentaires, publiée le 5 novembre 1999. La limite de regroupement de fréquences dans une zone de service s'applique à l'ensemble des fréquences attribuées au titulaire d'une licence et à ses affiliés. Le titulaire de licence doit aviser le Ministère de tout changement qui aura une incidence matérielle sur le respect de ces limites de regroupement de fréquences. Un tel avis doit être communiqué avant toute transaction projetée connue du titulaire.

  4. Critères d'admissibilité

    Le titulaire de licence utilisera les fréquences radio visées par la licence à titre de transporteur de radiocommunications dans le but d'exploiter une ou plusieurs installations de transmission radio interconnectées (tout appareil radio utilisé pour l'émission ou la réception de signaux à destination ou en provenance d'un réseau public commuté) pouvant être utilisées par le titulaire ou par un tiers pour la prestation de services de radiocommunications moyennant contrepartie.

    Le titulaire qui agit à titre de transporteur de radiocommunications doit se conformer en permanence aux critères d'admissibilité énoncés à l'article 10(2) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication. Le titulaire de licence doit aviser le ministre de l'Industrie de tout changement qui aurait une incidence matérielle sur son admissibilité. Un tel avis doit être communiqué avant toute transaction projetée connue du titulaire. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur cette question, consulter la version en vigueur de la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients 2-0-15 (CPC-2-0-15), intitulée Propriété et contrôle canadiens.

  5. Déplacement des titulaires de licence de station micro-ondes

    Le titulaire doit se conformer à la politique de transition révisée, décrite à l'annexe 2 du document intitulé Politique et procédures pour la mise aux enchères de fréquences SCP supplémentaires dans la gamme de fréquences de 2 GHz, publié le 28 juin 2000, et à la procédure de déplacement des stations exploitées dans la bande des micro-ondes énoncée dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients 2-1-09 (CPC-2-1-09), intitulée Déplacement des stations assurant un service fixe dans la gamme de fréquences 2 GHz pour permettre l'exploitation des services de communications personnelles (SCP) autorisés.

  6. Installations de station radio

    Pour chaque station radio, le titulaire de licence devra s'assurer que :

    • la station radio est installée et exploitée de manière à respecter les limites d'exposition humaine à des champs de radiofréquences électromagnétiques énoncées par Santé Canada;
    • le cas échéant, les bâtis d'antennes sont balisés en conformité des recommandations de Transports Canada;
    • avant l'installation de bâtis d'antennes importants, il y aura eu consultation des autorités responsables de l'utilisation du sol compétentes;
    • l'installation de tout bâti d'antenne important doit être reportée de façon à permettre un examen par le Ministère quand, après examen des solutions de rechange et des options de consultation raisonnables, les négociations sur l'utilisation du sol achoppent;
    • les installations radio sont mises en place et exploitées d'une manière conforme aux exigences techniques relatives à l'exploitation aux limites des zones de services et aux rayonnements hors-bande fixées par le Ministère.

    À cet effet, prière de consulter la version la plus récente du document intitulé Processus environnemental, champs de radiofréquences et consultation sur l'utilisation du sol (CPC-2-0-03).

  7. Fourniture d'information technique

    Lorsque le Ministère demande de l'information technique sur une station spécifique ou sur un réseau, le titulaire doit la lui fournir en respectant les définitions et critères précisés par le Ministère. Voir la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients 2-1-10 (CPC-2-1-10), intitulée Délivrance de licence aux services de communications personnelles (SCP) dans la bande de 2 GHz.

  8. Lois, règlements et autres obligations

    Le titulaire doit se conformer aux dispositions de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, du Règlement des radiocommunications de l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) et du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences visant les bandes de fréquences pour lesquelles il détient une licence. La licence est délivrée sous réserve que les attestations contenues dans la documentation de la demande soient toutes vraies et complètes à tous les égards.

  9. Considérations techniques

    Le titulaire doit respecter les exigences techniques énoncées dans le Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens 510 (PNRH-510), intitulé Prescriptions techniques relatives aux services de communications personnelles exploités dans les bandes 1850-1910 MHz et 1930-1990 MHz, et mettre en oeuvre du matériel homologué en conformité du Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques 133 (CNR-133), intitulé Services de communications personnelles dans la bande de 2 GHz. Le PNRH-510 donne de l'information sur les plans de répartition des fréquences, les limites d'émission à l'extérieur des blocs de fréquences, la puissance isotrope rayonnée équivalente (p.i.r.e.) maximale et la hauteur des antennes. Le CNR-133 énonce les normes applicables aux émetteurs et récepteurs SCP fonctionnant dans la bande 2 GHz.

  10. Coordination internationale et nationale

    Le titulaire de licence doit satisfaire aux exigences des arrangements de coordination et de partage transfrontaliers, conclus entre le Canada et les États-Unis et modifiés de temps à autre. Bien que les assignations de fréquences ne soient pas soumises au processus de délivrance de licences emplacement par emplacement, il peut être demandé aux titulaires de fournir toutes les données techniques nécessaires à Industrie Canada, pour chaque emplacement touché, afin de permettre la coordination internationale avec les États-Unis conformément aux conditions de tous les arrangements de partage existants ou futurs. Si une coordination internationale est requise, Industrie Canada précisera les éléments de données, le format et les moyens de présentation appropriés.

