Consultation on Considerations Relating to Transfers, Divisions and Subordinate Licensing of Spectrum Licences

DGSO-002-13
March 2013

Posted on Industry Canada website: March 7, 2013

Contents

  1. Intent
  2. Mandate
  3. Policy
  4. Background
  5. Considerations
  6. Review of Spectrum Licence Transfer Requests
  7. Timelines
  8. Prospective Transfers
  9. Timing Considerations and Impacts on Upcoming Auctions
  10. Submitting Comments


1. Intent

1. Approval by Industry Canada is required for all spectrum licence transfers. The intent of this consultation is to elaborate and seek views on the approach used by Industry Canada, which will be applied with respect to all spectrum licences, when considering licensees’ requests to transfer or divide a spectrum licence, or enter into a subordinate licensing arrangement.

2. Mandate

2. The radio frequency spectrum is a valuable resource managed for the benefit of all Canadians.

3. The Minister of Industry, through the Department of Industry Act, the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations, with due regard to the Canadian telecommunications policy objectives set out in section 7 of the Telecommunications Act, is responsible for spectrum management in Canada. As such, the Minister is responsible for developing national policies for spectrum utilization and ensuring effective management of the radio frequency spectrum resource. Pursuant to the Radiocommunication Act, the Minister has the authority to plan the allocation and use of spectrum, to issue spectrum licences, to fix the terms and conditions of licences, and to amend the terms and conditions of any spectrum licence.

4. In developing spectrum licensing frameworks and policies, Industry Canada is guided by the objectives stated in section 7 of the Telecommunications Act. As stated in the Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada (SPFC), Industry Canada’s goal is to maximize the economic and social benefits that Canadians derive from the use of the radio frequency spectrum.



3. Policy

5. The Government of Canada is of the view that the interests of Canadians are best served by a competitive telecommunications market. Competition stimulates innovation and investment by the industry, which can lead to lower prices, better services and more choice for consumers and business users.

6. Industry Canada has reinforced its policy objectives in regards to spectrum and related policies through decisions including the Policy Framework for the Auction for Spectrum Licences for Advanced Wireless Services and other Spectrum in the 2 GHz Range, and the Policy and Technical Framework: Mobile Broadband Services (MBS) — 700 MHz Band, Broadband Radio Service (BRS) — 2500 MHz Band (SMSE-002-12). In the most recent of these, the policy objectives were:

  • – sustained competition in the wireless telecommunications services market so that consumers and businesses benefit from competitive pricing and choice in service offerings;
  • – robust investment and innovation by wireless telecommunications carriers so that Canadians benefit from world‑class networks and the latest technologies; and
  • – availability of these benefits to Canadians across the country, including those in rural areas, in a timely fashion.


4. Background

7. The Government of Canada has taken action to increase and sustain competition in the provision of wireless telecommunications services. In 2008, measures were taken to facilitate the entry of new competitors into the wireless services market by setting aside 40 MHz of spectrum for new entrants in the auction for Advanced Wireless Services (AWS) spectrum. The set‑aside spectrum was acquired mostly by new wireless‑only competitors (WIND Mobile and Mobilicity) and regional cable companies (Shaw, Videotron and Eastlink). Many new entrants have subsequently launched services and Canadians have benefitted from a heightened level of competition. In 2008, the Government of Canada also introduced mandatory roaming requirements and tower sharing rules.

8. In 2012, the Government of Canada announced decisions to further support its policy objectives, including the relaxation of telecommunications foreign investment restrictions, and the imposition of spectrum caps that will provide to four or more service providers in each region of the country the opportunity to obtain access to spectrum in both the 700 MHz and the 2500 MHz bands.



5. Considerations

9. Access to sufficient spectrum is a precondition to the provision of wireless services. High concentration of spectrum licences among a small number of wireless service providers can be detrimental to competition. With the rapid shift to smart phones and the increasing use of data in the mobile market, the minimum amount of spectrum required to be a viable operator is increasing.

10. The three national incumbents, Rogers Communications, BCE and TELUS, hold licences for approximately 85% of all currently usable mobile spectrum in Canada, with the remaining 15% fragmented among new entrants. In 2012, three national incumbents dominated the provision of wireless services in the country, accounting for approximately 90% of wireless subscribers, whereas new entrants served approximately 5% of wireless subscribers, with the remainder served by regional incumbent operators.

