Archived — Notice No. DGTP-002-01

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-002-01 — Public Discussion on Cell Phone Silencers (Devices Capable of Interfering with or Blocking Mobile Telephone Communications)

1. Intent

The purpose of this Notice is to invite public views and comments on the use of cell phone silencers (also known as radio jamming devices). Through this consultation, the Department seeks to establish whether the public interest would be served if the present occasional authorization of these devices, for law enforcement and public safety purposes, were to be broadened for wider niche market and location-specific applications. However, it should be noted that, within the scope of this consultation, the Department is not prepared to address a licence-exempt status for these devices.

2. Background

A number of countries are dealing with whether jamming devices should be permitted for broader niche market applications. There have been a range of positions taken by these countries. For example, the United States has incorporated by law an outright ban on their use. The United Kingdom has announced it will take all necessary steps to ensure that "Cellphone Jammers" are not used. Some countries have restricted their licensing or permitted the use of certain types of devices (Australia, Japan). Other countries, such as France, have decided that further evaluation of these devices is required. In the end, all of these administrations have faced the same challenge. That is, the challenge of balancing the needs of some, for a preserved quiet zone in their private environment or in public places like restaurants and theatres etc., with the concerns of the wireless service industry regarding the impact of these devices on the delivery of public mobile services. Added to this balance of needs, are radio jamming devices manufacturers/distributors and entrepreneurs who wish to establish a broader market for these devices.

Industry Canada has been in discussion with representatives of the wireless industry and developers of jamming devices software, to develop an understanding of the application and operation of the various devices now available. This has been necessary for Industry Canada to determine the impact of these devices on wireless services and put appropriate measures in place.

There are five types of known devices currently capable of blocking or intentionally interfering with wireless communications, and they can be described as follows:

  1. Jamming Devices - By way of radio frequency interference, the device prevents pagers and mobile phones from transmitting or receiving calls by transmitting a jamming signal.
  2. Intelligent Disablers - By way of a signal detection function, the device communicates with the base station of the mobile phone users' wireless service provider indicating that particular mobile phone is in a quiet zone and consequently communication is not established.
  3. Intelligent Beacon Disablers - By way of beacon-like operation, the device instructs any compatible mobile phone to disable its ringer, turn down its volume or to switch the phone to a vibrate-signalling mode.
  4. Direct Receive and Transmit Jammers - By way of base station-like features, the device interacts with the operation of local mobile phones in its proximity to break or unhook the communications link, before returning to a passive mode.
  5. lPassive Jamming Devices - By way of electromagnetic interference (EMI) suppression techniques, a defined space/room is constructed in a way that prevents the transmission or reception of radio signals within the shielded space/room (commonly know as a Faraday Cage).

Generally speaking, the use of any of these five devices would place a mobile phone user in the same position as if they had, for example, moved outside of mobile phone coverage, or simply had their phone turned off. In most instances, a message would inform the calling party that the user is currently unavailable and the voice-mail feature would consequently be activated.

During the Department's investigation of jamming devices, various views have emerged.

Views of Certain Members of the Public

Certain segments of the public either wish to keep their corporate boardrooms or their private residences secure. They may wish to enjoy various forms of entertainment in public venues uninterrupted by mobile phone use. Wireless industry associations promote a voluntary phone etiquette using in-venue signs/posters and other vehicles for media awareness to create an environment where mobile phone users acknowledge the rights of others to "quiet time". This is achieved by taking advantage of a technology solution (e.g. putting the ring function of a mobile phone in a vibration mode), or simply going to a more private area of the public venue to make a wireless call. Both of these methods have demonstrated some level of success for mobile phone users and non-users alike.

Views of the Wireless Services Industry

The Canadian wireless industry and associations like the Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association (CWTA) and the Radio Advisory Board of Canada (RABC) are on the public record and have petitioned the Department not to authorize the broader use of jamming devices in Canada. On January 11, 2001, the RABC released a report on jamming devices in which it presented the main concerns of the wireless industry as follows:

  • the blocking of emergency calls;
  • unfair discrimination in blocking among service providers and users;
  • difficulty in controlling unintended blocking of other service providers and users; and
  • the regulatory/enforcement and legal implications of allowing third parties to jam licensed services.

