Radio Spectrum Inventory: A 2010 Snapshot — Canada

Chapter 8–Space Science Services (EESS, SRS, MetSat, SOS, MetAids, RAS)

8.3 Spectrum Inventory Analysis

Unlike other services for which spectrum allocation is based on the most suitable propagation characteristics, spectrum allocation for space science services (except space operations) is more limited to the physical phenomenon of atmospheric gases, water, cosmic rays, etc. As a result, radio spectrum for space science applications appears almost everywhere in the entire radio spectrum.

In order to arrange the data in a presentable format, the results are grouped by major services in space science. Figure 8.2, which shows the utilization of spectrum sharing between space science services and other radio services compared to 1998 level, shows where the challenges are for space science.

8.3.1 Major users

The radio spectrum in space science services is used by the following groups of agencies or institutes:

  1. Canadian Space Agency (CSA)
  2. Canadian Centre for Remote Sensing (CCRS)
  3. Environment Canada (EC)
  4. Natural Resource Canada (NRCAN)
  5. National Research Council Canada (NRC), including Radio Astronomy
  6. Canadian Universities

In these groups of users, the CSA, EC and NRC are the major users of spectrum allocated for space science services. NRC uses mostly the passive bands for continuum and spectral line observations. The CSA is the major player in the EESS (Radarsat 1 and 2). EC uses data from foreign satellites in the EESS.

8.3.2 Number of assignments and geographic information

The data available for compiling the statistics from the Assignment and Licensing System (ALS) is mixed with radio services other than space science services and is only available from 50 GHz. Due to this limitation, the results as shown in the figures may contain other services sharing the same frequency band. Effort has been taken to isolate space science services from the available data wherever possible. It should be noted that the receive-only earth stations in the passive services are not required to obtain a radio licence. Therefore, these stations, especially in the radio astronomy service, may not be registered in the ALS system.

Most of the frequencies are assigned for GOES (Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellite) and POES (Polar Operational Environmental Satellite) downlinks and uplinks. The assignments are mostly distributed in the Pacific and Prairies and Northwest Territories regions. Also, NRC operates an observatory in British Columbia for continuum/spectral lines and solar radio flux observations. The general distribution of frequency assignments for space science applications is shown in Figure 8.1. Note that "National" region includes assignments for all of Canada, more than one province, but not all Canada, and space station assignments. This designation applies to all figures regarding regional distribution.

8.4 Spectrum Trends in Space Science

The following figures demonstrate the trend in licensing radio spectrum for space science applications for the past 12 years. As previously stated, the limitation in available data may affect the accuracy of the result, as other radio services sharing the same frequency bands cannot be isolated from the data. Note that the spectrum trend data is only available from 50 GHz to 40 GHz.

8.4.1 Space Science in general

As can be seen in Figure 8.2, the most significant challenge for space science services sharing with other radio services appears in the frequency range 13.4-14.5  GHz, in which the major utilization for space science is continuum observations. Also there is significant increase in assignments for the lower part of the UHF frequencies, where the major applications for space science are GOES and POES downlinks/uplinks.

8.4.2 EESS

For spectrum sharing between EESS and other radio services, the trend chart (Figure 8.3a) shows that the spectrum utilization has been increasing since 1998. The major users for EESS applications are CSA for the Radarsat Program and DND (see Figure 8.3b).

top of page

8.4.3 Space Research Service (SRS)

For space research service, the use of spectrum sharing with other radio services has been increasing in the past 12 years (see Figure 8.4a). The CSA is the only user for this application at the 2 GHz band. Currently, there are four frequency assignments (see Figure 8.4b). EC uses data from foreign satellites, which utilize frequency bands for SRS.

8.4.4 MetSat

The use of spectrum shared by the meteorological satellite service has seen significant increase in the past four years (see Figure 8.5a). EC is the major user for this application for GOES and POES downlinks/uplinks in the band 400.15-402 MHz. Most of the frequency assignments are found in western Canada (see Figure 8.5b).