11. Issues concerning spectrum aggregation and competition are not unique to Canada. Regulators worldwide have employed a wide range of measures to ensure that access to spectrum is not limited to only a small number of operators. Spectrum licence transfer requests are typically reviewed with respect to their impact on concentration and the potential impacts on competition in the provision of wireless services to the public.



6. Review of Spectrum Licence Transfer Requests

12. The departmental publication, Licensing Procedures for Spectrum Licences for Terrestrial Services (CPC-2-1-23) sets out the procedures related to requests involving the transfer, division or subordinate licensing of all spectrum licences. Under these procedures, upon receipt of an application, Industry Canada reviews the information provided by the existing licensee and proposed licensee or subordinate licensee to determine if the request meets the conditions and guidelines set out in CPC-2-1-23, including assessments relating to eligibility, and compliance with licence conditions and applicable policies.

13. Industry Canada proposes to revise CPC-2-1-23, which applies to all spectrum licences, in order to indicate the specific criteria considered and process used when spectrum licence transfer applications are reviewed.

14. For purposes of this proposal:

"licence" includes a subordinate licence;

"licensee" means a spectrum licensee, including any affiliates of that licensee;

"spectrum licence transfer request," means an application to transfer or divide a spectrum licence, or to enter into a subordinate licensing arrangement, as described in CPC-2-1-23, where the licensee has submitted to Industry Canada a Notification of Spectrum Licence Transfer or Division, or Application for a Subordinate Licence, as applicable, in order to obtain a new licence or subordinate licence; and

"deemed spectrum licence transfer" means any agreement or transfer that has the effect of transferring, dividing or creating an interest in a spectrum licence in that it provides for the acquisition or control of a licence through a change in ownership and control of a licensee; or otherwise has the intent to determine who controls use of the spectrum other than the original licensee.

15. Industry Canada proposes, upon receipt of a spectrum licence transfer request, to determine whether a detailed review is required. It is noted that some transfers do not have material impacts in terms of telecommunications policy objectives. For example, a detailed review would not generally be required of transfers made as part of an internal reorganization, transfers that will serve to fill gaps in network coverage for the proposed licensee or subordinate licensee that does not already hold licences for similar spectrum in the region, or transfers involving only small amounts of spectrum. Accordingly, in assessing whether a detailed review is required, thresholds will be examined, taking into account the following factors:

  • a) the amount of spectrum involved in the transfer; and/or
  • b) changes in levels of spectrum concentration and distribution among licensees in the region that would result from the transfer.

In all cases, Industry Canada will assess the application forms based on the material provided and its own licensing information as against any band specific criteria or eligibility criteria. In the cases noted above, Industry Canada will not typically require further information to complete its review and can approve the application in a summary fashion. Where a detailed review is required, Industry Canada proposes to advise the licensee and will likely require further information to complete the review.

16. Where required, a detailed review will determine whether approval of the spectrum licence transfer request will impact:

  • a) the efficiency and competitiveness of Canadian telecommunications market;
  • b) the availability, quality or affordability of services available to consumers; and/or
  • c) the economic and social benefits that Canadians derive from the use of the radio frequency spectrum resource.

17. In making this determination, Industry Canada may examine the following factors:

  • a) current licence holdings of the proposed licensee or subordinate licensee in the subject spectrum band and region;
  • b) overall distribution of licences in the subject spectrum band and/or related bands in the region;
  • c) the current and/or prospective services provided using the subject spectrum; and/or
  • d) the existence and availability of alternative spectrum with similar properties as that subject to the transaction.

18. Information provided by the parties in the course of reviews is treated confidentially. Certain international administrations, such as the United Kingdom publicize proforma information in respect of transfer requests. Industry Canada could consider a similar approach.

19. Industry Canada also proposes to treat any deemed spectrum licence transfer as an actual licence transfer, division, or subordinate licensing arrangement. Given that current conditions of licence require that Industry Canada approve all spectrum licence transfers, it is proposed that licensees will be required to notify Industry Canada prior to finalizing a deemed spectrum licence transfer. Such notification would be treated as a spectrum licence transfer request, which will be reviewed by the Department as set out in this document. It is further proposed that, where Industry Canada indicates that it would refuse the approval, a licensee would be in breach of its conditions of licence if it finalizes the agreement related deemed spectrum licence transfer.

20. At any time, licensees may informally approach the Department with questions as to how these criteria and considerations might be applied to a particular request.