Both associations have been active in presenting their views as well as fostering discussion of possible solutions. Recently, the CWTA wrote, in its primer on mobile phone and pager etiquette entitled, Wireless Etiquette … "It's about common sense and common courtesy" sought to raise public awareness on the public etiquette issue and suggested methods to promote a wireless environment where everyone could harmoniously co-exist.

Views of Manufacturers/Distributors of Radio Jamming Devices

Manufacturers design, sell and distribute these devices to address a number of applications. They range from the security of corporate boardrooms and private residences through to public applications in restaurants and theatres for those patrons who wish to have a mandatory rather than voluntary "quiet zone". The Department is aware of Canadian companies who wish to establish a broader niche market for these devices. Some of these companies are currently doing Canadian software research and development.

Present Status

Jamming devices are not currently permitted for sale or use in Canada because in the absence of a licence and appropriate technical standards and equipment certification, their use would contravene sections 4 and 9 of the Radiocommunication Act which state, in part:

  • "4.(1) No person shall, except under and in accordance with a radio authorization, install, operate or possess radio apparatus, other than
    • (a) radio apparatus exempted by or under regulations made under paragraph 6(1)(m); or
    • (b) radio apparatus that is capable only of the reception of broadcasting and that is not a distribution undertaking.
  • (2) No person shall manufacture, import, distribute, lease, offer for sale or sell any radio apparatus, interference-causing equipment or radio-sensitive equipment for which a technical acceptance certificate is required under this Act, otherwise than in accordance with such a certificate.
  • (3) No person shall manufacture, import, distribute, lease, offer for sale or sell any radio apparatus, interference-causing equipment or radio-sensitive equipment for which technical standards have been established under paragraph 6(1)(a), unless the apparatus or equipment complies with those standards.
  • 9. (1) (b) No person shall without lawful excuse, interfere with or obstruct any radiocommunication.
  • 10.(1) Every person who
    • (a) contravenes section 4 or paragraph 9(1)(a) or (b),
    • (b) without lawful excuse, manufactures, imports, distributes, leases, offers for sale, sells, installs, modifies, operates or possesses any equipment or device, or any component thereof, under circumstances that give rise to a reasonable inference that the equipment, device or component has been used, or is or was intended to be used, for the purpose of contravening section 9,
    • (c) contravenes or fails to comply with an order issued by the Minister under paragraph 5(1)(l), or
    • (d) contravenes or fails to comply with a regulation, where no punishment is prescribed by regulations made under paragraph 6(1)(r) for that contravention or failure to comply,
    • is guilty of an offence punishable on summary conviction and is liable, in the case of an individual, to a fine not exceeding five thousand dollars or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding one year, or to both, or, in the case of a corporation, to a fine not exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars."

Industry Canada through this public consultation, must determine whether the public interest would be served by permitting these devices to be used for broader applications than those limited authorizations issued in the past for law enforcement or public safety purposes. The Department could permit these devices under licence, restricted or otherwise, with appropriate technical standards in place. Therefore, Industry Canada must also explore the potential impact of these devices for both legitimate and illegal purposes from regulatory and enforcement perspectives. In addition, technical issues need to be considered i.e. how would these devices affect the various multiple- access spectrum technologies currently employed by wireless service providers.

3. Invitation to Comment

Industry Canada invites comments on the following questions:

(a)(i) What is the public interest, if any, that could support broadening the Department's occasional authorization of radio jamming devices for other private and public niche market applications (e.g. to increase security in boardrooms or to preserve "quiet zones" in public venues)?

(ii) If a public interest is demonstrated, what applications should be considered?

(iii) What are the potential risks, if any, associated with the use of these devices?

(iv) What potential adverse effects should Industry Canada address in establishing conditions of use?

(b) What is the distinction, if any, between the use of these devices in private places as opposed to public places?