8.4.5 MetAids

The utilization of spectrum shared with MetAids has increased significantly since 1998 level (see Figure 8.6a). DND and EC are the major users of MetAids. Most of the assignments are allocated in western Canada (see Figure 8.6b).

top of page

8.4.6 Space Operation

For spectrum sharing between space operation and other radio services, the number of frequency assignments has been steadily increasing (see Figure 8.7a). The CSA is the major user for this type of application at 2025-2110 MHz and 2200-2290 MHz for telecommand and tracking, with eight frequency assignments (see Figure 8.7b). The University of Toronto is also operating an earth station at 2200-2290 MHz to support the operation of the CanX-2 satellite.

8.4.7 Radio Astronomy

For spectrum sharing between radio astronomy and other radio services, the trend chart (Figure 8.8a) shows that the spectrum utilization has rebounded since 2004. The major user of radio astronomy applications is NRC, with one observatory (Dominion Radio Astrophysical Observatory – DRAO) in British Columbia (see Figure 8.8b). The ALS data shows that most of the frequency assignments are use at this location. This is also the only observatory in Canada that performs solar radio flux observation at 2750-2800 MHz.

Date modified:

Inventaire des fréquences radioélectriques : Aperçu 2010 — Canada

Chapitre 8 – Services des sciences spatiales (SETS, SRS, MetSat, SOS, MetAids, SRA)

8.3 Analyse de l'inventaire du spectre

Contrairement aux autres services où l'attribution du spectre est basée sur les caractéristiques de propagation les plus appropriées, l'attribution du spectre aux services des sciences spatiales (à l'exception des opérations dans l'espace) est plutôt limitée aux phénomènes physiques des gaz atmosphériques, de l'eau, des rayons cosmiques, etc. Par conséquent, le spectre des fréquences radioélectriques des applications des sciences spatiales est présent dans presque la totalité du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques.

Pour que les données soient organisées d'une manière présentable, les résultats sont regroupés selon les principaux services de sciences spatiales. La Figure 8.2, qui illustre l'utilisation du partage du spectre par les services des sciences spatiales et les autres services radio comparativement aux niveaux de 1998, indique les endroits où se trouvent les défis pour les sciences de l'espace.

8.3.1 Principaux utilisateurs

Le spectre des fréquences radioélectriques pour les services des sciences spatiales est utilisé par les groupes d'organismes ou d'instituts suivants :

  1. Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC)
  2. Centre canadien de télédétection (CCT)
  3. Environnement Canada (EC)
  4. Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCAN)
  5. Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC) y compris la Radioastronomie
  6. Universités canadiennes

Parmi ces groupes d'utilisateurs, l'ASC, EC et le CNRC sont les principaux utilisateurs du spectre attribué aux services des sciences spatiales. Le CNRC utilise presque la totalité des bandes passives pour les observations du continuum et des raies spectrales. L'ASC est le principal acteur au niveau du SETS (Radarsat 1 et 2). EC utilise les données provenant des satellites étrangers du SETS.

8.3.2 Nombre d'assignations et information géographique

Les données disponibles pour le regroupement des statistiques, en provenance du système de gestion et d'attribution des licences (SGAL) sont mélangées avec les services radio autres que ceux des services des sciences spatiales et ne sont disponibles qu'entre les fréquences 50 MHz et 40 GHz. À cause de cette restriction, les résultats montrés dans les figures peuvent inclure d'autres services qui partagent la même bande de fréquences. Des efforts ont été faits pour isoler les services des sciences spatiales des autres données disponibles lorsqu'il était possible de le faire. Notons que les stations de réception seulement faisant partie des services passifs ne sont pas tenues d'obtenir des licences radio. Ces stations peuvent donc, particulièrement pour ce qui est du service de la radioastronomie, ne pas être enregistrées dans le SGAL.

La plupart des fréquences sont attribuées aux liaisons descendantes et montantes des GOES (satellite géostationnaire opérationnel d'observation de l'environnement) et des POES (satellite opérationnel d'observation de l'environnement en orbite polaire). Ces attributions sont principalement réparties entre les régions du Pacifique, des Prairies et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le CNRC exploite également un observatoire en Colombie-Britannique pour les observations du continuum et des raies spectrales, ainsi que des fluctuations solaires d'ondes radio. La distribution générale des assignations de fréquences YZ applications des sciences spatiales est illustrée à la Figure 8.1. Notons que la région "Nationale" comprend les attributions pour tout le Canada, plus d'une province mais moins que la totalité du Canada, et les attributions des stations spatiales. Cette désignation s'applique à toutes les figures portant sur la répartition régionale.