Industry Canada is seeking comments on:

6-1 The criteria and considerations set out above.

6-2 Whether there is a threshold in the form of concentration or a measure of MHz‑pop that Industry Canada should apply in deciding whether to conduct a detailed review, or some other type of threshold, screen, or cap that should be used to decide if a detailed review is required.

6-3 The treatment of deemed spectrum licence transfers as actual transfers, divisions or subordinate licensing arrangements.

6-4 The current review model, which is confidential, and whether it should be modified such that Industry Canada would publicize a spectrum licence transfer request and provide an opportunity for third party input.

6-5 In addition, Industry Canada welcomes comments on any other suggested changes to the applicable conditions of licence related to licence transfers, and to section 5.6 of CPC-2-1-23 and to the relevant application forms or other requirements.


7. Timelines

21. It is proposed that, under normal circumstances, within four (4) weeks of receipt of a spectrum licence transfer request, Industry Canada will:

  • – approve the issuance of a new licence or subordinate licence, as applicable, based on the information supplied, provided that the request meets the applicable requirements set out in CPC-2-1-23; or
  • – advise the parties to the spectrum licence transfer request that a detailed review will be required.

22. In the latter case, the Department may seek additional information and documentation from the parties.

23. Based on the information provided, the Department will review the transaction as set out above, and within sixteen (16) weeks of receipt of all required information, will:

  • – approve the issuance of a new licence or subordinate licence, as applicable, provided that the request meets the applicable requirements set out in CPC-2-1-23; or
  • – communicate the factors leading to a refusal to approve the spectrum licence transfer request, and the reasons for same.

24. In some circumstances, timelines for decisions may vary from those proposed in this paper. For example, these timelines may be impacted by:

  • – requests from the Department for further information from the parties; or
  • – time required by the parties to respond to specific concerns raised by the Department in its review.

7-1 Industry Canada is seeking comments regarding the proposed timelines.

8. Prospective Transfers

25. Industry Canada proposes to introduce a notification requirement related to agreements that provide for the future transfer or division of a spectrum licence, or a subordinate licensing arrangement. This requirement would be incorporated into a condition of licence to be applied to all existing and subsequently issued spectrum licences.

26. Industry Canada proposes to add the following as a condition of licence to all spectrum licences for terrestrial services, as part of the existing conditions of licence related to transfer:

Prior to entering into any binding agreement, including an option or similar agreement, which provides for a transfer or division of a spectrum licence or a subordinate licensing arrangement to be made at a later date, licensees will notify Industry Canada in writing and provide the relevant details of the agreement. Licensees must also notify Industry Canada in writing of any such agreement already in place as of the effective date of this condition of licence.

27. Upon receipt of such notice, Industry Canada proposes to review the information provided by the parties with the intent of providing a preliminary assessment of the transaction. A preliminary assessment in this case represents the Department’s opinion of the transaction at the time of writing, but does not bind Industry Canada in respect of the approval or denial of any eventual spectrum licence transfer request at the time that the request is made.

28. In preparing its preliminary assessment, Industry Canada will apply the criteria set out in Section 6 above, within the timelines indicated in Section 7 above.

8-1 Industry Canada is seeking comments on the proposed Condition of Licence concerning prospective transfers, including the criteria, considerations and timelines set out above.

9. Timing Considerations and Impacts on Upcoming Auctions

29. A decision on this proposed policy based on input received through this consultation will be made well in advance of the 700 MHz auction. It is anticipated that any changes to CPC-2-1-23 and to the applicable conditions of licence will be effected at the time that the decision is released.



10. Submitting Comments

30. Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF) to the following email address: spectrum.operations@ic.gc.ca.

31. Written submissions should be addressed to the Director, Spectrum Management Operations, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C8. All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, the title and the notice reference number (DGSO-002-13). Parties should submit their comments no later than April 3, 2013, to ensure consideration. Soon after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

32. The Department will also provide interested parties with the opportunity to reply to comments from other parties. Reply comments will be accepted until May 3, 2013.

33. All comments and reply comments will be published, so those making submissions are asked not to provide confidential information in their submissions.

Email to a Friend

Your email address has not been added to any list, and has not been retained on our site.