(c) If Industry Canada permits these devices:

  1. on a broader basis, should licensing be restricted and if so, restricted to whom (e.g. law enforcement agencies, wireless service providers, or others) and to what frequency bands?
  2. under what operational conditions and technical restrictions should these devices be licensed?
  3. are there etiquette protocols that manufacturers of jamming devices could put in the equipment to ensure that each jamming device operates only in the area within which it is licensed to operate?

Industry Canada invites interested parties to provide their views and comments on these questions and any other issues relevant to this consultation. Based on the comments received and further consideration of these and any other relevant issues, the Department will, at an appropriate time, announce its decision.

This Notice is available electronically as follows:

World Wide Web (WWW)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home

or can be obtained in hard copy, for a fee from:

Tyrell Press Ltd.
2714 Fenton Road
Gloucester, Ontario K1T 3T7
Email: sales1@tyrellpress.ca
1-800-267-4862 (Canada toll-free telephone)
1-800-574-0137 (United States toll-free telephone)
613-822-0740 (Worldwide telephone)
613-822-1089 (Facsimile)

and

DLS, St. Joseph Print Group
45 Sacré-Coeur Boulevard
Hull, Quebec K1A 0S7
1-888-562-5561 (Canada toll-free telephone)
1-800-565-7757 (Canada toll-free facsimile)
819-779-4335 (Worldwide telephone)
819-779-2833 (Worldwide facsimile)

Respondents are strongly encouraged to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to facilitate posting on the Department's Web site. Documents submitted should be sent with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used. All comments should make reference to "Comments -Gazette Notice DGTP-002-01" and be sent to Wireless@ic.gc.ca.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8 and must be received on or before July 12, 2001 to receive full consideration. All representations should cite the Canada Gazette Part I Notice publication date, title, and the Notice reference number.

All comments received in response to this Notice will be made available for viewing on the Department's Web site at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home.

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Archivé — Avis no DGTP-002-01

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis nº DGTP-002-01 — Consultation publique sur les neutralisateurs de cellulaire (dispositifs pouvant brouiller ou bloquer les communications par téléphone mobile)

1. Objet

Le présent avis a pour objet de solliciter les observations de la population sur l'utilisation de neutralisateurs de cellulaire (aussi appelés dispositifs de brouillage radio). Dans le cadre de la présente consultation, le Ministère cherche à déterminer si l'intérêt public serait servi si l'autorisation occasionnelle actuelle de ces dispositifs, pour fins d'application de la loi et de sécurité publique, était étendue à de nouveaux créneaux de marché et à des applications strictement localisées. Par contre, il faut souligner que, au cours de la présente consultation, le Ministère n'est pas disposé à examiner l'éventuelle exemption de licence de ces dispositifs.

2. Contexte

Différents pays étudient l'opportunité de permettre l'utilisation de dispositifs de brouillage aux fins d'applications dans de nouveaux créneaux de marché; et ces pays ont adopté diverses positions face à la question. Par exemple, les États-Unis ont pris des dispositions législatives pour interdire formellement leur utilisation. Le Royaume-Uni a annoncé qu'il prendra toutes les mesures nécessaires pour empêcher l'utilisation de « brouilleurs de téléphones cellulaires ». Certains pays limitent leur autorisation ou permettent l'utilisation de certains types de dispositifs (Australie, Japon). D'autres pays, dont la France, ont décidé qu'ils devaient poursuivre l'évaluation de ces dispositifs. En bout de ligne, toutes ces administrations ont été confrontées au problème de soupeser à la fois les besoins de certaines personnes, qui veulent des zones de tranquillité dans leur milieu privé ou dans les lieux publics comme les restaurants, les théâtres et les cinémas, et les craintes de l'industrie des services sans fil face aux répercussions des dispositifs de brouillage sur la fourniture de services mobiles publics. De plus, elles doivent également tenir compte des besoins des entrepreneurs et des fabricants et des distributeurs de dispositifs de brouillage radio, qui souhaitent étendre le marché de ces dispositifs.