8.4 Tendance relative au spectre pour les sciences spatiales

Les figures suivantes illustrent la tendance au niveau des licences de spectre des fréquences radioélectriques pour les applications des sciences de l'espace au cours des 12 dernières années. Comme mentionné précédemment, la restriction au niveau des données disponibles peut affecter la précision des résultats, puisque d'autres services radio partageant les mêmes bandes de fréquences n'ont pas pu être isolés de l'ensemble des données. Veuillez prendre note que les données sur la tendance du spectre ne sont disponibles que pour les fréquences entre 50 MHz et 40 GHz.

8.4.1 Les sciences spatiales en général

La Figure 8.2 montre que le défi le plus important pour les services de sciences spatiales qui partagent les bandes avec d'autres services radio semble être au niveau des fréquences 13,4-14,5 GHz, pour lesquelles l'utilisation principale par les services des sciences spatiales se fait au niveau des observations du continuum. Il y a également des augmentations importantes des attributions de la partie inférieure des fréquences UHF, où la principale utilisation se situe au niveau des liaisons descendantes et montantes des GOES et des POES.

8.4.2 SETS

En ce qui concerne le partage du spectre entre le SETS et les autres services radio, le graphique de tendance (Figure 8.3 a) montre que l'utilisation du spectre a été en croissance depuis 1998. Les principaux utilisateurs des applications SETS sont l'ASC pour le programme Radarsat et MDN (voir Figure 8.3 b).

haut de la page

8.4.3 Service de recherche spatiale (SRS)

En ce qui concerne le service de recherche spatiale, l'utilisation du partage du spectre avec d'autres services radios a augmenté au cours des 12 dernières années (voir la Figure 8.4a). L'ASC est le seul utilisateur de cette application pour la bande 2 GHz. Il y a présentement 4 Assignations de fréquences (voir la Figure 8.4b). EC utilise les données des satellites étrangers, qui eux-mêmes utilisent les bandes de fréquences du SRS.

8.4.4 MetSat

L'utilisation du spectre partagé par le service de satellite météorologique a connu une croissance importante au cours des 4 dernières années (voir la Figure 8.5a). EC est le principal utilisateur de cette application pour la liaison descendante et la liaison montante de la bande 400,15-402 MHz pour les GOES et les POES. La plupart des assignations de fréquences se trouvent dans l'Ouest du Canada (voir la Figure 8.5b).

8.4.5 MetAids

L'utilisation du spectre partagé avec les MetAids a augmenté de façon significative comparativement aux niveaux de 1998 (voir la Figure 8.6a). Le ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) et EC sont les principaux utilisateurs des MetAids. La plupart des assignations sont attribuées dans l'Ouest du Canada (voir la Figure 8.6b).

haut de la page

8.4.6 Opération dans l'espace

En ce qui a trait au partage du spectre entre les opérations dans l'espace et les autres services radio, le nombre d'assignations de fréquences a augmenté constamment (voir la Figure 8.7a). L'ASC est le principal utilisateur de ce type d'application au niveau des fréquences 2 025-2 110 MHz et 2 200-2 290 MHz pour la télécommande et la poursuite, avec 8 assignations de fréquences (voir la Figure 8.7b). L'Université de Toronto exploite également une station terrestre dans les fréquences 2 200-2 290 MHz afin de soutenir le fonctionnement du satellite CanX-2.

8.4.7 Radioastronomie

En ce qui concerne le partage du spectre entre la radioastronomie et les autres services radios, le graphique des tendances (Figure 8.8a) indique que l'utilisation du spectre a repris depuis 2004. Le principal utilisateur des applications de radioastronomie est le CNRC avec un observatoire (Observatoire fédéral de radioastrophysique — OFRA) en C.-B. (voir la Figure 8.8b). Les données du SGAL montrent que la plupart des assignations de fréquences sont utilisées à cet endroit. Cet observatoire est également le seul au Canada à observer les fluctuations solaires d'ondes radio dans les fréquences 2 750-2 800 MHz.

Date de modification :