Consultation sur les aspects à prendre en compte concernant le transfert, la division et la subordination des licences d’utilisation du spectre

Affiché sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada : le


1. Objet

1. Tous les transferts de licences de spectre doivent être approuvés par Industrie Canada. L’objet de cette consultation est de susciter et de solliciter des observations sur l’approche adoptée par Industrie Canada, laquelle s’appliquera à toutes les licences de spectre, au moment de prendre en compte des demandes de licence en vue de transférer ou de diviser une licence de spectre ou de conclure une entente concernant la subordination d’une licence.


2. Mandat

2. Le spectre des radiofréquences (RF) est une ressource précieuse gérée pour le compte de tous les Canadiens.

3. En vertu de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, en tenant dûment compte des objectifs de la politique canadienne en matière de télécommunications énoncés à l’article 7 de la Loi sur les télécommunications, le ministre de l'Industrie est responsable de la gestion du spectre au Canada. À ce titre, il est chargé d’élaborer les politiques nationales relativement à l’utilisation du spectre et d’assurer une gestion efficace des ressources du spectre des radiofréquences. Selon la Loi sur la radiocommunication, le ministre peut planifier l’attribution et l’utilisation du spectre, délivrer des licences de spectre, établir et modifier les conditions des licences de spectre.

4. Dans l’élaboration d’un cadre et d’une politique de délivrance des licences, Industrie Canada sera guidé par les objectifs énoncés à l’article 7 de la Loi sur les télécommunications, l’objectif stratégique énoncé dans le Cadre de la politique canadienne du spectre visant à maximiser les retombées économiques et sociales que les Canadiens retirent de l’utilisation du spectre des radiofréquences.


3. Politique

5. Le Gouvernement du Canada considère qu’un marché des télécommunications concurrentiel est à même de mieux servir les intérêts des Canadiens. Il est d’avis que la concurrence stimule l’innovation et les investissements, ce qui peut conduire à la réduction des prix, à l’amélioration des services et à un choix accru pour les consommateurs et les entreprises.

6. Industrie Canada a consolidé les objectifs de sa politique en ce qui a trait au spectre et aux politiques connexes, et ce, par l’entremise de décisions incluant la Politique‑cadre pour la délivrance de licences de spectre par enchères relatives aux services sans fil évolués et autres bandes de fréquences dans la gamme de 2 GHz, et le Cadre politique et technique : Service mobile à large bande (SMLB)  — bande de 700 MHz, Service radio à large bande (SRLB) — bande de 2 500 MHz (SMSE-002-12). Les versions les plus récentes de ces décisions énonçaient les objectifs suivants :

  • – une concurrence soutenue sur le marché des services de télécommunications sans fil pour que les consommateurs et les entreprises bénéficient de choix et de prix concurrentiels quant aux services offerts;
  • – des investissements solides et des innovations de la part des entreprises de télécommunications sans fil pour que les Canadiens bénéficient de technologies de pointe et de réseaux de calibre mondial;
  • – avantages disponibles, dans un délai raisonnable, pour les Canadiens de toutes les régions du pays, y compris ceux des régions rurales.

4. Contexte

7. Le gouvernement du Canada a pris des mesures en vue d’accroître et de soutenir la concurrence dans le domaine de la prestation de services de télécommunications sans fil. En 2008, le gouvernement a facilité l’arrivée de nouveaux concurrents sur le marché du sans fil en leur réservant un spectre de 40 MHz lors de la mise aux enchères des services sans fil évolués. Le spectre réservé a été acquis principalement par des nouveaux venus opérant exclusivement dans le secteur du sans fil (WIND Mobile et Mobilicity) et par des entreprises de câblodistribution régionales (Shaw, Videotron et Eastlink). Bon nombre de nouveaux venus ont ensuite offert des services, et les Canadiens ont bénéficié d’un niveau de concurrence rehaussé. En 2008, le gouvernement du Canada a également introduit des exigences d’itinérance obligatoire et des règles de partage de pylônes.

8. En 2012, le gouvernement du Canada a pris des décisions visant à renforcer davantage les objectifs de sa politique, notamment l’assouplissement des restrictions à l’investissement étranger dans le secteur des télécommunications et l’imposition de plafonds de fréquences, le but étant de permettre à quatre fournisseurs de services ou plus dans chaque région du pays d’accéder au spectre dans les bandes de 700 MHz et de 2 500 MHz.