Industrie Canada a tenu des discussions avec des représentants de l'industrie du sans-fil et des créateurs de logiciels pour dispositifs de brouillage, dans le but de mieux comprendre les applications et le fonctionnement des différents dispositifs actuellement disponibles. Ces discussions ont été nécessaires pour permettre au Ministère d'évaluer les répercussions des dispositifs de brouillage sur les services sans fil et de mettre en place les mesures appropriées.

On connaît actuellement cinq types de dispositifs qui peuvent bloquer ou brouiller intentionnellement les radiocommunications :

  1. Dispositif de brouillage - Ce dispositif utilise le brouillage radioélectriques, à savoir l'émission d'un signal brouilleur, pour empêcher les téléavertisseurs et des téléphones mobiles de recevoir ou d'émettre des appels.
  2. Neutraliseur intelligent - Grâce à une fonction de détection de signal, le dispositif communique avec la station de base du fournisseur de services téléphoniques mobiles pour lui indiquer que l'abonné est dans une zone de tranquillité et que la communication ne sera donc pas établie.
  3. Neutraliseur-balise intelligent - Le dispositif, qui fonctionne comme une balise, ordonne à tout téléphone mobile compatible de désactiver sa sonnerie, d'en réduire le volume ou de passer au mode d'avertissement par vibrations.
  4. Brouilleur direct d'émission et de réception - Grâce à des fonctions qui s'apparentent à celles d'une station de base, le dispositif agit directement sur le fonctionnement d'un téléphone mobile se trouvant à proximité pour couper la communication ou la mettre en position de raccrochage, puis retourner au mode passif.
  5. Installation de brouillage passif - Une salle ou un espace défini est aménagé selon des techniques de suppression du brouillage électromagnétique pour empêcher, par blindage, l'émission et la réception de signaux radio (cage de Faraday).

De façon générale, l'utilisation de l'un ou l'autre des cinq types de dispositifs décrits ci-dessus aurait le même effet sur un téléphone mobile que le fait, par exemple, de quitter la zone de couverture du service mobile ou de mettre le téléphone mobile hors tension. Dans la plupart des cas, un message informerait le demandeur que l'abonné ne peut pas être joint, et la fonction de messagerie vocale serait activée.

Différents points de vue ont été exprimés pendant l'étude des dispositifs de brouillage par le Ministère.

Opinions exprimées par certains membres du public

Il y a des membres du public qui tiennent à protéger la confidentialité de leur salle du conseil de direction ou de leur résidence privée. Il y a également des personnes qui souhaitent se divertir dans des lieux publics sans devoir subir l'utilisation de téléphones mobiles. Des associations de l'industrie du sans-fil font la promotion d'une étiquette téléphonique « volontaire » fondée sur un affichage sur place et sur d'autres outils de sensibilisation pour créer un environnement où les utilisateurs de téléphones mobiles reconnaissent le droit à la « tranquillité » de leurs voisins. Les abonnés mobiles peuvent ainsi recourir à la technologie et utiliser un avertisseur vibrant plutôt qu'une sonnerie audible, ou encore se retirer à un endroit plus isolé pour faire un appel. Ces deux techniques ont connu un certain succès auprès des utilisateurs et des non-utilisateurs de téléphones mobiles.

Opinions exprimées par l'industrie des services sans fil

L'industrie du sans-fil et des associations du Canada, dont l'Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil (ACTS) et le Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio (CCCR), ont officiellement demandé au Ministère de ne pas étendre l'utilisation autorisée des dispositifs de brouillage. Le 11 janvier 2001, le CCCR a publié un rapport sur les dispositifs de brouillage, qui expose les principales préoccupations de l'industrie des services sans fil, à savoir :

  • le blocage d'appels d'urgence;
  • des pratiques discriminatoires injustes de blocage des différents fournisseurs de services et utilisateurs;
  • la difficulté de prévenir le blocage non intentionnel d'autres fournisseurs de services et utilisateurs;
  • les conséquences réglementaires, légales et pratiques (application de la loi) de permettre à des tiers de brouiller des services autorisés.