    La coordination entre titulaires de licence à l'intérieur du Canada s'effectuera selon les mêmes procédures que la coordination internationale.

  11. Interception légale

    Le titulaire de licence qui utilise les fréquences du spectre pour la téléphonie avec commutation de circuits doit, dès le début du service, fournir et maintenir les fonctions d'interception légale autorisées par la loi :

    • Les exigences en matière de capacité d'interception légale figurent dans les Normes d'application du Solliciteur général pour l'interception légale des télécommunications (rév. nov. 1995). Ces normes peuvent être modifiées de temps à autre à la suite d'une consultation avec le Solliciteur général du Canada et les titulaires de licence.
    • Les titulaires de licence peuvent demander au Ministre de s'abstenir de mettre en application certaines exigences en matière d'assistance pendant une période limitée. Le Ministre, après avoir consulté le Solliciteur général du Canada, peut exercer son pouvoir de s'abstenir de mettre en application une ou plusieurs exigences qui, de l'avis du Ministre, ne sont pas réalisables de façon raisonnable. Les demandes d'abstention doivent inclure des détails spécifiques et les dates auxquelles la conformité aux exigences est prévue.
  12. Recherche et développement

    Le titulaire de licence doit investir au moins deux pour cent de ses recettes brutes rajustées provenant de l'exploitation des fréquences visées par la licence, échelonnées sur la période de validité de la licence, dans des activités admissibles en recherche et développement en télécommunications. Les activités admissibles en recherche et développement sont celles qui sont conformes à la définition de recherche scientifique et de développement expérimental adoptée dans la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu. Les recettes brutes ajustées sont définies comme les recettes totales du service moins les paiements entre transporteurs, les mauvaises créances, les commissions payées à des tiers, les taxes provinciales et les taxes sur les biens et les services.

    Si la licence est transférée à toute entité admissible avant son expiration, la condition de licence relative aux investissements en recherche et développement continue de s'appliquer après le transfert initial de la licence et lors de tout autre transfert subséquent jusqu'à l'expiration de la licence. Avant le transfert complet ou partiel de la licence, le transporteur auquel la licence sera transférée doit s'engager à ce que la somme monétaire qu'il investira dans des activités de recherche et développement admissibles et les investissements faits par le ou les titulaires précédents dans des activités de recherche et développement totaliseront au moins deux pour cent de la somme des recettes brutes rajustées des parties provenant de toutes les activités d'exploitation de ces fréquences, échelonnées sur la période de validité de la licence.

    Une déclaration signée par le destinataire éventuel de la licence, qui décrit cet engagement, doit accompagner l'avis de transfert de licence présenté au Ministère par le titulaire de la licence avant que le transfert ne soit effectué.

    Pour faciliter le respect de cette condition de licence, le titulaire devrait consulter le document ministériel intitulé Lignes directrices sur le respect de la condition relative à la recherche-développement pour les licences d'autorisation de radiocommunication. Une future Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients (CPC) donnera de plus amples renseignements sur les procédures administratives exactes de transfert de licences de spectre.

  13. Revente de SCP

    Le titulaire de licence doit offrir la revente de SCP dans toute sa zone de service aux autres titulaires de licence SCP, sans pratique discriminatoire.

  14. Mise en service des fréquences

    Dans les cinq ans suivant la clôture des enchères, le titulaire de licence doit prouver au Ministère que les fréquences sont en exploitation. La desserte de 50 % de la population de la zone de service autorisée, ou un autre indicateur d'utilisation acceptable par le Ministère, sera exigé. La documentation justificative devra être présentée au gestionnaire, Réseaux sans fil, Direction générale de la réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion, à l'adresse indiquée ci-dessous.

  15. Rapports annuels

    Le titulaire de licence doit présenter, pour chaque année de validité de la licence, un rapport annuel qui confirme l'observation continue de toutes les conditions de licence. Le rapport doit notamment comprendre ce qui suit :

    • les états financiers vérifiés, tels qu'exigés par l'autorité en vertu de laquelle s'est faite la constitution en personne morale, y compris un état vérifié des dépenses de recherche et de développement accompagné d'un rapport de vérification, établis conformément aux mêmes normes de présentation. Pour faciliter le respect de cette condition de licence, le titulaire devrait consulter le document intitulé Lignes directrices sur le respect de la condition relative à la recherche-développement pour les licences d'autorisation de radiocommunication, publié par Industrie Canada;
    • une copie de tout rapport annuel d'entreprise existant pour l'exercice financier du titulaire, qui a trait à l'autorisation;
    • une mise à jour sur la mise en service des fréquences et leur utilisation dans la zone de service visée par la licence.

    Les rapports doivent être présentés par écrit, dans les 120 jours qui suivent la fin de l'exercice financier du titulaire, au

    Gestionnaire, Réseaux sans fil
    Direction générale de la réglementation
    des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion
    300, rue Slater, 15e étage
    Ottawa (Ontario)
    K1A 0C8

    Les renseignements confidentiels seront traités conformément aux dispositions du paragraphe 20(1) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Date de modification :