5. Considérations

9. L’accès à un spectre suffisamment large est une condition préalable à remplir pour pouvoir offrir des services sans fil. Une concentration élevée de licences d’utilisation du spectre placées entre les mains d’un petit nombre de fournisseurs de services sans fil peut nuire à la concurrence. Avec l’avènement des téléphones intelligents et l’utilisation de plus en plus populaire des données sur le marché des téléphones mobiles, le spectre minimal exigé pour être un exploitant rentable augmente.

10. Les trois firmes titulaires nationales, Rogers Communications, BCE et TELUS, détiennent des licences représentant environ 85 % de tout le spectre mobile actuellement exploitable au Canada, les 15 % restants étant répartis entre les nouveaux venus. En 2012, trois titulaires nationaux ont dominé la prestation de services sans fil dans le pays, ce qui a représenté à peu près 90 % des abonnés au réseau sans fil. Les nouveaux venus ont attiré environ 5 % des abonnés, le reste ayant été séduit par des exploitants régionaux.

11. Les questions liées au regroupement des fréquences et à la concurrence ne sont pas l’apanage du Canada. À l’échelle internationale, des organismes de réglementation ont pris un large éventail de mesures visant à s’assurer que l’accès au spectre n’est pas réservé à un petit nombre d’exploitants. Généralement, on étudie les demandes de transfert de licence de spectre en tenant compte de leur incidence sur la concentration et des répercussions possibles sur la concurrence dans le secteur des services de télécommunications sans fil offerts au public.


6. Étude des demandes de transfert de licence de spectre

12. La publication ministérielle intitulée Procédures de délivrance de licences de spectre pour les services de Terre (CPC-2-1-23) décrit les procédures liées aux demandes concernant le transfert, la division ou la subordination de toutes les licences de spectre. Selon ces procédures, lorsqu’Industrie Canada reçoit une demande, il doit prendre connaissance des renseignements fournis par le titulaire actuel et par le titulaire proposé ou subordonné afin de déterminer si la demande satisfait aux conditions et aux lignes directrices énoncées dans le document CPC-2-1-23. Cette étape inclut des évaluations concernant l’admissibilité et la conformité aux conditions de délivrance des licences et aux politiques applicables.

13. Industrie Canada propose de réviser la publication CP‑2-1-23, laquelle s’applique à toutes les licences de spectre, afin d’y inclure les critères spécifiques pris en compte et le processus utilisé lorsque des demandes de transfert de licence sont examinées.

14. Dans le contexte de cette proposition :

« licence » comprend une licence subordonnée;

« Titulaire de licence » signifie un titulaire de licence d’utilisation du spectre, y compris les affiliés du titulaire;

« Demande de transfert de licence de spectre » signifie une demande visant à transférer ou à diviser une licence de spectre ou à conclure des ententes visant la subordination des licences, tel que décrit dans la publication CPC-2-1-23, pour lesquelles le titulaire a soumis à Industrie Canada un avis de transfert ou de division de licence de spectre ou une demande de licence subordonnée, selon le cas, en vue d’obtenir une nouvelle licence ou une licence subordonnée;

« Transfert de licence de spectre réputé » signifie qu’une entente ou transfert a pour effet de transférer, de diviser ou de créer un intérêt associé à une licence de spectre en prévoyant l’acquisition ou le contrôle d’une licence par le biais d’un changement de propriétaire et de contrôle de licence; ou d’identifier toute personne qui contrôle l’utilisation du spectre, autre que le titulaire d’origine.

15. Industrie Canada propose, à la réception d’une demande de transfert de licence de spectre, d’établir si un examen approfondi de la demande est requis. Il importe de noter que certains transferts n’ont pas d’incidence matérielle en ce qui a trait aux objectifs fixés par les politiques en matière de télécommunications. Par exemple, un examen approfondi ne serait généralement pas exigé pour les transferts conclus dans le cadre d’une réorganisation interne, pour les transferts servant à combler un vide dans la couverture réseau du titulaire de licence proposé ou subordonné qui ne détient pas déjà des licences pour un spectre similaire dans la région, ou pour les transferts touchant seulement de petites parties de spectre. En conséquence, pour déterminer si un examen approfondi est requis, on étudie des seuils en tenant compte des facteurs suivants :

  • a) étendue de spectre concernée dans le cadre du transfert;
  • b) changements apportés aux niveaux de la concentration du spectre et à sa répartition entre les titulaires présents dans la région et découlant du transfert.