Les deux associations susmentionnées ont activement défendu leur point de vue et ont favorisé la discussion de solutions possibles. Dernièrement, l'ACTS a publié un guide sur l'étiquette du téléphone mobile et du téléavertisseur, intitulé L'étiquette du sans-fil … Une affaire de bon sens et de simple courtoisie, pour tenter de sensibiliser la population à la question et pour proposer des méthodes favorisant un environnement du sans-fil où tous peuvent vivre en harmonie.

Opinions exprimées par les fabricants et les distributeurs de dispositifs de brouillage radio

Les fabricants conçoivent, vendent et distribuent ces dispositifs pour répondre à différents besoins, qui vont de la sécurité des salles de conseil de direction et des résidences privées à la création de « zones de tranquillité », obligatoires plutôt que « volontaires », demandées par des clients de restaurants, de théâtres et de cinémas. Le Ministère sait qu'il y a des entreprises canadiennes qui souhaitent étendre le marché de ces dispositifs. Certaines de ces entreprises mènent actuellement des travaux de recherche et de développement en matière de logiciel au Canada.

État actuel

Il est actuellement interdit de vendre et d'utiliser des dispositifs de brouillage au Canada, étant donné qu'en l'absence d'une licence, de normes techniques pertinentes et de certification du matériel, leur exploitation violerait les articles 4 et 9 de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, qui stipulent notamment ce qui suit :

  • « 4.(1) Il est interdit, sans une autorisation de radiocommunication et sans en respecter les conditions, d'installer, de faire fonctionner ou de posséder un appareil radio autre :
    • (a)qu'un appareil exempté au titre d'un règlement pris en application de l'alinéa 6(1)m);
    • (b)qu'un appareil qui ne peut que recevoir de la radiodiffusion et n'est pas une entreprise de distribution.
  • (2) Il est interdit de fabriquer, d'importer, de distribuer, de louer, de mettre en vente ou de vendre tout appareil radio, matériel brouilleur ou matériel radiosensible pour lequel un certificat d'approbation technique est exigé au titre de la présente loi, si ce n'est en conformité avec celui-ci.
  • (3) Il est interdit d'effectuer les activités prévues au paragraphe (2) à l'égard de tout appareil ou matériel qui y est mentionné et qui n'est pas conforme aux normes techniques fixées en application de l'alinéa 6(1)a) auxquelles il est assujetti.
  • 9. (1) Il est interdit : b) sans excuse légitime, de gêner ou d'entraver la radiocommunication;
  • 10.(1) Commet une infraction et encourt, sur déclaration de culpabilité par procédure sommaire, dans le cas d'une personne physique, une amende maximale de cinq mille dollars et un emprisonnement maximal d'un an, ou l'une de ces peines, ou, dans le cas d'une personne morale, une amende maximale de vingt-cinq mille dollars quiconque, selon le cas :
    • a) contrevient à l'article 4 ou aux alinéas 9(1)a) ou b);
    • b) sans excuse légitime, fabrique, importe, distribue, loue, met en vente, vend, installe, modifie, exploite ou possède tout matériel ou dispositif, ou composante de celui-ci, dans des circonstances donnant à penser que l'un ou l'autre est utilisé en vue d'enfreindre l'article 9, l'a été ou est destiné à l'être;
    • c) contrevient à l'ordre donné par le ministre en vertu de l'alinéa 5(1)l);
    • d) à défaut de peine prévue par règlement d'application de l'alinéa 6(1)r), contrevient à un règlement. »

Industrie Canada doit donc, dans le cadre de la présente consultation publique, déterminer s'il est dans l'intérêt public de permettre l'utilisation des dispositifs de brouillage radio à des fins autres que celles permises en vertu d'autorisations restreintes délivrées dans le passé aux fins de l'application de la loi ou de la sécurité publique. Le Ministère pourrait délivrer des licences, restreintes ou autres, à l'égard de ces dispositifs, qui seraient alors visés par des normes techniques appropriées. Par conséquent, Industrie Canada doit examiner les répercussions possibles des dispositifs de brouillage, utilisés à des fins légales ou illégales, du point de vue de la réglementation et des mesures d'application de la loi. Enfin, il faut examiner les questions techniques, c.-à-d. quelles seraient les répercussions de ces dispositifs sur les différentes technologies d'accès multiple au spectre actuellement utilisées par les fournisseurs de services sans fil.