Dans tous les cas, Industrie Canada évaluera les formulaires de demande en tenant compte des documents fournis, de sa propre information en matière de délivrance de licences, ainsi que des critères spécifiques aux bandes de fréquences ou des critères d’admissibilité. Dans le cas mentionné plus haut, Industrie Canada n’aura généralement pas besoin d’informations complémentaires pour effectuer son examen et il pourra approuver la demande de façon plus sommaire. Lorsqu’un examen approfondi sera requis, Industrie Canada propose d’en informer le titulaire de licence. En pareilles circonstances, il aura sans doute besoin de renseignements complémentaires pour procéder à l’examen.

16. Suivant les besoins, un examen approfondi permettra de déterminer si l’approbation de la demande de transfert de licence de spectre aura une incidence sur :

  • a) l’efficacité et la compétitivité du marché canadien des télécommunications;
  • b) la disponibilité, la qualité ou l’accessibilité des services disponibles offerts aux consommateurs;
  • c) les avantages économiques et sociaux que les Canadiens tirent de l'utilisation du spectre des radiofréquences.

17. Pour établir cette décision, Industrie Canada pourra examiner les facteurs suivants :

  • a) Avoirs de licence actuels du titulaire proposé ou subordonné dans la bande spectrale et la région visées;
  • b) Répartition générale des licences dans la bande spectrale visée et/ou les bandes associées dans la région;
  • c) Services actuels et/ou futurs fournis à l’aide du spectre visé;
  • d) Existence et disponibilité d’un spectre de rechange ayant des propriétés semblables à celui faisant l’objet de la transaction.

18. Les renseignements fournis par les parties dans le cadre de l’examen des demandes sont traités confidentiellement. Certaines administrations internationales, telles que le Royaume‑Uni, ont publié un format de renseignements types concernant les demandes de transfert. Industrie Canada pourrait envisager d’adopter une approche similaire.

19. Industrie Canada propose également de traiter tout transfert de licence de spectre réputé comme une entente de transfert, de division ou de subordination de licence réelle. Étant donné que les conditions actuelles de licence exigent qu’Industrie Canada approuve tous les transferts de licence de spectre, il est proposé d’obliger les titulaires de licence à informer Industrie Canada de leur intention avant de finaliser un transfert de licence de spectre réputé. Un tel préavis serait considéré comme une demande de transfert de licence de spectre, qui serait examinée par le Ministère, comme le précise le présent document. Si Industrie Canada refusait l’approbation, on considèrerait que le titulaire de licence manque aux conditions de sa licence s’il concluait le transfert de licence de spectre réputé couvert par l’entente.

20. Les titulaires de licence peuvent en tout temps demander au Ministère comment ces critères et considérations pourraient s’appliquer à une demande particulière.

Industrie Canada sollicite des observations concernant :

6-1 les critères et les considérations énumérés plus haut.

6-2 un seuil, prenant la forme d’une concentration ou d’une mesure des MHz/pop, qu’Industrie Canada devrait utiliser pour décider s’il faut procéder à un examen approfondi, ou d’autres types de seuils, critères de sélection ou plafonds qui devraient être utilisés pour décider s’il est nécessaire de procéder à un examen approfondi.

6-3 le fait de traiter des transferts de licence de spectre réputés, comme des ententes réelles de transfert, de division ou de subordination de licence.

6-4 le modèle d’examen actuel, qui est confidentiel, et la pertinence de le modifier en prévoyant qu’Industrie Canada pourrait publier une demande de transfert de licence de spectre et donner l’occasion à un tiers de se prononcer sur le sujet.

6-5 Industrie Canada accepte les commentaires portant sur toute autre suggestion de modification visant les conditions de licence applicables relatives au transfert de licence, la section 5.6 du CPC-2-1-23 et les formulaires de demande pertinents ou les autres exigences.


7. Délais

21. Il est proposé qu’Industrie Canada, dans des conditions normales, s’acquitte de l’une ou l’autre des tâches ci‑dessous dans un délai de quatre semaines à compter de la réception d’une demande de transfert de licence de spectre :

  • – approuver la délivrance d’une nouvelle licence ou d’une licence subordonnée, selon le cas, en tenant compte des renseignements fournis, à condition que la demande réponde aux exigences applicables énoncées dans le document CPC-2-1-23;
  • – informer les parties concernées par la demande de transfert de licence de spectre que la demande en question sera soumise à un examen approfondi.

22. Dans le dernier cas, il se pourrait que le Ministère demande des renseignements et des documents complémentaires aux parties.

23. En fonction des renseignements fournis, le Ministère examinera la transaction évoquée plus haut et, dans un délai de seize semaines à compter de la réception de toutes les informations exigées, il s’acquittera de l’une ou l’autre des tâches suivantes :

  • – approuver, d’après les renseignements soumis, la délivrance d’une nouvelle licence ou d’une licence subordonnée, selon le cas, à condition que la demande réponde aux exigences applicables énoncées dans le document CPC-2-1 -23;
  • – mentionner les facteurs qui ont conduit à un refus d’approbation de la demande de transfert de licence de spectre ainsi que les motifs associés.

24. Dans certaines circonstances, le délai prévu pour la prise de décisions peut varier par rapport à celui proposé dans le présent document. Le délai peut notamment varier en fonction de ce qui suit :

  • – Le Ministère demande des renseignements complémentaires aux parties;
  • – Les parties ont besoin d’un délai pour traiter des questions particulières soulevées par le Ministère lors de son examen;

7-1 Industrie Canada sollicite des observations concernant les délais proposés.


8. Transferts potentiels

25. Industrie Canada propose d’introduire une exigence de préavis concernant les ententes qui prévoient le transfert, la division ou la subordination ultérieur(e) d’une licence de spectre. Cette exigence serait intégrée à une condition de licence qui s’appliquerait à toutes les licences de spectre en vigueur et à venir.

26. Industrie Canada propose d’ajouter la condition de licence ci‑dessous à toutes les licences de spectre concernant des services terrestres, dans le cadre des conditions de licence actuelles traitant du transfert :

Avant de conclure une entente ayant force obligatoire pour les parties, y compris une option ou un accord similaire, qui prévoit le transfert ou la division d’une licence de spectre ou la subordination d’une licence à une date ultérieure, les titulaires de licence doivent en informer Industrie Canada par écrit et fournir les détails entourant l’entente. Les titulaires de la licence doivent également porter à la connaissance d’Industrie Canada, par écrit, toute entente de ce type déjà en place à la date d’entrée en vigueur de cette condition de licence.

27. À la réception de cet avis, Industrie Canada propose d’examiner les renseignements fournis par les parties dans le but de procéder à une évaluation préliminaire de la transaction. Dans ce contexte, une évaluation préliminaire représente l’avis du Ministère concernant la transaction au moment de sa rédaction, mais elle ne lie pas Industrie Canada en ce qui a trait à l’approbation ou au refus d’une demande de transfert de licence de spectre éventuelle au moment où la demande sera faite.

28. Pour préparer son évaluation préliminaire, Industrie Canada appliquera les critères énoncés au paragraphe 6 ci‑dessus, dans le respect des délais mentionnés au paragraphe 7.

8-1 Industrie Canada sollicite des observations concernant la condition de licence proposée relative aux transferts potentiels, ainsi que des observations concernant les critères, les considérations et les délais mentionnés plus haut.


9. Échéance et incidence sur les enchères à venir

29. Une décision concernant cette proposition de politique, laquelle sera fondée sur les observations faites par le biais de cette consultation, sera prise bien avant les enchères de la bande de 700 MHz. On prévoit que toute modification touchant le document CPC-2-1-23 et les conditions de licence applicables prendra effet au moment où la décision sera divulguée.


10. Présentation des commentaires

30. Les intéressés sont invités à soumettre leurs commentaires sous forme électronique (Microsoft Word ou Adobe PDF) à l’adresse : ic.spectrumoperations-operationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca.

31. Les documents présentés par écrit doivent être adressés au directeur, Exploitation de la gestion du spectre, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8. Tous les documents doivent citer la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, sa date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (DGSO-002-13). Les intéressés doivent soumettre leurs observations au plus tard le , pour qu’elles soient prises en considération. Peu après la date de clôture de la période de présentation des observations, les observations reçues seront versées sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d’Industrie Canada, à l’adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

32. En outre, Industrie Canada donnera aux intéressés la possibilité de répondre aux observations reçues d'autres parties. Les réponses aux observations seront acceptées jusqu’au .

33. Tous les commentaires et toutes les réponses aux commentaires seront publiés. Il est donc demander aux soumissionnaires de ne pas fournir d’informations confidentielles dans leur présentation.

Date de modification :