3. Invitation à présenter des observations

Industrie Canada sollicite des observations sur les questions suivantes :

a)(i) Quel est, le cas échéant, l'intérêt public qui pourrait justifier l'élargissement des autorisations ministérielles épisodiques de dispositifs de brouillage radio à d'autres applications de créneaux de marché privées ou publiques (p. ex. pour améliorer la sécurité dans les salles de conseil de direction ou pour créer des « zones de tranquillité » dans les lieux publics)?

(ii) S'il y a un intérêt public, quelles devraient être les applications envisagées?

(iii) Quels sont les risques potentiels, s'il en existe, associés à l'utilisation de ces dispositifs?

(iv) Quelles sont les répercussions négatives éventuelles qui devraient faire l'objet de conditions d'utilisation imposées par Industrie Canada?

b) Quelle distinction doit-on établir, le cas échéant, entre l'utilisation de ces dispositifs dans des endroits privés et leur utilisation dans des lieux publics?

c) Si Industrie Canada étend l'utilisation de ces dispositifs :

  1. L'autorisation doit-elle être restreinte et, dans l'affirmative, à qui (p. ex. organismes d'application de la loi, fournisseurs de services sans fil, autres utilisateurs) et à quelles bandes de fréquences?
  2. Quelles conditions opérationnelles et restrictions techniques devraient s'appliquer à l'autorisation de ces dispositifs?
  3. Est-ce qu'il y a des protocoles d'étiquette que les fabricants pourraient intégrer à ces dispositifs pour faire en sorte qu'ils puissent fonctionner uniquement dans les zones précises visées par la licence?

Industrie Canada invite tous les intéressés à présenter leurs observations sur ces questions et sur toute autre question ayant rapport à la présente consultation. Compte tenu des observations reçues et de l'examen supplémentaire de ces questions et de toute autre question pertinente, le Ministère annoncera sa décision au moment opportun.

Le présent avis est disponible en format électronique à l'adresse suivante :

World Wide Web (WWW)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/accueil

On peut également obtenir les documents sur support papier, contre paiement, en s'adressant à :

Tyrell Press Ltd.
2714, chemin Fenton
Gloucester (Ontario) K1T 3T7
courriel : sales1@tyrellpress.ca
numéro sans frais au Canada : 1-800-267-4862
numéro sans frais aux É.-U. : 1-800-574-0137
numéro mondial : 613-822-0740
numéro de télécopieur : 613-822-1089

et

DLS, Le groupe d'imprimerie St-Joseph
45, boulevard Sacré-Coeur
Hull (Québec) K1A 0S7
numéro sans frais au Canada : 1-888-562-5561
numéro de télécopieur sans frais au Canada : 1-800-565-7757
numéro mondial : 819-779-4335
numéro de télécopieur mondial : 819-779-2833

Les intéressés sont invités à présenter leurs observations sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) afin d'en faciliter la publication sur le site Web du Ministère. Les documents soumis devraient être accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel, le numéro de la version et le système d'exploitation utilisés. Tous les commentaires doivent porter la mention « Commentaires - Avis - Gazette du Canada DGTP-002-01 » et être envoyés à l'adresse suivante : Wireless@ic.gc.ca.

Les observations écrites doivent être adressées au directeur général, Politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8. Les observations doivent être reçues au plus tard le 12 juillet 2001. Les intervenants doivent indiquer la date de publication du présent avis dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, son titre, ainsi que le numéro de référence de l'avis (DGTP-002-01).

Toutes les observations reçues en réponse au présent avis seront affichées au site Web du Ministère, à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/accueil.

Le Directeur général
Direction de la politique des télécommunications

Michael Helm

Date de modification :